We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Spray Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ocean Spray Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ocean Spray Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4130 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140 (Oceanfront)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #142 of 200 Hotels in Miami Beach
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
“Excellent Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Very nice and clean Hotel on Collins avenue. Nice staff and very helpfull all the time. I wll recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    65
    61
    33
    56
See reviews for
24
85
21
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

We stayed at the Ocean Spray hotel two nights before a cruise that departed in Miami. The hotel is located on Collins Avenue, I would say in the middle of Miami beach, but of course not in the center of South Beach (SoBe). If you walk down to the Ocean Drive on the beach boardwalk, it takes about 45 - 60 minutes (depends on how quick you are). The very good thing is that Alamo Station is very close (one block north) and you def need a car. So we rented a car at the airport, then to hotel, drove shopping, back to hotel and then just gave it back there. The hotel itself is 3 star, clean and tiny but that's it. But price is good and what you get is ok, good value. Also, a good steakhouse is there (Mortons) but also a bit expensive I must say. All in all, a good stay and can recommend the hotel if you are looking for 3 star level.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

The location was better than expected, a short ride to the main area of Southbeach or an even shorter walk to a beach you can enjoy without so many people. The staff spoke both English and Spanish and were very friendly. The rooms were not overly fancy, but clean and we had a direct view of the Ocean! The bathroom sinks were cool and the coffee in the lobby was excellent. For a moderately priced property close to the beach, we will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper level with ocean view. The King bedrooms are the nicest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toulouse
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

My room was on the street and i was concerned by the noise. No worries the Air Conditionning makes more noise....and it is impossible to setup
Whatever the hotel is far from the heart of the night city and worse i got bed buds in my room #309.
I told the manager and shown her the catched insect but she said it was impossible even with this evidence !

For this major reason, i don't recommand this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

there are many other better places you could chose--- very very small rooms ,no closet, watch out for the elevator-- dont get stuck there :))

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

This hotel is really well located a block out from the beach; a block away from public transportation including the J bus to the airport; dont pay 33.00 to get/go to/from airport its only 2.00 bus stops a block out. For what you pay ( I paid $50/night) its a great deal. Staff is helpful and nice ( if you are nice :) ) I got a room on the 6xt floor and had a nice view of the lagoon and MIAMI Downtown. The subway in the LOBBY is convinient; yes the elevator smells like SUBWAY but not the rooms as reported before. The hotel has a nice bed; electronics from the 80s but there is a microwave and a mini fridge; the A/C was ice cold! the carpet yes dirty but this is a very functional hotel like a DAYS INN in a nice location. Lot of people complain you have to walk 20 blocks to get to South Beach, not an issue get a daily bus pass only $5.00 and u can go anywhere! on a bus. The only complaint I have is Check In is at 3:00PM and my room was not ready till 3:30PM not a big deal.... I gone to MIAMI a lot and this is standard. While the RITZ or FOUNTAINBLU would be amazing ( had stayed there before ) Spendig 500 / night is kind of stupid. If you are a normal traveler would def recommend this place if ur pacient this is the place ffor u. Other than the Carpet being dirty the rest is fine :)

Would defenetly stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trieste, Italy
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011 via mobile

Fair place to stay in north Miami beach. Rooms are not so big, but clean and tidy.
Pity that in the lobby there is a Subway, convenient for breakfast, but sometimes stinky.
A big No: air conditioning too low, is was really shocking!
Streets in front and back are very noisy and busy during rush hours.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Spray Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Spray Beach Hotel

Address: 4130 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Oceanfront
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 200 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Spray Beach Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ocean Spray Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Spray Beach Miami
Hotel Ocean Spray Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Spray Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.