We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to hang out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bikini Hostel

Save Saved
You added Bikini Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bikini Hostel
1247 West Avenue, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Bukavu, Democratic Republic of the Congo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great place to hang out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

even after I left the hostel, I was going back all the time! loved the place and the people working there! the location is really good and it is really good value for the money you are paying.
they organise several events and nights out, so you have the chance to meet nice people while you are staying there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    39
    19
    9
    17
See reviews for
8
5
54
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

location is good - in walking distance to the beach and Ocean Drive. BUT: sheets, linen, and towels dirty. locks broken, both in bedroom and in bathroom. bathroom dirty. bedroom way too small, impossible with luggage. room dirty and garbage from former guests. I don't need luxury, but cleanliness should be self-evident - that's unacceptable. would not go there again. definitely not recommended. parking is 15$ per day.

Room Tip: go to another place
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed here as part of a group of 8 young adults who had traveled to Miami after working at a summer camp. For what we were looking for, it was perfect! We were on a budget, so the price was great. It wasn't glamorous, but after spending 10 weeks staying in huts in the middle of the woods, it was definitely an upgrade. Hot tub, pool, friendly residents, 15min walk to south beach and close to all the good nightlife. :) would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The atmosphere in Miami is so awesome, that at the end of the day it doesn't really matter where you stay. But it was really nice to stay in this amazing hostel. I think it has the best offer for the price you pay. Rooms has A/C, cooler and it's own bathroom/shower (I was staying in 6 bed room, but we were 4 in it). Rooms also have some sort of kitchen, but it's useless. Hostel have swimming pool and a jacuzzi. Breakfast is included in price, but the choice is almost none - bagel and butter plus hard-boiled egg (everyday). There's a free BBQ every Saturday (or Sunday, not sure). Anyway, the staff is very nice, they organize party nights and suggest you places you can hang out and have fun. Since the location is not that handy, I'd recommend to use South Beach Shuttle Bus - it's really cheap (I think a quarter or two) and you can exit wherever you want. And the bus stop is just across the street.

Overall, I had a pleasure stay there for less than $20/night. I'll definitely stay in this hostel next time I come to South Beach.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Absolutely loved this hostel. Everything from check-in to cleanliness was perfect. Although location is not 100%, I think everything else this hostel offers completely outweighs this one scratch.

One final downside might be sharing bathroom when we booked an en-suite, but this was not a problem either. Totally clean and great crowd sharing!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chinatown, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had a fantastic time at the house. We had the house for a four night stay at the beginning of March for a bachelor party for my best friend. It was the perfect place to stay and had a very south beach feel, and was located so that we were within walking distance of beaches, clubs, restaurants, and bars. You were very helpful in getting everything coordinated and maintained a good line of communication leading up to the trip to ensure that there was no confusion about the rental. Again, I appreciate your help in making my friend's bachelor party memorable and hopefully can work wtih you again next time I am in the South Beach area.

Room Tip: The facility has different room types; we stayed in the more expensive villa (a house) they call the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I was looking for a hostel to stay at last minute in Miami. My friend booked the Bikini hostel. When we first walked in, it looked like a pretty interesting and fun place. There was a hot tub right out front. We were excited. Unfortunately the stay went down hill pretty fast. As much as I tried to keep an open mind, it seems like they just managed to do everything wrong. The beds are small and uncomfortable. There are like 15 people + to a bathroom/shower.Overall the place is dirty. The staff try to sell you nightclub tickets every night. Interestingly, every night the different nightclub they want to take you to is "the best in the US".

The staff seemed too preoccupied with each other and not really helpful or attentive. Internet was slow. Also, for some reason my room had a double lock on the inside and outside of the door. This means that if someone locked the door from the outside, I would have to unlock it with my key from the inside to get out. Major fire hazard!! (see pics). Also a mere touch on the faucet in the shower (that got luke warm at best) and the thing fell apart (see pics). The best part is I told someone about this 2 days ago and it is still not fixed. The thing I am most amazed is that I told at least three staff members how awful the stay was and none of them seemed to care or try to make it better. AVOID THIS PLACE AT ALL COSTS!

Room Tip: Find another place
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bikini Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bikini Hostel

Address: 1247 West Avenue, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 60 Specialty lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of S. Beach & walking distance to everything: the bursting energy of the nightclubs, restaurants, & beautiful beaches. The only hostel of large apartments with en-suite private bathroom, lockers and flat screen TVs only for those staying in either the dorm or private rooms within of which all have air conditioning & comfortable memory foam beds. Voted #1 Atmosphere! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Bikini Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bikini Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;