We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY HERE!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Spray Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ocean Spray Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Ocean Spray Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4130 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140 (Oceanfront)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #144 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Sanford, NC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“DO NOT STAY HERE!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

This Hotel looks nice from the pictures however my experience proved to less than great!! It is old and run down, parking is horrible and very hard to get in and out of. The first night we discovered that our refrigerator did not work and they would not bring us another one until the next day, they left us one wash cloth for 5 people and when I requested more pillows we got one and it was dirty. The last day the air condition barely worked it was cooler outside than it was in our room. Also, if you book through a travel site be prepared to pay a $100 deposit which ended up being a $120 deposit for me and the funds were not released as promised by the hotel and I have had to call my credit card company and the hotel to get them to fax a letter to get the funds released otherwise it would have taken a month to get the funds returned to my card. I completely refuse to stay here ever again!!

Room Tip: Do NOT Book with this hotel...aka DUMP!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    67
    61
    33
    57
See reviews for
24
87
21
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

Clean room, good ac, friendly and helpsom staff. Wi-fi free in the lobby (Didn't work thougj).. 11,30 usd pr day if you want to use wi-fi it in your rom.. not many shops around.. close to the beach.. subway on the hotel, though no bar or restaurant..

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Nice Hotel, No frills, clean room, has a subway sandwich counter, free internet at the lobby. overall a decent experience

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We knew we were staying in a 2-3 star hotel, so we were not expecting much, when we check in. But at least we were expecting a clean bed>
When we were ready to go to bed, we found an used tissue and some kind of crumbs!! The bed was made that way.
My husband went to the lobby to report this issue and they told him there was no housekeeping at that time (9pm) They sent some guy with clean sheets.
The next morning my husband went to the lobby to complain about this to at least get an apology and the receptionist told him he was lying!!! That she asked the housekeeper and she said she did clean the room!!! (no duuh!!, what is she going to say???) and that we did not let the man come in when he broght the clean sheets!!! ( We are in our pj's ready for bed then this guy comes to the room and expected us to let him in???......any way there was not even an apology...........very bad experince!! Beware!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012 via mobile

Do not make the mistake of believing the pictures like I did! This hotel is cheap for a reason!
Rooms are dirty....wore my scandals as slippers when I got out of bed.
Toliet didn't flush properly and sink leaked on the floor.
Air conditioning very loud...like a motor running all night.
Could hear traffic and people clear as day in the hallways.
Elevator...almost afraid to use it!
No parking! I had to set my alarm on vacation to get up at 7:30 a.m. to feed the meter!!

I could go on ad on! I am so happy we oly stayed one night!! DO NOT STAY HERE!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

My family and I stayed there because it is located directly across from the beach. The parking was horrible. The hotel DOES NOT have a valet or a parking area, so we drove around for an hour and a half before we decided to pay for parking at a garage down the street. The lobby smells disgusting. It wreaked of perfume and Subway bread. There were fruit flies by the elevator door, and I'm assuming they are from Subway. The elevator was super slow. Our room was small, and instead of having an extra bed, it had 2 cots that looked very old. The comforter on the bed had lots of lint balls and was torn. The faucet in the bathroom was pretty, but when you turn the water on, it fell off. And to top all of this off, you have to pay for internet if you want to use it in your room. The only good things about this hotel are outside of it (view).

Room Tip: Book another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddenham
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Adequate hotel in that rooms are clean, bathroom satisfactory and location on Collins avenue reasonable. The staff are polite and helpful. A Subway counter in the lobby is the only food/drink available. The lift perambulates rather than elevates to the frustration of both staff and guests.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Spray Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Spray Beach Hotel

Address: 4130 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Oceanfront
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Spray Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ocean Spray Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Spray Beach Miami
Hotel Ocean Spray Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Spray Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.