We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice comfortable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Spray Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Spray Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Ocean Spray Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4130 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140 (Oceanfront)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #142 of 204 Hotels in Miami Beach
Sioux City, Iowa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice comfortable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our post-cruise hotel, we stayed for 3 nights. We checked in on Halloween and out on November 3rd. Because we had to leave our ship at 10AM and could not check in until 1PM, we dropped off our luggage and went to explore south beach. The location of this hotel is great and the price was very reasonable. It's one block off the beach and there is lots of shopping to be done if you want to rent a cab or walk to it. I will say that we opted to walk along the boardwalk the 25ish blocks down to where one of our tours was and it was very quick and not crowded at all, plus we didn't have to deal with crossing the streets/watching for traffic. We stayed in room 406, and it was fine. The air conditioning in this place works and it works well! The hallways were always cold. The doors will slam quite loudly so if you are leaving early in the morning or getting back late at night be mindful of others around you. The elevator is very slow, I have to agree with others reviews and the staff at the hotel freely admits it. I did notice the certification of the elevator being inspected had expired on 9/30/2013, more than a year ago. Maybe a visit from an inspector would fix the problem with it? We did not have housekeeping clean our room any of the days we stayed because we were hardly ever in our room except to sleep. You are in the heart of South Beach after all! We did notice they were still cleaning some rooms as late as 5PM on our floor when we would come back to change for dinner. The downsides to this hotel is that the wifi is a $10 charge. But for how cheaply we were able to stay here I guess we could live with that, we just did not use our tablets while we were in our room. Oh and one more thing, we loved to sit out on the front patio of the hotel and just people watch if we didn't have anything planned.

Room Tip: There are only 10 rooms on each floor it appears. We stayed in room 406, which meant we only had som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    68
    61
    33
    57
See reviews for
25
88
22
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you want a clean, tidy, and quiet hotel within walking distance of South Beach and one block from the ocean, this is the place. It's also a cute piece of Art Deco architecture. Granted, it's weird that there is a Subway in the lobby, but we weren't planning on hanging out in the lobby anyway.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Realy nice hotel the services was excelent the front desk always on time and showing interest for service you, they do their job very good.. Excellent location right opposite the beach. Nice and clean rooms, with fridge and cofee maker, cable TV, nice bathroom. Rooms has so comfortable bed and basic things that you can need. Public transportation is on front of hotel. Less than 5 minutes to the beach. Safe area and few restaurants just at walking distance. I will reserve again every time I be in Miami. Excelent price and better location!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel in south beach is very nice. The hotel has a very good price. Located on Collins and 4130 its perfect to be close enough to the party yet secluded enough to get a good night sleep. Have to say that the staff at this hotel are excellent and make your stay a very enjoyable experience. Rooms are clean and comfortable.
I would surely recommend this hotel to travelers who are looking for a pleasant stay in Miami.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This place is wonderful...I can't think of anything bad to say! Mind you, that it's very easy for me to pick up on negative things when I go to a hotel! The staff was awesome , the room was very spacious and well cleaned. The beach was very near - walking distance - so was shopping and restaurants.I can't wait to come back again! Thank you so much you made my stay wonderful!

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

We stayed for 10 days. Hotel was very nice. check in was so fast. Hotel room was so clean and bad was so comfortable. In the lobby has subway, its very good that you can have a lunch in hotel. The hotel has perfect location just to 2 minutes walking and you can enjoy to the beach. Public transportation is available right in front of hotel. You can take a taxi or bus and you in famous street lincoln road or ocean drive. Everything was close to hotel. And also big thanks to the staff, which was very helpfull and absolutely friendly. Overall a very pleasant experience. Would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

Let me walk you through this. We arrived in the pouring rain. There is no bellman. The loading in front was occupied by the desk clerk's car so we had to double park and unload ourselves in the rain. Parking is "free on the street if you can find it or down 2 blocks in the left for $35."

The lobby boasts a Subway and smells like a Subway. It is haphazardly furnished with a couple of sofas, some plastic chairs and a couple of end tables that people were using for their laptops.

The desk clerks were indifferent but they did upgrade us to a "view room" when the saw the wrinkle in my nose.

The elevator was slow and smelly and dirty. The hallway was dank and musty with dirty carpet.

In the room, the view was peek-a-boo between two buildings across the street and you had to lean over furniture to see it. The carpet was stained and gross. BUT the bathroom was clean and the King size bed was comfortable with lovely linens. (Go figure!).

We stayed because we had tickets to a ball game in two hours .... no time to call around.

I posted this review on hotels.com (where I made the reservation) and they declined to publish because it was "offensive". So now you know you can't trust them for honest reviews either.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Spray Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Spray Beach Hotel

Address: 4130 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Oceanfront
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 204 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Spray Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Ocean Spray Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Spray Beach Miami
Hotel Ocean Spray Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Spray Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.