We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to wash your face & brush your teeth...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Spray Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ocean Spray Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ocean Spray Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4130 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140 (Oceanfront)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #145 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
woodside
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A place to wash your face & brush your teeth...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Super friendly counter people. Really worn out blankets, hotel? or motel? reminds me of really old movies of kids going on spring break for a week. Slept on top of the blankets afraid of what's underneath. Whenever someone flushed the toilets upstairs, heard the after affect on our bathroom. Official subway sandwich shop on main floor,so therefore the sandwich smell wreaked havoc throughout. had my eyes open the whole time since whenever car went by you could tell what kind of car it was by the sound of engine. panoramic view of the if the driveways of residential co-op buildings. you could literally be eye level with your neighbor if you open your window, and give eachother sandwiches. the neighborhood is near North Beach, not south beach. i suppose i wouldn't have complained so much if they charged like $89 range instead of $200 range, even though it was booked at the last minute to avoid the snow storm in new york..

Room Tip: do not choose corner room or choose at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    83
    65
    40
    56
See reviews for
22
82
19
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We booked a room in this hotel through airbnb.com advertsid as a studio. The room is clean and it is one block from the beatch.

The main problem is that the hotel does not have parking, it is very hard to find a street parking close to the hotel. You will search for 5-15 min for a parking spot that is 2-3 blocks away. Then you have to waik up at 8am to add coins to the parking meter.

The room comes with no internet. A very bad internet connection costs 10$ a day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Hopefully that got your attention. DO NOT stay here! This place pulled a bait and switch on us. Some idiot named Adam there was holding a room for my gf and she took a 20 minute cab ride from Mia airport, only to find out he gave the room to someone else when she got there. When a hotel is low quality like this they should depend on good customer service, but their customer service is AWFUL. This created an absolute DISASTER for us. I will save you the time of being ripped off. Stay ANYWHERE else. If this was the only place available I would rather stay sleep in a cardboard box or at Osama Bin Laden's house. The "manager" Becky is atrocious. When I informed her about the bait and switch she just mouthed off to me and hung up. Yep, more crappy customer service. When the "manager" is this bad, you know its a terrible hotel. Hopefully this review saves you from the agony we experienced from this hotel. Find another hotel where they treat you like a human being because you may get unlucky and get Adam or Becky and then you're doomed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Hardly a one o star hotel, it was listed on Yahoo travel as a three. I got this as a secret deal. Thought it was beachfront it is not. When we checked in there was a 27.50 up charge for two beds, I have a strong dislike for this sort of ripoff. Room was clean and beds were okay. Ah did I tell you about the noise? Ha, sirens, motorcycles, loud mufflers. All night long. A very bad choice, it will be the last time I trust Travelocity!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I booked this trip via Travelocity "mystery hotel" hotel name pops up upon payment. Both me and my sister wanted to have an adventure and decided to book the trip. Big MISTAKE. I was not able to get out of the reservation. Lesson Learn! This is not a 3 star hotel. It was smelly - the rugs were disgusting. Thank GOD I bought an air freshner. The only thing that was good was the bed - it was comfortable. The noise from the street was okay - but sometimes you felt you were outside.
My message to the hotel owners - clean up the common areas and get rid of Subway! Then maybe this can me a 3 star hotel.

Staff were very professional and helpful!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My wife found this bargain on Expedia. Great new very comfortable beds. A block from the beach. Yes, elevator is slow and shower is slow but clean. It's an old hotel. Staff is very friendly and full of tips. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for one night (thankfully) en route to a cruise on the recommendation of Thomas cook. I have never used thomas cook before nor will ever again. It is a truly terrible hotel, the room was not even 1 star, the air conditioning was broken, the carpet was filthy and the other guests were not the sort of people you would like to meet in a dark alley if you catch my meaning. it is unbelievable that a company as well known as thomas cook would actually send people here to stay. There is no way they could have checked this hotel out beforehand and if they did they should be removed from ABTA, The one redeeming feature is that the staff were friendly and helpful but other than that please do not stay here. If you need a good quality hotel use trailfinders but do not ever use the recommendation of Thomas cook.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Spray Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Spray Beach Hotel

Address: 4130 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Oceanfront
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Spray Beach Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ocean Spray Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Spray Beach Miami
Hotel Ocean Spray Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Spray Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.