We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ocean Spray Fits Your South Beach Need: Clean Room, Nice Staff and Affordable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Spray Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ocean Spray Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Ocean Spray Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4130 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140 (Oceanfront)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #147 of 197 hotels in Miami Beach
Miami, Fl
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Ocean Spray Fits Your South Beach Need: Clean Room, Nice Staff and Affordable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

We stayed the weekend the Art Deco festival at the Ocean Spray. It is a little gem for Miami Beach. It's located directly accross from a parking garage so you can leave your car there for the weekend if you choose.

You're a 2 minute walk from the beach and about a 10-15 minute drive south to South Beach. You're far enough from the noise and congestion but close enough to enjoy.

The room is very nice and clean.

There is a Subway located in the lobby of the hotel....you'll never go hungry.

It's not a five star hotel, but it's pretty great for what you need.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    79
    60
    39
    54
See reviews for
22
78
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012 via mobile

Great location only one block from the beach and boardwalk. It's a little ways from South Beach though. Great staff & management- very nice, helpful and super knowledgeable about the area. Couldn't have asked for a better experience A+++!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Hotel staff were pleasant and helpful; one of the beds in our room was terrible--springs worn out & so impossible to sleep in comfortably; chest of drawers in bad shape, nearly impossible to open/close top two drawers; ice machine broken during our 4-day stay; difficulty getting a second washcloth on two days; walls seemed so thin that we could hear activity in the room above and next to ours.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Very nice and clean Hotel on Collins avenue. Nice staff and very helpfull all the time. I wll recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

We stayed at the Ocean Spray hotel two nights before a cruise that departed in Miami. The hotel is located on Collins Avenue, I would say in the middle of Miami beach, but of course not in the center of South Beach (SoBe). If you walk down to the Ocean Drive on the beach boardwalk, it takes about 45 - 60 minutes (depends on how quick you are). The very good thing is that Alamo Station is very close (one block north) and you def need a car. So we rented a car at the airport, then to hotel, drove shopping, back to hotel and then just gave it back there. The hotel itself is 3 star, clean and tiny but that's it. But price is good and what you get is ok, good value. Also, a good steakhouse is there (Mortons) but also a bit expensive I must say. All in all, a good stay and can recommend the hotel if you are looking for 3 star level.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

The location was better than expected, a short ride to the main area of Southbeach or an even shorter walk to a beach you can enjoy without so many people. The staff spoke both English and Spanish and were very friendly. The rooms were not overly fancy, but clean and we had a direct view of the Ocean! The bathroom sinks were cool and the coffee in the lobby was excellent. For a moderately priced property close to the beach, we will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper level with ocean view. The King bedrooms are the nicest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toulouse
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

My room was on the street and i was concerned by the noise. No worries the Air Conditionning makes more noise....and it is impossible to setup
Whatever the hotel is far from the heart of the night city and worse i got bed buds in my room #309.
I told the manager and shown her the catched insect but she said it was impossible even with this evidence !

For this major reason, i don't recommand this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Spray Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Spray Beach Hotel

Also Known As:
Ocean Spray Beach Miami
Hotel Ocean Spray Beach
Address: 4130 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Oceanfront
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 197 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Spray Beach Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Ocean Spray Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Spray Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.