We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation or Staycation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Spray Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Spray Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Ocean Spray Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4130 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #162 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Vacation or Staycation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I slept maybe 5 hours my entire stay at this hotel the reason why is because this hotel is in an ideal location perfect and cheap my two favorite things I spent most of my time either on the patio or on the beach which is across the street if you are from Miami and just need a break and don't want to spend a lot of money this is the perfect spot , also if you are trying to vacation and save this spot is for you.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyler J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Ocean Spray is located a block from the beach aprox. 20-30 mins walk from SouthBeach (Collins ave and 41st Street) Older Art Deco building with ok rooms.
Breakfast is at Subway next to the lobby. You get a egg and cheese 1/2 sub for US$ 3,-
Nice staff, parking in public garage (5 min walk) and older elevator.

This hotel is nothing special but if you're traveling on a budget the price is great. We stayed for 3 nights right after New Years and it was hard to find a hotel close to South Beach at a decent price.

Some noise from the hallway and from neighbouring rooms.... but you don't check in here to spend more time in your room than you have too:-)

  • Stayed January 2016, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stratotone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

I had a great stay here. If you are looking for a great place to stay by the beach, on the cheap. Get a room here! TV worked boom box works had a fridge and bathroom
Was in order. Nice view of the street with palm trees swaying. Don't go to the boardwalk after dark or u are at risk but enjoy a close walk to the beautiful beach and boardwalk is great during the day. Close walk to convenience stores liquor stores Walgreens etc. subway and snack machine. Use the stairway to get to upstairs if you aren't too lazy! Comfy bed, staff at desk, subway, and room service were very cool. 100 dollar deposit due at check in. Taxi is good just hail one don't bother calling them Unless it is early über is best of you have a smartphone. I would give them
5 stars but I think it's not THAT great but it is perfect for a nice get away!

Stayed January 2016, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

For an older, Art Deco Hotel, about a blocks walk to the beach - this wasn't a bad place to stay!
Plain and simple, and it was clean! Beds were comfy. Coffee maker in room, mini fridge, flat screen TV, mini safe, hair dryer & even had a portable stereo! And for Miami it was the most reasonably priced. And it even has an actual "Subway" Sandwich shop in the lobby!
When you walk in, you smell the delicious smell of bread baking.
Parking is a bit of an inconvenience as most places are. It's about a four block walk away. $8 a day.
We were gearing up for a cruise - if your budget is tight - this is a good place to stay for the money. Miami hotels are not cheap, (in Winter) so this was the most reasonable place we could find that was clean and had a fairly good location.

Stayed January 2016, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SheLuvz2Fly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel is old, but it's not big issue. It's horribly maintained: rooms, linen, lobby, etc. "Subway" cafe in the lobby generates "great " smell in the property. Worth $50/night even at Miami Beach location.

  • Stayed January 2016, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacob1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed in this hotel from December 20th through December 25th. The impression about the hotel was not good. The staff was kind of rude. It took me forever to check in. Their credit card device didn't work so I had to withdraw cash in the ATM standing near the reception. I am now curious if it's done with a purpose. The room was very noisy because of the AC working on the roof very loud. We got a room on the 7th floor (the last one). The view from the room was great! We could see a part of the ocean and the Collins Ave. The carpet in the room was old and teared apart in some places. The flush in the bathroom didn't work so I had to call the reception to fix the problem. The TV was old and din't work properly. No parking, of course. The closest parking garage was about 5-7 minutes from the hotel on Royal Ave/ Sheridan Ave and 42d St. No free breakfast. The hotel has Subway on first floor so you can order a sandwich. But because of the Subway, the smell wasn't great near the reception. The only good thing is the location. It take about 2 minutes to get to the beach which was nice.

  • Stayed December 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Booked this cheap off Expedia as a last minute deal. Hotel was awful. AWFUL. Needed to call maintenance as the toilet was plugged when we got there. Air conditioning heated the room instead of cooling it off. Front desk staffs response was "just open your windows to cool off the room as it's windy out". Asked for air con to be fixed twice with no luck. Toilet kept getting plugged even when doing "#1". Elevator was painfully slow and almost got stuck. As well, if you want to sleep in good luck as there is construction across the street. One woman was complaining about her lack of sleep and the manager basically said "here are the rules. It's non-refundable". Worst stay ever.

Stayed January 2016, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank VanCanucksFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
AAE Miami Beach Lombardy Hotel
#177 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 207 reviews
Beach Place Hotel
#119 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 378 reviews
Collins Hotel
#124 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Pointe
Harrison Hotel
Harrison Hotel
#148 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 371 reviews
Oceanfront
Lorraine Hotel
Lorraine Hotel
#170 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Spray Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Spray Beach Hotel

Address: 4130 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Spray Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Ocean Spray Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Spray Beach Miami
Hotel Ocean Spray Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing