We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location near Fonatinebleau Hotel & Boardwalk” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Spray Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Spray Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Ocean Spray Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4130 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140 (Oceanfront)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 20% In January
Ranked #144 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good location near Fonatinebleau Hotel & Boardwalk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights in January 2010 with our infant. Our room was clean and a good size. The bathroom is nice. We were here during a freak arctic blast - coldest Miami temperature in over 100 years (lucky us!) This hotel does not have heat so it was cold. Fortunately, this shouldn't be an issue for most travelers to Miami but for us it was very cold - we had to sleep in our winter coats. Under normal circumstances the hotel would be fine. It is close to the Fontainebleau Hotel and the boardwalk on the beach. If you want to get to the heart of Ocean Drive it's a few blocks. Since we had a baby (and it was cold) we had to drive there.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    69
    63
    35
    59
See reviews for
25
91
23
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

I have one thing to say - take your money somewhere else. Even though hotel is close to the beach and front desk staff is very friendly and helpful, overall it was a pretty bad experience. First, our cellphone almost got stolen. We left it in the room when going out to eat and when we came back it was gone. I called it from another cell phone and it rang outside of the room, from the maid's cart. Nice! If we came back a few minutes later it would be gone. The bathroom did not even have a small bath rug on the floor, so getting out of the tub one has to stand right on the cold floor, then the safe deposit box in the room was broken and no one fixed it untill the last day. One option we were offered is to switch rooms but there was no other room available. Free internet downstairs meant one lousy computer that kept on freezing.

Another thing was location - even though it was one block from the beach, everything else was really far, so to get something to eat one has to either take a bus or cab, nothing in the walking distance, not counting Subway inside the hotel and Walgreens and Dunkin Donuts withing couple of blocks. Another thing is that hotel does not have any heating and during cold January days temperature inside the room goes below 60 degrees. We were given a portable heater but hotel only has like 4 of them so not everyone was so lucky.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2010

We spent New Year's Eve in South Beach and the Ocean Spray was exactly what we wanted. The staff was very nice and helpful to us. The beach is right across the street. It is North of Ocean Dr. but we had no problem getting back and forth between the hotel and S.Beach. It's right on the bus line, that only costs $2 to get down to the main drag. Cab rides were more pricey but they were easy to catch at the hotel.
The only real problem was that you can hear through the walls. So if people were making noise in the hallway you could hear them - I heard folks but it didn't bother me but I could see how it might someone else.
I would go back there the next time I'm in Miami. It is definetly not a luxury hotel - it is however a perfectly good hotel that holds its own pretty well.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

Can't beat the price and the location. Close to the beach just a quick cab ride away from South Beach, free wi-fi, friendly staff and clean room.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

room was clean and hotel was near to bus stop that takes 10 mins to lincoln road/washington ave for $2 each way, failing that a taxi was only $8 one way. also beach is just 1 street away. elevator was broken upon arrival and had to carry suitcases up 5 flights of fire escape stairs, but elevator was fixed later that day. toilet broke on the 1st night, refused to flush and there was no maintainence on site so had to be changed rooms (just next door) handy subway in the foyer could only smell it in the elevator not in the rooms. overall pretty decent for a few cheap nights

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila, Pa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

This hotel was fantastic! Stayed with my boyfriend for his 30th birthday present/vacation (first trip to Miami). Ocean Spray was extremely clean; do not listen to the reviews about the Subway smell, really it is no big deal. Perfect location that is directly across the street from the beach. Hotel always gave us complimentary towels. We are a bit low key, so we really enjoyed staying at a smaller hotel. However, just for kicks we walked 3 blocks and checked out the Fontainebleau but felt completely out of our element (although it was beautiful). Staff is very friendly at the Ocean Spray. There is also an adorable patio outside with chairs. Spent a nite just sitting out there drinking a couple bottles of wine. Only downside I really can find was that there was no hotel bar. No worries though, walk 1 block to the Holiday Inn and sit at their Tiki Bar with Dan the bartender. It was adorable and we had a blast! We started every day with Bloody's there! We really loved the Ocean Spray and can not wait to go back!

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando, florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2009

I stayed here the week after memorial day and was able to get a 3 for 2 night deal that alone woulda been enough for me but beside the decent rate the room was clean the spanish lady at the front desk was very nice and the room contained the basic stuff u would need (good shower,iron,safe, etc.) the bad things are THE BED very saggy, the young white lady at the front desk, no continental breakfast and the constant smell of subway sandwhiches

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Spray Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Spray Beach Hotel

Address: 4130 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Oceanfront
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Spray Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ocean Spray Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Spray Beach Miami
Hotel Ocean Spray Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Spray Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.