We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible, Dirty, Scary AND a Ripoff!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of European Guesthouse

European Guesthouse
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added European Guesthouse to your Saves list
European Guesthouse
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   721 Michigan Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 22 Miami Beach B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Horrible, Dirty, Scary AND a Ripoff!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

My husband and I were lured in to this hotel by the beautiful photos and positive reviews that we read. Please don't fall for this trap!!!

We were let in the house by a man wearing cutoffs and a wifebeater. Nothing else says class quite like that! The "lush gardens" were overgrown plants surrounding rusted out refridgerators and overturned jacuzzi tubs. The "cozy" rooms were tiny and incredibly shabby furniture with thin hollow core doors with only a knob lock. NOT SECURE! The bathroom ceiling had mold, the whole room smelled of mildew (probably because they hadn't even turned on the window unit AC until we were taken to our room and this is in south Flordia!) and to top it all off when my husband pulled back the top comforter there was blood on the sheets.

Convinced that we would be murdered in our sleep we called Expedia (who we booked through) and were able to arrange another hotel thank goodness because there was no way in hell that we were staying in this creepy hotel!! Of course since we had already checked in they charged us for the night even though we were there less than 30 minutes. Seriously this place was bad. It could have been a set for a horror movie!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    18
    7
    4
    15
See reviews for
4
20
11
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampere, Finland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

Matched quite well with expectations. With such old house that has been converted to guesthouse you don't get perfect paintwork, marble floors, etc.

What you get is clean place, quiet area, but still short walk to the beach and relaxed atmosphere. Relative to south beach prices, it's good value. Late checkout wasn't any issue and owner even offered to drop me to the airport busstop.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

Stayed at European Guesthouse for a week for new years eve 2010 and had a great time. stayed in a cute room in the back of the property with a cute little deck/outdoor space, the bed was comfortable and sheets clean and it had wi-fi and ethernet internet access included. caught a few glimpses of other rooms which also looked nice and recently renovated.

The other real stand-out here though is breakfast. fresh coffee and you can make a nice little breakfast for yourself (eggs, bacon, ham, toast, bagels, muffins, coffee cake, fresh fruit, waffles, etc.). Can't beat it. and you can take a little fruit, etc. with you to the beach just a few short blocks away.

Last but not least, it's nice to have a hot jacuzzi to jump into after a night out or after a morning run. this place has it all. and Carlos the proprietor is a genuinely nice guy and happy to help out. And, surprisingly it wasn't too difficult to catch a cab in this area, even during new years eve, so that was nice surprise too.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2010

I recently stayed at the European Guesthouse during the WMC 2010 ive got to say i was very satisfied with the whole package the room was very cozy and quite the all day breakfast was ideal but best of all the FREE WI-FI was a saviour thanks also to Robert what a great guy and Carlos a good host ....... Why pay the price of expensive hotels you get nothing for your money.......Just ask my mate Dave lol ........Ben UK

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

Heya there Carlos & Robert :) Just wanted to thank you for your wonderful hospitality & willingness to bargain with us also. We slept peacefully & the breakfast was dreamy. Loved the patio/backyard too. Mayched the feel of a romantic get-a-way with a touch of home as well. See you guys next time:) we return to Miami.

Mr. & Mrs.
T. Stock

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring MD
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2010

The European Guesthouse which accommodates groups nicely. For five days our sailboat racing team enjoyed hearty breakfasts in the central courtyard. Some crew cooked eggs and bacon or made omelets. All the fixings were laid out by Robert.. We enjoyed the courtyard twice more each day -- at debriefing and for late night recaps. The street address let us be car-free for the whole event.

While on the subject of South Beach I wish to mention the outdoor experience could be so much more pleasant if we guests and the local residents showed the environment some respect. The sidewalks, beach and waterways are trashed and tend to stay that way. Recycling was not an option. I'm happy to add that public transit is plentiful and reasonable at $2 per trip and works well even if needed to get to downtown or Miami International Airport. The Amtrak Station is another story. The location -- even further from downtown than the airport -- must have been selected for the convenience of the engineer and NOBODY else.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIAMI
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

It was my first trip to miami. i booked european guest house via internet. was a dood decision. its a nice and familiar house. nice garden where you can sit and spend some time. the breakfast is very good - you can enjoy it in the garden. the owniers are very friendliy and helpful. i had a few questions about the trip and arranging some bookings. they helped me and gave me good advice. thanks for the stay - if i will come back to miami beach i will stay there.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to European Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about European Guesthouse

Address: 721 Michigan Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — European Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover South Beach’s premiere Bed and Breakfast.Since 1987, the European Guesthouse is the world destination for tourists, long before South Beach's rise to fame.Indulge yourself in any of the well appointed rooms as well as in the 2 sundecks and the hot Jacuzzi. Guests start the day enjoying an all you can eat breakfast buffet in the lush tropical garden and complimentary tea, coffee, fruits and pastries all day long ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your European Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
European Guesthouse Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage European Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.