We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for me.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bikini Hostel, Cafe & Beer Garden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Bikini Hostel, Cafe & Beer Garden to your Saves list
Bikini Hostel, Cafe & Beer Garden
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   1255 West Avenue, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Rotterdam, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not for me.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

I peronally don't like big hostels in big cities at all, so there's no surprise I didn't like it here. It's just way too crowded, there are literally NO spots to go to if you want some privacy. Whenever I would sit down somewhere with my laptop to get some work done, someone would come sit next to me and start talking even though they could clearly see I was busy and didn't feel like socializing at the moment. There's a party atmosphere every night, but since there are so many people and everone's just there for a short period of time, it doesn't feel like a nice atmosphere where you're partying with friends, just a bunch of random people thrown together. Usually I love partying, but over here I just went to bed early every night.
The beds are awful. It's a plastic matress and it's just very uncomfortable and makes a lot of noise which is also annoying when you're trying to be considerate to your roommates.
I slept in the 10 bed dorm and it smelled awful in there.
It's close to a lot of shops and restaurants, so that is nice.
There's music playing over the speakers every night and in the morning and you can hear it clearly in the rooms, so it's annoying when you're trying to sleep.
Also, I feel like it's way too expensive for what you're getting. When I booked a 6 bed dorm was 33 dollars. For 33 dollars you could get a hotelroom for yourself.
All in all, I really didn't like it at all and couldn't wait to get out of there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    49
    30
    11
    31
See reviews for
7
9
72
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

we reserved the private room which by that time was a one bedroom apartment. we stayed there for more than a month, they made good discounts for us and the location is perfect. Quiet area but a few blocks from lincoln road and the restaurants. At night they offer free barbecue and drinks which is very good for a snack and they play music to chillout there. The jacuzzi there surprised me, they have more than enough for a hostel, im happy i found that place, and definitely recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

The people who rated this as bad clearly are either boring people or were looking for 5* accommodation whilst paying a 1* price...... I went with 3 girlfriends for 2 nights here. We arrived far earlier than check in & front desk stored our luggage securely for us. Lovely interior - especially for a hostel! Great atmosphere. Not too far from the beach & Ocean Drive. . Not in a prime location but who cares - cabs exist. Share between a few friends and it costs hardly anything - not worth paying to be closer to things when you're only paying a couple of bucks for cabs.. Ocean Drive walkable in about 30 mins I guess if you know where you're going. Same goes for Licoln Road Mall. Hottub, pool - hilarious when returning from night out. Rooms cleaned daily. Relatively comfy beds. Clean bathroom, hot shower. Be wary of promoters, but the same goes for promoters anywhere. We got amazing deals & didn't pay for a single drink inside the club; it was all included in the price we paid. I've read other reviews, and maybe we got lucky with our deals, so try & get a table and bottles included in your deal! Get to breakfast early at the hostel otherwise butter/cream cheese/jam runs out. Really impressed with the hostel overall. Incredible value for money. DO NOT GO HERE IF YOU DON'T WANT TO PARTY. :-)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

This is a party hostel. The rooms are dingy and poorly cleaned. You meet some strange people. But if you are looking for a good time.go here. Getting to and from is a pain due to the shotty metro system of Miami. And parking is very scarce (3-4 spots). The reps from the clubs take you to the worst spots. Places that charge 30-40$ for drinks. Next time im in miami. Im booking a hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Stayed here in September with a group of 8 of us altogether. We had booked into a dorm room but they upgraded up to an apartment. We stayed for 3 nights and it was really reasonably priced for the location. On first impressions from the road, the hostel doesn't look the best in all honestly, but we were wrong to judge so quickly! The hostel has BBQs and other social events free of charge and has reps that will bring you to clubs. We paid around $20pp each night for club entry and travel to the venue. We went to Mansion one night which was very expensive for drinks ($20 minimum) and Nikki Beach the second night which I preferred, drink still not cheap, starting at $10. The reps do provide drinks before you go though so make the most of them and your own.
The hostel is in a really great location for shopping and the beach and the staff were great. They have a small swimming pool and a hot tub, great for before and after a night out. Free to use computers in reception and tea and coffee making facilities.. also a light breakfast was included but we didn't realise! So make the most of that too if you're on a budget :)

Room Tip: We were traveling in a party of 8 and had booked a dorm room but they upgraded us to an apartment :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okemos, MI
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I spent six days here. $40 dollars a night for a room with a share bath is about as cheap as you can get for this part of Miami. It was basically a bed in a room. Staying any other place would be double the price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Me and my girlfriend enjoyed the stay in Bikini Hostel. Location is pretty nice. If you like to walk around the city this is gonna be best for you. 10 minutes walking to Ocean drive and bus local station across the West str. Nice 4 bedroom with A/C and nice bathroom. Price is really nice for economy trip. Clean sheets and towels. Nice refreshing swimming pool. Front desk person was very helpful! Cindy and Nicole THANK YOU VERY MUCH!!! I have stayed in Hostels a lot when I was a student, This is the best!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bikini Hostel, Cafe & Beer Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bikini Hostel, Cafe & Beer Garden

Address: 1255 West Avenue, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bikini Hostel, Cafe & Beer Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of South Beach & walking distance to everything: the bursting energy of the nightclubs, restaurants, & beautiful beaches. The only hostel of large apartments with en-suite private bathroom, lockers and flat screen TVs only for those staying in either the dorm or private rooms within of which all have air conditioning & comfortable memory foam beds. Voted #1 Atmosphere! Huge on site restaurant and bar, offering lowest priced drinks in town and serving all day breakfast, lunch, dinner and late night after club bar food everyday! Newest, best & only hostel in South Beach with: FREE Breakfast daily FREE BBQ weekly FREE Pizza Party weekly FREE Swimming Pool FREE Jacuzzi FREE Internet Cafe - 3 Stations of Computers. FREE Wi-Fi beach yard / courtyard FREE 24hr coffee & tea FREE 24hr Media room with Big Flat screen FREE Billiards Tournaments Nights FREE Ping Pong Tournaments Nights FREE Movie Nights FREE Poker Nights FREE Game Nights FREE Trivia Nights FREE Linen FREE Towel FREE Security Lockers FREE Pool Table FREE Ping Pong Table FREE Local Maps/Brochures FREE Cable TV FREE Iron/Hair Dryer/International AC adapters FREE Beach umbrellas and beach paddle balls FREE Twice a day housekeeping Services FREE Luggage storage- before and after check in/out FREE Use of our Travel Guidebooks FREE Book Exchange FREE Beach Towel usage Party! You will be able to party all night long and then sleep any time in quite and comfort because the party area is located away from your apartment dorm making our hostel the best place to both party and sleep, rest or chill out. We have a variety of bed arrangements from private to dorm style that will fit everyone's needs. Your stay with us will be awesome and amazing! We are committed to making it comfortable, affordable and fun while providing very clean accommodations. We will guide you to the best daily activities, night clubs, and the sexiest beach and pool parties. We have daily pub crawls and VIP access to Miami's hottest clubs, such as Mansion, Nikki Beach, Cameo and more! You can walk to Lincoln Road shopping, the sparkling beaches, popular and super-healthy Whole Foods grocery store, the movie theater, a romantic walk on Espanola Way's outdoor cafes & restaurants, or hanging out with the locals at Starbucks coffee. You'll have the greatest opportunities to meet and join new friends at our planned daily activities and suggested nightly dance clubs. Staying at the Bikini Hostel, Cafe & Beer Garden, you are next to Flamingo park with it's Olympic size swimming pool, soccer fields / free basket ball courts, and across the street from us are the intracoastal water way views of Miami Beach's tropical palm tree islands and downtown Miami's nightly lit up skyline! Diagonally across the street enjoy the weekend DJ pool parties at the Mondrian Hotel - where the hottest beautiful bodies groove to the sexiest music all day long! In front is the bus stop to get to the ocean beach in 5 minutes and everywhere in S. Beach for just a quarter and next door there is access to a bicycle rental rack. As a guest, you'll receive special discounts to our nearby Spa extending to you half off Massages. Bikini Hostel, Cafe & Beer Garden is local family owned and operated so we know to guide you to the best daily and night activities. Come and play in the sun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Bikini Hostel, Cafe & Beer Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bikini Hostel, Cafe & Beer Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.