We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst experience in my life” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bikini Hostel, Cafe & Beer Garden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bikini Hostel, Cafe & Beer Garden to your Saves list
Bikini Hostel, Cafe & Beer Garden
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   1255 West Avenue, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Foz do Iguaçu, Parana, Brazil
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The worst experience in my life”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I've booked 4 nights on Bikini website, when I arrived the guest attendant doesn't find my name... some minutes later, she said to me, that I just had one day there. The city was full, it was in Spring Brake days. What would I do? The attendant said to me find something by myself. I asked her to me sleep on flor, because I didn't know what I should do... Finally she "found" one day to me, I payed the double.
The breakfast is just a bread and a horrible coffe or juice.
THE WORST GUEST SERVICE!!!
DON'T GO THERE!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P M, Owner at Bikini Hostel, Cafe & Beer Garden, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Note to readers: We strive to lovingly accommodate all our guests. However, unknown to management at the time and without management approval, this guest went on line and reserved for himself a bed in a room clearly designated as an all FEMALE room. He either made a mistake or purposely tried to get away with something because we were otherwise sold out. When he attempted to check in, we could not allow him to go into an all FEMALE room. We would have been happy to accommodate him in an appropriate room but we were sold out. All the other negative comments he wrote were simply inaccurate and out of anger and spite. Please concentrate on the positive comments our other guests have written about us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    45
    27
    9
    19
See reviews for
8
6
69
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Strasbourg, France
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I was supposed to stay in the hostel for 8 days, I finally just stayed 1 night. Why ? Simple! Because this is the worst hostel ever, and I've been to plenty of them all around the world.First, the location is not convenient, don't trust what they say it's a walking distance from ocean drive okay, but like 20min walk, when the other hostels in south beach are like 5 mins away. I have to admit though that the staff was very nice and helpful but the hostel itself OMG. The rooms are very small and dirty, the bathroom was SO dirty I had to close my eyes to take a shower otherwise I would have throw out. The noise is very annoying at night, the walls are so thin you can hear everything from outside and especially the loud music from the hostel. Let's talk about the breakfast, it's an hostel so I didn't expect something fancy or a buffet, but the breakfast was ... raw eggs!!! Their answer of "where is the breakfast ?" was " You see the eggs over there, go grab one and cook it in the kitchen" I thought it was the biggest joke of the year. Internet don't work on the computers. Anyways, BAD hostel, go there only if it is your last option, and even then ...

Room Tip: Don't try the 8 people dorms, so small, dirty and the door stays open all night because of the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Upon arrival we were greeted by upbeat and friendly employees. There is a $20 deposit for the room key, and I recommend making sure that you keep good tabs on that key if you share a room with someone. Behind the desk there were toiletries of sorts for sale, and free condoms. They give you a fitted sheet, a normal sheet, and a pillow case. We booked the all female room with 8 people, but they 'upgraded' us to a 4 bedroom room. They said we would most likely be by ourselves the entire time. There was a door that was able to lock between this room and the all male room and 8 beds. We all shared the bathroom. The bathroom was perfectly fine, and toilet paper was provided, but there were dead termites in the sink all night. The room came with two half sized lockers, despite their being 4 beds. In the evening, they booked two men into our room. The room was nice, two sets of bunk beds, plenty of storage that didn't have locking capabilities, and a great sized TV. We didn't turn it on so I cant say how it worked. Outside there was an above ground pool, pool tables, and ping pong tables. The hostel offers plenty of events for the travelers. The breakfast is indeed free. It is composed of bagels, boiled eggs, toast, I think. We didn't eat it because we were in a hurry the next day. They were able to call us a cab the next morning, which was super convenient. The hostel is located on the inter-coastal water front, not the beach. So there is a bit of walk to reach the ocean. We took local transportation from MIA to the hostel; the bus costs $2.35. If you decide to use this method to get there, make sure you get off at 13th, not 9th. The walk from 9th is quite a walk.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Unbelieveble ! where to start . After 30 minutes waiting a irritate and unpolite staff answer me , my room is not ready .


Finally arrive at the room , unclean , smelly room , after a complain and nothing done ,i felt sleep even with the noise .
The day after I find out the overcharge me in more than 100 percent , try to complain but the staff hide, ignore me like a fool
After 2 hours waiting I decide to call the police .
they destroy my holiday

Room Tip: find another hostel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

On the day we arrived there was little misunderstanding with over booking dormitoty that we stay in but day after as a appology we has been given specious private room for price of dormitory (big thank you Carol),overall staff very helpfull and friendly grate location we had there lot of fun recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

When we first entered the Hostel we thought this seems like a very nice hostel. The stuff was friendly and we wanted to check in for two weeks. After more than 20 minutes we could enter our room for four people with an own bathroom and kitchen. As we entered our room we were pretty shocked. In the bathroom were some dirty socks in the sink, there was still pasta in the fridge, one of the beds had no mattress and we had to ask more than one time for our pillows. But even more bad, we had to share our kitchen and the bathroom with another room. We didn't sleep one night in this hostel. The stuff became very rude and let us always wait and ignored us. I think there is much more potential, because we've been in other hostels and had good experiences but I would recommend you to avoid this hostel and safe some time and nerves.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This is one of the best Hostels in Miami Beach, the atmosphere is very nice, has swimming pool, pool table and table tennis. The staff is very friendly and always available to answer your queries. The pieces are very comfortable as they have kitchen and bathroom, and are very spacious. The place is very nice and clean. Very close to the main streets of miami.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bikini Hostel, Cafe & Beer Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bikini Hostel, Cafe & Beer Garden

Address: 1255 West Avenue, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bikini Hostel, Cafe & Beer Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of South Beach & walking distance to everything: the bursting energy of the nightclubs, restaurants, & beautiful beaches. The only hostel of large apartments with en-suite private bathroom, lockers and flat screen TVs only for those staying in either the dorm or private rooms within of which all have air conditioning & comfortable memory foam beds. Voted #1 Atmosphere! Huge on site restaurant and bar, offering lowest priced drinks in town and serving all day breakfast, lunch, dinner and late night after club bar food everyday! Newest, best & only hostel in South Beach with: FREE Breakfast daily FREE BBQ weekly FREE Pizza Party weekly FREE Swimming Pool FREE Jacuzzi FREE Internet Cafe - 3 Stations of Computers. FREE Wi-Fi beach yard / courtyard FREE 24hr coffee & tea FREE 24hr Media room with Big Flat screen FREE Billiards Tournaments Nights FREE Ping Pong Tournaments Nights FREE Movie Nights FREE Poker Nights FREE Game Nights FREE Trivia Nights FREE Linen FREE Towel FREE Security Lockers FREE Pool Table FREE Ping Pong Table FREE Local Maps/Brochures FREE Cable TV FREE Iron/Hair Dryer/International AC adapters FREE Beach umbrellas and beach paddle balls FREE Twice a day housekeeping Services FREE Luggage storage- before and after check in/out FREE Use of our Travel Guidebooks FREE Book Exchange FREE Beach Towel usage Party! You will be able to party all night long and then sleep any time in quite and comfort because the party area is located away from your apartment dorm making our hostel the best place to both party and sleep, rest or chill out. We have a variety of bed arrangements from private to dorm style that will fit everyone's needs. Your stay with us will be awesome and amazing! We are committed to making it comfortable, affordable and fun while providing very clean accommodations. We will guide you to the best daily activities, night clubs, and the sexiest beach and pool parties. We have daily pub crawls and VIP access to Miami's hottest clubs, such as Mansion, Nikki Beach, Cameo and more! You can walk to Lincoln Road shopping, the sparkling beaches, popular and super-healthy Whole Foods grocery store, the movie theater, a romantic walk on Espanola Way's outdoor cafes & restaurants, or hanging out with the locals at Starbucks coffee. You'll have the greatest opportunities to meet and join new friends at our planned daily activities and suggested nightly dance clubs. Staying at the Bikini Hostel, Cafe & Beer Garden, you are next to Flamingo park with it's Olympic size swimming pool, soccer fields / free basket ball courts, and across the street from us are the intracoastal water way views of Miami Beach's tropical palm tree islands and downtown Miami's nightly lit up skyline! Diagonally across the street enjoy the weekend DJ pool parties at the Mondrian Hotel - where the hottest beautiful bodies groove to the sexiest music all day long! In front is the bus stop to get to the ocean beach in 5 minutes and everywhere in S. Beach for just a quarter and next door there is access to a bicycle rental rack. As a guest, you'll receive special discounts to our nearby Spa extending to you half off Massages. Bikini Hostel, Cafe & Beer Garden is local family owned and operated so we know to guide you to the best daily and night activities. Come and play in the sun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Venere, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Bikini Hostel, Cafe & Beer Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bikini Hostel, Cafe & Beer Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.