We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at Crescent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crescent Resort On South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crescent Resort On South Beach to your Saves list
Crescent Resort On South Beach
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   1420 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great stay at Crescent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We got in on Saturday afternoon. Ocean Dr. was so crazy at this time just a huge party scene. I've been to miami before and ocean dr. on a weekend but I didn't remember it to be like this!
We were very skeptical staying here as we had read some bad reviews and we had even thought about changing our hotel multiple times before arriving. When we drove up to the front it seems really run down from first glance. There was some bum in the hotel lobby trying to get a room but the front desk quickly and politely told her there were no rooms available and she left (this made us even more skeptical of the place.) We finally got up to our room and we were beyond surprised. The room was very clean, nice, had a king size bed and a pull out couch. It was like a 1 bedroom 1 bath. The kitchen had everything you could ask for...plates, cups, forks, spoons, knives, pots, pans, coffee pot (they provide you with coffee-- really really good and strong coffee and creamer and filters) oven, fridge. Seriously there was everything you could think of. It was perfect for us. I honestly don't know why the bad reviews. When we called down to the front to ask for towels, coffee, etc they brought it up immediately.

The hallways aren't glamorous, they don't have a pool, and they don't have room service. But if you don't want those things then you should be fine staying here. We were really happy with it.

Now I only gave it 4 stars and not 5 and here is why:
1. Every morning around 7, 8, 9am there was a dumpster right outside our room that they would empty. I really don't understand why they do this so early. There are 2 hotels by this dumpster and that is super early for us staying in miami and being out late every night. 12pm is probably a better time for this!

2. The view: terrible. There is no view. The view is of the next hotel next door and the dumpster. I wish it was a better view.

3. There is a creepy back door that goes down a staircase and into an alley. We went down here the first day thinking it would be ok but it is really creepy. Don't go down here. Be safe and go down the main entrance.

4. the gym sucks. I workout everyday when Im at home and usually on vacation, but this gym was pretty terrible we didn't even go.

5. One morning (11am) one of the hotel staff came into our room without knocking or anything. We didn't have the bolt on so he was able to just come in (turn the bolt to lock the door- we learned our lesson once) but when he heard that someone was in the room he quickly closed the door. He said he was with the fireman and they wanted to check the fire extinguisher. This would have been fine if the front desk had given us a warning! We didn't let them in until we called the front desk- how do you know that's really what they want and not just some random person?! This really made me mad.

I know I listed a few things here, but it really was a nice clean hotel. I think we mostly liked it because of the kitchenette with all the supplies. It was really handy and useful. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    139
    34
    31
    25
See reviews for
92
131
17
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Spent a week at the Crescent in May with 2 friends. We had a 1 bedroom suite. The room had all the amenities we needed. The fridge and microwave were great to have.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. Checkin, checkout, room cleaning and other requests were all handled efficiently and nicely. The hotel was clean and the bed was comfortable.
The hotel is on Ocean Drive (art deco buildings) and across the street from the beach. You couldn't ask for a better location. Our room faced the ocean, what a view! There is a nice little terrace at the front of the building. Great for reading or people watching.
A set of ear plugs helped deal with the street noise early in the morning.
We had a great time and will definitely go back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

I have a feeling all current reviews will be irrelevant about this property six months from now. I say this because we arrived for a week long stay at the Crescent on the same day as the new GM, Sarah. We believe she is more than capable of handling the task at hand. The front desk help was already very eager to please, but you could tell they were somewhat limited in what they could offer. Enter Jim from the corporate offices in Orlando and Sarah. They went out of their way to make my wife, our daughter and a friend feel like the most important guests in the entire hotel. Seven days later we were beginning to see the Crescent blossom and have no doubt anyone who goes there in the future will have a more than adequate stay in one of Ocean Drive's most historic hotels. Do they still have issues like the ice makers don't work properly in the rooms? Yes. Are there somewhat limited facilities like no restaurant or a gift shop, absolutely. But South Beach is loaded with restaurants and places to pick up some essentials. Give this place time. I'm telling you it is a diamond in the rough. So thank you Jim, Sarah, Jacques, Sagine, Ashley and especially our lovely cleaning crew of Marie and Maria for making us truly feel special. It was an absolutely wonderful vacation. And after all, isn't that what a resort is suppose to do?

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linden, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nites and loved the CRESCENT on South Beach. The manager Jim even got us VIP tickets to a fun club. The staff was friendly and what a view from rooftop. In walking distance to everything.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid Wales
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Despite an initial problem with the allocation of our apartment, this was quickly remedied and the apartment we were subsequently given was perfect.

The service we received from Sagine and Ashley on the front desk was second to none. They could not have been any more helpful or attentive. They were extremely efficient with any requests we made, and nothing was too much trouble. We also used their valet service for our car, which we would definitely recommend.

The resort is small, and accordingly there are not many rooms which have that great a view. However the position of the resort could not be any better. Right across from the beach, and right in the heart of the Art Deco area. It was perfect, especially for those people, whom like ourselves, like to people watch, great location.

The resort itself is a bit tired looking, but as we were aware it had only just been taken over by Diamond, we were not expecting it at this stage to be up to the Diamond standard. We are sure that in time, this will be remedied.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Crescent Resort On South Beach, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay here at Crescent Resort on South Beach. We were pleased to see that our team members provided great customer service and were able to resolve your initial concerns about the unit you were assigned originally at check in. Yes, you are correct in stating that Diamond Resorts recently took over managing our resort. We are looking forward to the future refurbishment projects that have been planned since the acquisition. Your tips, and recommendation are both greatly appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

The hotels location was ideal but the hotel was basic it had no ice machine, small tv's and the carpets smelled of mold and pee. Also we had numerous issues with cleaning services. Our hotel room was not cleaned until we complained for a third time on our third night, which is unacceptable. We asked why our room was being overlooked and we were told that they clean the rooms of those that have checked out first. Well what about your quests that are still staying on your property??? Maybe hire more employess, just a thought. There was also a huge roach that was in the hallway and was left there dead until we asked the front desk if someone could clean it. I would not stay at this hotel again, the mini kitchen was nice and the location but that was about it!!!! The hotel needs to be updated

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Crescent Resort On South Beach, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
We are happy to hear you enjoyed our resort’s convenient location. This being said, we regret to hear of your dissatisfaction with your recent stay. It is certainly never our intention to provide any guest with an unsatisfactory room, and we sincerely apologize for any frustrations this may have caused you. Furthermore, we are glad we were able to amend these concerns and provide compensation for the shortcomings experienced, which you accepted at the time of your stay. Rest assured this is uncommon of our resort, and we hope that you will visit us again for a much more enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

The hotel is in a prime location facing the beach. Close to great restaurants and the nightlife of "Art Deco" The accommodation is spacious, has equipped with everything needed to make our own meals, which is essential for those with small children kitchen. The staff is impeccable, and deserves the thanks Jacques and Sagine. Wifi very good in kitchen.
Has no private parking but Jacques knows itself and may indicate the garages with the most economical rates in the vicinity. The time off at 1000h, but can be negotiated with the staff, depending on season and room availability.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crescent Resort On South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crescent Resort On South Beach

Address: 1420 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Crescent Resort On South Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enter a world of glamour and elegance where you are pampered and attended. Experience the true spirit of South Beach immersed in total Art Deco style and ambiance. Indulge in the convenience of being perfectly situated on Ocean Drive, with the beach, shops, eateries and clubs only moments away. The completely restored Crescent Resort On South Beach features beautiful one and two bedroom/two bath suites. Fully furnished living area, kitchen and master bath with king bed and whirlpool spa tubs. Savor the Crescent difference. Transport yourself to the era of classic style when you lounge in our lobby or on our front porch. Absorb the SoBe atmosphere with the sights and the sounds of the city and the ocean. By day or night, explore the offerings of Ocean Drive, Lincoln Road and Collins Avenue. Live a true South Beach adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crescent Resort On South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crescent Resort On South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Crescent Resort South Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crescent Resort On South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.