We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the beach, far from the action” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Spray Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Spray Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Ocean Spray Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4130 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #153 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Kincardine, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Close to the beach, far from the action”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I recently stayed at the Ocean Spray. The front desk employees were kind and helpful. The hotel is just across the street from beautiful Miami beach. You can rent 2 chairs and an umbrella from the hotel for $20 or find another spot on the beach for more money (probably not less). Our room could be described as low-average but totally acceptable. We did not have any hot water for the first two days of our stay and didn't have any internet access at all unless we used the computer in the main lobby. We were informed that the wifi was acting up, but it was not repaired during our stay. This was kind of a bummer when it came to booking excursions and planning daily activities. This hotel is a solid one hour walk to and from South Beach. It's not impossible to walk it or take a cab! There was a Subway in the hotel which was super convenient. There is also a nice terrace with patio tables, chair and umbrellas at the front of the hotel. Our room had a nice ocean view from the 7th floor.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    84
    78
    40
    63
See reviews for
31
105
26
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Location - This place is pretty far from the happening side of South Beach, you'll need to take a bus to go there.
Rooms are average - looks like a motel ...bathrooms are not clean, there was only one dirty looking towel given.
Reception - has got an awful smell of Subway meats / veggies.

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A hotel sorry a motel. I've been to a lot of hotels and never had to pay for so many extra things. First we had to pay for parking and did NOT get validated for it. Second I come in and they hit me with a $100 deposit. NO one and I MEAN no one told me about it. I got my room off of hot-wire ….there was nothing about a $100.00 deposit. I called earlier that week asked if my room was booked. All she told me was YES ma'am it's ready and see you on the 19 nothing about $100. Then in order to come in early(we traveled 12hrs) we had to pay a $25 dollar fee. They did not offer any continental breakfast. If we wanted WIFI we had to pay $10 extra dollars. So then there are the towels….they give you free towels ok cool. But you must bring it back and if you don't its a $15.00 fee which is actually $16.95. That's An Extra $151.95 everyone. The room looks like a Dorm room…you don't have any closet space. They don't like to give you any extra anything pillows blankets towels. I feel like I've been hustled all week. So if you stay….STAY IF YOU DARE

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellflower, California, USA
Level Contributor
121 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015

My Staff and I booked rooms here for a trade show that we were attending at the Miami Convention Center and the hotel is a good value for the location as it is literally directly across one street from the beach. There is one big issue with this property, THERE IS NO PARKING so if you are planning on staying here be aware of that. If you are cabbing it around it's fine but we had to park our rental car about four city blocks away in a secure parking garage and walk back and fourth 8 to 10 minutes each way to the hotel which is a total drag. The price for the parking is only $8.00 per 24 hour period so it's not bad but the convience factor is a huge issue. The rooms are a little dated but very clean. It's not a modern property so if that is what you are looking for this is not the place. The staff is very helpful and friendly and after a mis start with my room they upgraded me to a King Room with an Ocean View which was really nice of them. If you are looking for a property near the beach for a good value this hotel will work out fine for you, if you are looking for a more modern property with parking and restraints close by, this would not be an ideal choice. The close beach access and good room rate make a stay here worth while, but the parking situation is not convenient and gets old fast.

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

the hotel itself was okay. it was clean and comfortable. For the price it was excellent. My only complaint is that on two separate occasions the staff just walked into our room. no knocking or anything. When she saw us lying in the bed she asked if she could still clean the room. That was very annoying..... the front desk staff on the other hand was very helpful and nice. One of the women Jazmine was the best she helped me find any and everything in the neighborhood that I was looking for.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crofton, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2015 via mobile

I consider this venue a dated boutique hotel. It's very simple but comfortable, clean and location conveniently settled in North beach Miami. two minute walk to the boardwalk and beach. Subway eatery located on the premises. Bike station and cafe within two blocks. South Beach a twenty minute walk on the boardwalk. This is my fourth stay and I really enjoy it.

Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015

I mean, what do you expect for $100 night off Miami Beach? We stayed here as a stop over between our commute from Siesta Key Beach to Key West. Bed, shower and a locked door, so we were fine with it. Ignorantly speaking, you're going to have a crowd attracted by this rate, so if you're looking for quiet, older crowd, this place is not for you. It's very convenient to Miami Beach, but the north end. The quality beach is further south, as well as the action/nightlife. There really isn't much going on around here.

The parking situation was a pain in the rear, but like others mentioned, this was a city thing, not the hotels. It's probably ideal for young groups, looking for a cheap stay, as I would of been more than ok with it back in the day, but as a parent traveling with kids, wouldn't subject my family to a place like this again.

Regardless, I'm glad we stayed here, otherwise we wouldn't have come across Latin Cafe, about a 5 minute walk east from the hotel. This is a great spot for good grub, large portions and reasonable prices.

As for the hotel room, again, served it's purpose, but the construction and day-to-day maintenance was done very lazily. I mean, you don't need formal training to caulk the bathroom.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
AAE Miami Beach Lombardy Hotel
#159 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 173 reviews
South Pointe
Harrison Hotel
Harrison Hotel
#148 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Collins Hotel
#104 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 569 reviews
Oceanfront
Lorraine Hotel
Lorraine Hotel
#171 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 311 reviews
Hotel Shelley
#107 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Spray Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Spray Beach Hotel

Address: 4130 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Spray Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Groupon, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Spray Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Spray Beach Miami
Hotel Ocean Spray Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Spray Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.