We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bikini Hostel, Cafe & Beer Garden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Bikini Hostel, Cafe & Beer Garden to your Saves list
Bikini Hostel, Cafe & Beer Garden
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   1255 West Avenue, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Grand Cayman
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Absolutely loved this hostel. Everything from check-in to cleanliness was perfect. Although location is not 100%, I think everything else this hostel offers completely outweighs this one scratch.

One final downside might be sharing bathroom when we booked an en-suite, but this was not a problem either. Totally clean and great crowd sharing!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    47
    28
    9
    18
See reviews for
8
7
70
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chinatown, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had a fantastic time at the house. We had the house for a four night stay at the beginning of March for a bachelor party for my best friend. It was the perfect place to stay and had a very south beach feel, and was located so that we were within walking distance of beaches, clubs, restaurants, and bars. You were very helpful in getting everything coordinated and maintained a good line of communication leading up to the trip to ensure that there was no confusion about the rental. Again, I appreciate your help in making my friend's bachelor party memorable and hopefully can work wtih you again next time I am in the South Beach area.

Room Tip: The facility has different room types; we stayed in the more expensive villa (a house) they call the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I was looking for a hostel to stay at last minute in Miami. My friend booked the Bikini hostel. When we first walked in, it looked like a pretty interesting and fun place. There was a hot tub right out front. We were excited. Unfortunately the stay went down hill pretty fast. As much as I tried to keep an open mind, it seems like they just managed to do everything wrong. The beds are small and uncomfortable. There are like 15 people + to a bathroom/shower.Overall the place is dirty. The staff try to sell you nightclub tickets every night. Interestingly, every night the different nightclub they want to take you to is "the best in the US".

The staff seemed too preoccupied with each other and not really helpful or attentive. Internet was slow. Also, for some reason my room had a double lock on the inside and outside of the door. This means that if someone locked the door from the outside, I would have to unlock it with my key from the inside to get out. Major fire hazard!! (see pics). Also a mere touch on the faucet in the shower (that got luke warm at best) and the thing fell apart (see pics). The best part is I told someone about this 2 days ago and it is still not fixed. The thing I am most amazed is that I told at least three staff members how awful the stay was and none of them seemed to care or try to make it better. AVOID THIS PLACE AT ALL COSTS!

Room Tip: Find another place
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This place is terrible
Noisy dirty full of cockroaches
The place fancies itself as very cool but there is nothing happening and everything is cheap looking
There us no privacy the employees Are not friendly there is nothing redeeming about this place

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I love this place. A hidden gem. Young care free Europeans looking to have fun in a clean healthy environment. Quaint sandy common area great for meeting friends or hanging out in the hot tub. Larry has stories that will keep you coming back for more. I love the free internet and the organized trips to the night clubs. I go back when ever I get a chance.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foz do Iguaçu, Parana, Brazil
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I've booked 4 nights on Bikini website, when I arrived the guest attendant doesn't find my name... some minutes later, she said to me, that I just had one day there. The city was full, it was in Spring Brake days. What would I do? The attendant said to me find something by myself. I asked her to me sleep on flor, because I didn't know what I should do... Finally she "found" one day to me, I payed the double.
The breakfast is just a bread and a horrible coffe or juice.
THE WORST GUEST SERVICE!!!
DON'T GO THERE!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P M, Owner at Bikini Hostel, Cafe & Beer Garden, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Note to readers: We strive to lovingly accommodate all our guests. However, unknown to management at the time and without management approval, this guest went on line and reserved for himself a bed in a room clearly designated as an all FEMALE room. He either made a mistake or purposely tried to get away with something because we were otherwise sold out. When he attempted to check in, we could not allow him to go into an all FEMALE room. We would have been happy to accommodate him in an appropriate room but we were sold out. All the other negative comments he wrote were simply inaccurate and out of anger and spite. Please concentrate on the positive comments our other guests have written about us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I was supposed to stay in the hostel for 8 days, I finally just stayed 1 night. Why ? Simple! Because this is the worst hostel ever, and I've been to plenty of them all around the world.First, the location is not convenient, don't trust what they say it's a walking distance from ocean drive okay, but like 20min walk, when the other hostels in south beach are like 5 mins away. I have to admit though that the staff was very nice and helpful but the hostel itself OMG. The rooms are very small and dirty, the bathroom was SO dirty I had to close my eyes to take a shower otherwise I would have throw out. The noise is very annoying at night, the walls are so thin you can hear everything from outside and especially the loud music from the hostel. Let's talk about the breakfast, it's an hostel so I didn't expect something fancy or a buffet, but the breakfast was ... raw eggs!!! Their answer of "where is the breakfast ?" was " You see the eggs over there, go grab one and cook it in the kitchen" I thought it was the biggest joke of the year. Internet don't work on the computers. Anyways, BAD hostel, go there only if it is your last option, and even then ...

Room Tip: Don't try the 8 people dorms, so small, dirty and the door stays open all night because of the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bikini Hostel, Cafe & Beer Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bikini Hostel, Cafe & Beer Garden

Address: 1255 West Avenue, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bikini Hostel, Cafe & Beer Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of South Beach & walking distance to everything: the bursting energy of the nightclubs, restaurants, & beautiful beaches. The only hostel of large apartments with en-suite private bathroom, lockers and flat screen TVs only for those staying in either the dorm or private rooms within of which all have air conditioning & comfortable memory foam beds. Voted #1 Atmosphere! Huge on site restaurant and bar, offering lowest priced drinks in town and serving all day breakfast, lunch, dinner and late night after club bar food everyday! Newest, best & only hostel in South Beach with: FREE Breakfast daily FREE BBQ weekly FREE Pizza Party weekly FREE Swimming Pool FREE Jacuzzi FREE Internet Cafe - 3 Stations of Computers. FREE Wi-Fi beach yard / courtyard FREE 24hr coffee & tea FREE 24hr Media room with Big Flat screen FREE Billiards Tournaments Nights FREE Ping Pong Tournaments Nights FREE Movie Nights FREE Poker Nights FREE Game Nights FREE Trivia Nights FREE Linen FREE Towel FREE Security Lockers FREE Pool Table FREE Ping Pong Table FREE Local Maps/Brochures FREE Cable TV FREE Iron/Hair Dryer/International AC adapters FREE Beach umbrellas and beach paddle balls FREE Twice a day housekeeping Services FREE Luggage storage- before and after check in/out FREE Use of our Travel Guidebooks FREE Book Exchange FREE Beach Towel usage Party! You will be able to party all night long and then sleep any time in quite and comfort because the party area is located away from your apartment dorm making our hostel the best place to both party and sleep, rest or chill out. We have a variety of bed arrangements from private to dorm style that will fit everyone's needs. Your stay with us will be awesome and amazing! We are committed to making it comfortable, affordable and fun while providing very clean accommodations. We will guide you to the best daily activities, night clubs, and the sexiest beach and pool parties. We have daily pub crawls and VIP access to Miami's hottest clubs, such as Mansion, Nikki Beach, Cameo and more! You can walk to Lincoln Road shopping, the sparkling beaches, popular and super-healthy Whole Foods grocery store, the movie theater, a romantic walk on Espanola Way's outdoor cafes & restaurants, or hanging out with the locals at Starbucks coffee. You'll have the greatest opportunities to meet and join new friends at our planned daily activities and suggested nightly dance clubs. Staying at the Bikini Hostel, Cafe & Beer Garden, you are next to Flamingo park with it's Olympic size swimming pool, soccer fields / free basket ball courts, and across the street from us are the intracoastal water way views of Miami Beach's tropical palm tree islands and downtown Miami's nightly lit up skyline! Diagonally across the street enjoy the weekend DJ pool parties at the Mondrian Hotel - where the hottest beautiful bodies groove to the sexiest music all day long! In front is the bus stop to get to the ocean beach in 5 minutes and everywhere in S. Beach for just a quarter and next door there is access to a bicycle rental rack. As a guest, you'll receive special discounts to our nearby Spa extending to you half off Massages. Bikini Hostel, Cafe & Beer Garden is local family owned and operated so we know to guide you to the best daily and night activities. Come and play in the sun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Bikini Hostel, Cafe & Beer Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bikini Hostel, Cafe & Beer Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.