We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good for business travelers” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Spray Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Spray Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Ocean Spray Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4130 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #162 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
146 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Not good for business travelers”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

On entering hotel you are hit by the smell of a subway cafe as it is the first thing you see as you enter the lobby. The entrance area is very basic. The staff are friendly and helpful. There is no parking at the hotel but valet parking is avail at 25 dollars per day. There is also a public park, but that can cost 40 dollars for 24 hours. Evening parking from 6pm to 7.30am costs about 20 dollars. Alternatively you search the streets for a space.

The room is basic. There is a lot of noise as the windows are very old standard with no soundproofing. The walls are thin so you pick up noise from the adjacent bedroom.
The room was supplied with a safe, but half the numbers did not work.

The room was not very dark as the curtains were short and did not meet properly at the middle, so let in light from the street. In my colleague's room the curtains were thin and did not block any light!

I do not recommend to stay here on business. It's ok for a casual holiday weekend if you are not restricted by lack of breakfast facilities or being disturbed by traffic noise and want a low cost break. I had to go to a close by hotel for breakfast.

I finally checked out 4 days early to move to another hotel.

Wifi is available at a cost of around 11 dollars for 24 hours.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
woodside
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Super friendly counter people. Really worn out blankets, hotel? or motel? reminds me of really old movies of kids going on spring break for a week. Slept on top of the blankets afraid of what's underneath. Whenever someone flushed the toilets upstairs, heard the after affect on our bathroom. Official subway sandwich shop on main floor,so therefore the sandwich smell wreaked havoc throughout. had my eyes open the whole time since whenever car went by you could tell what kind of car it was by the sound of engine. panoramic view of the if the driveways of residential co-op buildings. you could literally be eye level with your neighbor if you open your window, and give eachother sandwiches. the neighborhood is near North Beach, not south beach. i suppose i wouldn't have complained so much if they charged like $89 range instead of $200 range, even though it was booked at the last minute to avoid the snow storm in new york..

Room Tip: do not choose corner room or choose at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellegirl727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We booked a room in this hotel through airbnb.com advertsid as a studio. The room is clean and it is one block from the beatch.

The main problem is that the hotel does not have parking, it is very hard to find a street parking close to the hotel. You will search for 5-15 min for a parking spot that is 2-3 blocks away. Then you have to waik up at 8am to add coins to the parking meter.

The room comes with no internet. A very bad internet connection costs 10$ a day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ksamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Hopefully that got your attention. DO NOT stay here! This place pulled a bait and switch on us. Some idiot named Adam there was holding a room for my gf and she took a 20 minute cab ride from Mia airport, only to find out he gave the room to someone else when she got there. When a hotel is low quality like this they should depend on good customer service, but their customer service is AWFUL. This created an absolute DISASTER for us. I will save you the time of being ripped off. Stay ANYWHERE else. If this was the only place available I would rather stay sleep in a cardboard box or at Osama Bin Laden's house. The "manager" Becky is atrocious. When I informed her about the bait and switch she just mouthed off to me and hung up. Yep, more crappy customer service. When the "manager" is this bad, you know its a terrible hotel. Hopefully this review saves you from the agony we experienced from this hotel. Find another hotel where they treat you like a human being because you may get unlucky and get Adam or Becky and then you're doomed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Hardly a one o star hotel, it was listed on Yahoo travel as a three. I got this as a secret deal. Thought it was beachfront it is not. When we checked in there was a 27.50 up charge for two beds, I have a strong dislike for this sort of ripoff. Room was clean and beds were okay. Ah did I tell you about the noise? Ha, sirens, motorcycles, loud mufflers. All night long. A very bad choice, it will be the last time I trust Travelocity!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DHSh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I booked this trip via Travelocity "mystery hotel" hotel name pops up upon payment. Both me and my sister wanted to have an adventure and decided to book the trip. Big MISTAKE. I was not able to get out of the reservation. Lesson Learn! This is not a 3 star hotel. It was smelly - the rugs were disgusting. Thank GOD I bought an air freshner. The only thing that was good was the bed - it was comfortable. The noise from the street was okay - but sometimes you felt you were outside.
My message to the hotel owners - clean up the common areas and get rid of Subway! Then maybe this can me a 3 star hotel.

Staff were very professional and helpful!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wonder W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My wife found this bargain on Expedia. Great new very comfortable beds. A block from the beach. Yes, elevator is slow and shower is slow but clean. It's an old hotel. Staff is very friendly and full of tips. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank airline9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
AAE Miami Beach Lombardy Hotel
#177 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 207 reviews
Beach Place Hotel
#119 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 378 reviews
Collins Hotel
#124 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Pointe
Harrison Hotel
Harrison Hotel
#148 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 371 reviews
Oceanfront
Lorraine Hotel
Lorraine Hotel
#170 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Spray Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Spray Beach Hotel

Address: 4130 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Spray Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, BookIt.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ocean Spray Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Spray Beach Miami
Hotel Ocean Spray Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing