We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westgate Miami Beach

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Miami Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Westgate Miami Beach
Save Saved
You added Westgate Miami Beach to your Saves list
16701 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33160   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #164 of 201 hotels in Miami Beach
Windsor Ontario
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

I am presently here for a two week stay and find these older reviews inaccurate. The units have now been refurbished - new carpets etc.
Our one bedroom unit is very comfortable. Maintenance is being done constantly. Rooms and lobby are clean and well appointed. Staff has been very helpful. Location at the Boardwalk to go to the beach is fabulous - you can walk almost 2 miles on it.
Feel very safe in the area.
Biggest disadvantage is the parking which Westgate has no control over. It is a municipal lot and if you are driving, expect to pay for parking.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    6
    4
    12
See reviews for
5
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
utah
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2009

My husband and I are seasoned travelers. We used a
"getaway" from Interval international. We arrived and the place looked like a welfare hotel. The lobby, elevators and hallways were dirty. The room was dirty. Marks on walls, dirty bedspread, dirty rug. My husband went to open up a cabinet and it fell off in his hand. We asked to change our room. They put us in a newer room. It was more spacious but the halls were still dirty. The room had a leaky toilet and leaky air conditioning unit.
We left after one night.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2007

I went to Westgate Miami Beach on a really great travel deal for a very good price, and I had never been to the Miami FL area before so I was glad to have what I got and thoroughly enjoyed the experience but ...

What you need to know is ... this property is part of the Westgate chain of hotels/timeshares. It's located on a very beautiful beach and the property is nice. The pool is good and the hotel has most amenities that might be needed, good breakfast! But this property is very obviously an older hotel that is/has been "transformed" into some semblence of a condo type facility. Don't get me wrong, it is clean and very comfortable .. no real complaints here about the facility .. staff was great .. and it's not really a bad location ... but if you are looking for a "Miami experience" this isn't it ... unless you are willing to drive. Also, if you are into nude beaches ... just walk a little way south on the beach and you will see all the nudies you might want to!

This hotel is quite a way from the heart of Miami, really .. although if you don't mind driving and have a rental car it's ok. One benefit to the location is that if you want to visit Fort Lauderdale, this hotel is right in the middle between the two cities and Fort Lauderdale has a really great beach and a really fun "downtown scene" with great beachside eateries etc.

All in all ... I would go to this hotel again if I had a good price ... I really have no complaints about it. If you are looking for a good value in the Miami area it's probably great for you ... there was a mini kitchen, fridge, the room and beds were very comfortable, etc. and there are many great places to eat etc. within walking distance. Also, although I mention the need to "drive" etc. in this review ... I didn't mind the driving .. it was kind of fun and while driving around you find yourself zipping back and forth over the intercoastal waterway and all and it's quite interesting and really a great way to see another part of the world that might be different from where you live. I live in the Pacific Northwest of the U.S. so it was very different and neat to see.

And the location is great if you want to visit Lauderdale. But if you want a true "Miami FL" experience .. complete with the night life and South Beach stuff .. you have to be prepared to drive. And STAY UP LATE! I'm only 40 and pretty healthy ... but the Miami scene ... especially South Beach does not even GET STARTED until 11 o'clock or so. We went into Miami one night at 9:30 - ate dinner and started walking around .. and at 11 there were places that were just starting to set up outside tables etc. to get ready for the night. The South Beach scene is really fun .. the art deco and outside bar tables and all are really neat ... but if you stay at Westgate Miami just please understand that it's not IN MIAMI.

All in all ... I have no qualms about recommending this location ... I had a great time .. but I think people need to know that it is not IN MIAMI.

Stayed April 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2007

We,a party of four, went to the Wesgate in Nov. 2006 through Sunterra. NEVER AGAIN!!! Although the 2 bedroom apartments were roomy,during the 2 weeks we were there the bed linen was not changed and the rooms were not cleaned.The carpets were so dirty the soles of our slippers were black. Thankfully we went to the Keys for 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The only advantage to the resort was the beach. Beautiful! There is only one place to eat out close by otherwise you need a taxi to get to South Beach. The whole of the area was one massive building site. Mother found walking difficult and used a wheelchair ( loaned by the resort and the only good thing about the place), but it was not easy to get around. Don't book any trips through the resort, they are a rip off! We went to the Everglades.It took over an hour to pick up everyone, then the airboat ride was taken up by the driver/pilot taking photos of all the occupants (with their cameras) from outside the boat, and then back to the landing stage. We saw 1 alligator and an escaped iguana. The ride was followed by a wild life show with a few small alligators, a toad, a scorpion, a skunk and a puma cub. The snack bar/shop had exhorbitant prices-$2.50 for a bottle of water.

  • Liked — the beach
  • Disliked — lack of cleanliness, isolation from South Beach
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fayetteville, nc
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2007

I was first assigned a delapidated one bedroom unit. The bedspreads were torn and worn, the carpet was ripped, the upolstery was dated and shreding at the seams. When I complained, I was eventually moved to a "remodeled" studio, the size of a closet. There are no amenities on site. The staff is rude and uncooperative.

Stayed November 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2006

Being a Westgate time share owner, I have had a terrible experience with this resort. Not only are staff rude and unprofessional but the majority do not know the Sunny Isle area and cannot help you with anything in the area. Additionally, No where is ther a sign for Westgate nor are there any Westgate personnel. If you bought a time share from this resort, you know of all the management problems that have caused the annual maintenance fees to sky rocket. This is the only Westgate resor that has these problems. What are current owners to do? There is not resale program and you are stuck with this horrible rising maintenance fees with horrible service from the resort and most of all horrible service from people like, MARTHA SAM, the president of the owner association. I DO NOT RECOMMEND GOING THERE. It is an extremely unfriendly place, they charge you an obscene amount of money for breakfast, lunch or dinner, and usually the food is cold and untasteful.
BEWARE ---GO SOMEWHERE ELSE....THE HEADACHE IS NOT WORTH IT.!!!!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2005

We came in as Westgate timeshare owners, but the property has two names and one management group. It was very confusing when making the reservations and checking on this hotel's ratings. We had requested an upgrade to a room with a balcony, months in advance, in the end we had to contact a Westgate supervisor who worked it out with the management of the hotel one day before we arrived. We were very leary before we got to the hotel.

First the positives. Fabulous location on the beach, huge pool and kiddie pool. Activities director with adult and kid stuff planned all week. All of it free, with prizes. Good Italian restaurant on the premises with reasonable prices. Nearby shopping and restaurants.

Our room had a king bed in one half and a mini-kitchen(micro-wave, small fridge,dishes & silverware). The rooms had a pocket door that separated them with a sofa bed in the kitchen area. It was quite adequate for the two of us. Lots of storage space in the room. Two phones and two televisions. A jetted bathtub in the bathroom.

Now for the not so positive. The room was somewhat musty and luckily we had a door to our balcony to open for fresh air. One side of the building has rooms without balconies/doors and windows that do not open. Since all of the rooms are smoking rooms, getting a room without ventilation could be real trouble if you are allergy prone. Luckily,we were able to deal with the mustiness.

We had several small issues during our stay:lightbulb burned out, not enough towels,blinking light etc. It took several days to resolve simple things and some were never resolved. Nothing that would keep us from coming back.

For Westgate owners, this property is not up to the standards of newness and sparkling clean facilities as are the other properties in Northern Florida. What it has over those properties is the ocean. There is nothing like going to sleep with the sound of the waves outside and waking up to a beautiful beach with available lounge chairs,a playground,and lots of beach toys to rent. Beach towels are free,there is a bar/restaurant by the pool for food and drinks and a hottub for those so inclined. Would I trade the beach for Mickey Mouse? Not anytime soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westgate Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Miami Beach

Address: 16701 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33160
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #164 of 201 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Westgate Miami Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Westgate Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westgate Miami Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.