We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again!!!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Spray Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ocean Spray Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ocean Spray Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4130 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140 (Oceanfront)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #147 of 201 hotels in Miami Beach
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Never Again!!!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

Im a college student and I resided in Ocean Spray hotel for my spring break. I WILL NEVER STAY AGAIN!!!! First of all the rooms were very small. The bathroom was like a little hallway. We had no closet to put our stuff in. They had a subway inside and it wasn't good at all. The only good thing about it was that it was cheaper then some of the other hotels and the staff was great. Transportation was a little cheaper than I thought. To get to the shops we took the taxi and it came up to about 8 dollars so that wasn't to bad. The bus was located across the street. Also we had a rental car and it cost ten dollars for the meter from 8am to 6pm. We were not able to move until after 6. I reccommend for people to fly and not drive because its really hard to find a parking space down there. I also reccommend that people stay closer to tenth street and down because thats where all the action is.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    62
    57
    33
    56
See reviews for
22
82
20
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Colorado
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

We travel to Miami and South Beach often and take many of the reviews with a grain of salt. The area's motels are often more akin to lodgings from outside the United States or Canada, but many of the travelers there are spoiled by great value and quality. We feel like we found a winner in the Ocean Spray Beach Motel. No, the rooms are not as big as a Comfort Suites in Dallas, but they are clean. No the cable channels are not as extensive as the Best Western in Seattle, but we did not go to the beach to sit in the room and watch TV. No pool or hottub, but the Atlantic Ocean is only a short block away. The restaurant is a Subway instead of a steakhouse, but the owner, Robin, is friendly and she opens early. The staff always had a smile for us and great advise on the local buses. Bus stops are next door and can get you to anything you thought you might want to see in the area, including the airport, Southbeach, Anventura Mall, or Haulover Beach.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

The average price of a hotel room in Miami Beach made my boyfriend and I book a room at the Ocean Spray. We stayed there for three nights and our experience was sort of blah.

Pros: Room was clean, bed was nice, room big enough (by european standards, a standard room is neither bigger nor smaller than what you'd expect, so no complaints there), tv and fridge worked well. Location was fine, close to the beach, a bit far from South Beach but we knew that and besides room prices already reflect that there's a good half hour walk to the action.

BIG CON: My wallet got stolen, presumably by the maid, when we confronted the reception the staff was very rude and told us that basically I must be lying and that no staff member would do that (upon reading the other reviews on this page, I understand that that certainly ISN'T the case). The receptionist spoke little english.

Other cons: The Subway restaurant in the lobby, a weird blood-like stain right next to the bed (a nasty thing in an otherwise clean room) and the lack of parking possibilities - we had to get up early every morning to feed the meter, even more annoying when your car is parked half a mile from the hotel...

Bottom line: I'd rather pay a bit more for the room, if the staff was replaced with more service-minded workers and there was an easier way to park your car (parking garage is $26...)

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for 5 days; and enjoyed a truly wonderful experience. The moment we walked in we were greeted with a smile and professionalism. All of the staff was especially friendly and attentive to our needs. Our room was clean with all needed amenities. The Subway restaurant in the lobby came in handy for quick, inexpensive, and yet healthy breakfasts and lunches. The hotel exudes old world charm and classic historical character and is also conveniently located only steps away from the boardwalk, beach, excellent restaurants and shops. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

The hotel is nice, the receptionists were nice but the service Subway sucks. I am Brazilian and I speak Spanish also, the attendant is not American, is of Latin origin and refused to speak Spanish with me and my order was wrong, I think she does not like Brazilians.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanSprayHotel, Manager at Ocean Spray Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2011
Thank you for the kind words about the hotel. The Subway is a separate business, with different management than our property. I am sorry that you had a bad experience with employees of that business, however that is completely separate from the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

Imagine you checked in to the hotel and the reception said your room was already overbooked by someone else. We were told that our room was moved to the condominium in which they claimed to be the property of the hotel. I can't believe this happen to us since we have reserved, and PRE-PAID for the room. They denied to be responsible for all the inconvenience and even the transportation cost to the condo. The front desk was really rude to us, they acted as it's our fault. No apology or compensation at all!!

That wasn't the end of the night. The condo was SHOCKING. We felt really insecure since arriving. There is no reception desk and any facilities that could compared to the price we paid for. The room was small. The bed was dirty, smell disgusting, and have some yellow strains on the sheet. There was NO INTERNET CONNECTION provided. We call backed to the reception of the hotel, and she left us with "I don't know why".

We stayed in the room for a while, and suddenly there is a guy knocked on our door. I really don't know what can be worse. It was a New Year Eve night, but we were afraid to get out because the condo was so unsafe, and dark. This is the worst night ever in my life. NEVER, NEVER, NVER booked this hotel if you don't want to get ripped off and kicked out like this. We already warn you.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanSprayHotel, Manager at Ocean Spray Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2011
I am sorry to hear that you had a bad experience on New Year's Eve. In case of overbooking, we are obligated to find guests a comparable accommodation. In this case, the guest was reaccommodated to a Condo Hotel that is also managed by us. The rooms over there all have a queen sized bed, kitchenette with large refrigerators, and microwaves, cable tv, free Internet, and all of the features offered at our property. The building has a pool and is 12 blocks closer to South Beach than our property. It also has secured entry, several video cameras, and is very safe. In this case, we did work out an arrangement with the company that booked the room to pay for the cost of transportation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2010

We began to regret even before we saw the room.
First, there is NO parking space associated with this hotel. We spent almost 1 hour and could not find a parking space on the street. Maybe the price of this hotel is cheap, but if you consider 20$/night parking fee in the nearby parking garage, I believe you'd rather book a more expensive one.
Second, there is NO breakfast as promised, the internet is OK, but you can only use it in the lobby.
Third, there is a SUBWAY in the lobby. So everything in the hotel smells like a piece of two-week-old SUBWAY sandwich.
Forth, the room is small and not very clean.
Fifth, I've stayed in quite a lot hotels in this country, this is the first one asking me for $100 "security deposit".
It was our worst hotel experience, ever.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanSprayHotel, Manager at Ocean Spray Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2011
It is unfortunate to hear of your regret. We offer guests a very good value for Miami Beach accommodation. As with most hotels in Miami Beach, there is not an assigned parking place included with the stay. The streets surrounding the building offer a very economical choice for parking in the area. It is $1.00 per hour from 8am-6pm at the meters surrounding the building. We do not advertise to have continental breakfast, however, the Subway does offer guests an option for breakfast for $3 per person. Wireless Internet is free in the lobby area, and there is a computer in the lobby for guests to use at no charge as well. Guests who choose to have the luxury of having Internet in their guestrooms have the option to do so for a nominal fee. There are several different room types in the hotel. The standard comfort room is the smallest and most economical choice. We offer larger units as well. The largest rooms are the king rooms and the rooms with 2 beds. We do not "charge" a deposit, but the amount is authorized on a credit card to cover any incidental charges, such as phone calls, tours, beach service, etc. The hold is released upon checkout.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Spray Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Spray Beach Hotel

Address: 4130 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Oceanfront
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 201 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Spray Beach Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Ocean Spray Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Spray Beach Miami
Hotel Ocean Spray Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Spray Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.