We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“False advertising and bad experience...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Spray Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Spray Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Ocean Spray Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4130 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140 (Oceanfront)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
TRIPADVISOR EXCLUSIVE 15%
Ranked #142 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Monterey, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“False advertising and bad experience...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I booked a one night December 2014 stay through a third party website. A three day no-fee cancellation was advertised. I cancelled eleven days prior and no refund was forthcoming. They played some games with the third party folks claiming they'd refunded the fees (All lies...). Said third-party site finally refunded my fee after several emails, two phone calls and 6 weeks passed. Note that others have had the same experience with these shysters. You have been warned...

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    75
    69
    37
    62
See reviews for
27
95
26
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here a few years ago- the rooms were very bad.I love hotels and the amenties they offer,however this spot offered nothind and is truly for the budget traveler. The towels were rough and cheap. The linens were cheap the blanket was tattered, the TV was not even a flat screen. Thebdecor was luster and there was rust around then fixtures in the bathroom. There was a subway in the lobby whoope!! You defintley get what you pay for. I would recommend this spot to college kids who wanna pile in a room just to shower n sleep,,,I would have left this spot,but it was pretty paid so I stayed. The location is far from the center of the action but is a shortbcab ride away or a 20 min walk which is cool if you like to walk. The beach in this area is cool as it is not crowded .

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for 3 days and it was a good experience. Discovering a music system in my hotel room was like a nice surprise to me. Puts you in party mood ...the linens were clean and fresh...room was quite spacious and offered all basic amenities...has a Subway outlet inside the hotel so the starving vegans wouldn't have to worry searching for vegetarian food...also it offers subsidised breakfast for hotel guests only...makes u feel priviledged ...location wise its very close to the boardwalk entry point...Famous oceans drive is closer from this place which saves on the transportation cost...overall is value for money and recommended place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff was friendly and had quick service.

The bathroom was small and the mini fridge wasn't as cold as I would've liked. The elevator is slow but I wasn't in any hurry. The lobby has a subway and the smell might permeate the elevator but if you don't mind that (like me) then it won't bother.

For what I wanted it was more than enough.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is in a nice area within walking distance to the beach. You could see many Jewish people in the area. Hotel is very clean. My room had an amazing view. You could get in the 120 Beach Max to go to the beach or in the S to go to Aventura Mall. If you are looking to party this is not the best location.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015 via mobile

The deal was good, but the place just simply did not seem clean. Tile in bathroom had a crusted layer of dust. The fragrant smell of Subway sandwich ingredients, while its a convenient place, is prominent. Location is great; 1 block from beach, a couple from Fontainbleau. Bed is comfy, AC efficient. Bed was comfy. Bathroom fan is LOUD! Lighting is dim (good luck shaving). People were alternatively nice or disinterested. They certainly were kind to extend my stay a couple hours. It's on the Historic Register, but could use some TLC to bring it up to its potential.

Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel aviv
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

I arrived there alone very late at night and felt safe and at home. I Spent 2 nights in total.
Small hotel, nice big rooms with a nice view to the main street (corner view)
I didn't fine the "Subway" brunch inviting enough for breakfast but had a sandwich for lunch which was fine.
The stuff was friendly.
You can ask for a safe which is located at the reception. Better than nothing..
Location is good and many taxis's going by. Apparently there is a cheap shuttle bus to the outlet which I would have used if had the time. To Lincoln road taxi cost 8-10$ one way. You can also walk around 3 km if you are up to it.
It was the best deal I found in Miami beach for this period and I found it good for my needs.

Room Tip: Few of the rooms face a construction area. Try to avoid it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Spray Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Spray Beach Hotel

Address: 4130 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Oceanfront
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Spray Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ocean Spray Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Spray Beach Miami
Hotel Ocean Spray Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Spray Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.