We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“horrible experience!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Spray Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Spray Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Ocean Spray Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4130 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140 (Oceanfront)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
TRIPADVISOR EXCLUSIVE 15%
Ranked #147 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
1 review
“horrible experience!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

The key I got from the reception brought me to the room where a man almost naked inside.....do not want to comment on it anymore. Just imagine what if this happened to yourself. Of course, they got me a real vacant room immediately. However, if you were me, would you be able to fall asleep in this building? If I can get other's room key, anyone else can possibly get the key of my room... And all the explanation I got from this hotel so far was that this was a human mistake. Everybody makes mistake... If you want to enjoy your vacation, do NOT come here. Mine is totally messed up by this one night stay. Thanks GOD! I only booked one night here.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    75
    71
    38
    63
See reviews for
28
97
25
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Clean, pretty, comfortable, quiet, and affordable. The location is great. The staff is polite and multilingual. It's steps from the beach, plus it's super easy to get to and from the airport (in 20 minutes) on the 150 bus.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

About a block from the beach so about as close as you're going to get in this price range. Older, like most of these places, but very well kept up. Decent sized room, elevator, comfy lobby area, friendly staff in my experience. There a Subway in the lobby so if you're ever hungry... No pool, no other amenities but a nice little patio out front to have coffee or your Subway sandwich. Several places to eat within a couple of blocks. The rates seem to vary a lot so it's hard to recommend this place not knowing the price other than to say its nicer than other similar places I've stayed at in Miami Beach. I would definitely stay again for the price I paid

Room Tip: Well good luck with an ocean view but would say closer to the front would give a better view. The el...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a great looking art deco building but the owners clearly do not take pride in the appearance. Starting with the front of the hotel, there is a dirt patch flu of cigarette butts instead of greenery or flowers. There is outside seating with garish umbrellas with enormous Subway advertisements on them (there is a Subway inside adjacent to the lobby). This detracts from the beautiful art deco facade.

I arrived at 1;30 in the morning due to a delayed flight. The desk clerk was rude, sloppy, and very unfriendly. She acted as though my check in was disturbing her. The room was decent and larger than most but it was apparent the hotel owners decided to cut corners with the furnishings and amenities.

I cannot overstate this enough. Parking for this hotel is reason enough not to stay here. It is nightmarish. There is no parking garage and very little on street parking. Every time I left the hotel in my car, I had to drive around a 6 block radius for nearly 30 minutes just to find one available pay parking space on the street a couple of blocks from the hotel. There are not any public parking garages anywhere near the hotel. All street parking is paid or be towed.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked a one night December 2014 stay through a third party website. A three day no-fee cancellation was advertised. I cancelled eleven days prior and no refund was forthcoming. They played some games with the third party folks claiming they'd refunded the fees (All lies...). Said third-party site finally refunded my fee after several emails, two phone calls and 6 weeks passed. Note that others have had the same experience with these shysters. You have been warned...

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

I stayed here a few years ago- the rooms were very bad.I love hotels and the amenties they offer,however this spot offered nothind and is truly for the budget traveler. The towels were rough and cheap. The linens were cheap the blanket was tattered, the TV was not even a flat screen. Thebdecor was luster and there was rust around then fixtures in the bathroom. There was a subway in the lobby whoope!! You defintley get what you pay for. I would recommend this spot to college kids who wanna pile in a room just to shower n sleep,,,I would have left this spot,but it was pretty paid so I stayed. The location is far from the center of the action but is a shortbcab ride away or a 20 min walk which is cool if you like to walk. The beach in this area is cool as it is not crowded .

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015

Stayed here for 3 days and it was a good experience. Discovering a music system in my hotel room was like a nice surprise to me. Puts you in party mood ...the linens were clean and fresh...room was quite spacious and offered all basic amenities...has a Subway outlet inside the hotel so the starving vegans wouldn't have to worry searching for vegetarian food...also it offers subsidised breakfast for hotel guests only...makes u feel priviledged ...location wise its very close to the boardwalk entry point...Famous oceans drive is closer from this place which saves on the transportation cost...overall is value for money and recommended place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Spray Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Spray Beach Hotel

Address: 4130 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Oceanfront
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Spray Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ocean Spray Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Spray Beach Miami
Hotel Ocean Spray Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Spray Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.