We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No thank you” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bikini Hostel

Save Saved
You added Bikini Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bikini Hostel
1247 West Avenue, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Strasbourg, France
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“No thank you”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I was supposed to stay in the hostel for 8 days, I finally just stayed 1 night. Why ? Simple! Because this is the worst hostel ever, and I've been to plenty of them all around the world.First, the location is not convenient, don't trust what they say it's a walking distance from ocean drive okay, but like 20min walk, when the other hostels in south beach are like 5 mins away. I have to admit though that the staff was very nice and helpful but the hostel itself OMG. The rooms are very small and dirty, the bathroom was SO dirty I had to close my eyes to take a shower otherwise I would have throw out. The noise is very annoying at night, the walls are so thin you can hear everything from outside and especially the loud music from the hostel. Let's talk about the breakfast, it's an hostel so I didn't expect something fancy or a buffet, but the breakfast was ... raw eggs!!! Their answer of "where is the breakfast ?" was " You see the eggs over there, go grab one and cook it in the kitchen" I thought it was the biggest joke of the year. Internet don't work on the computers. Anyways, BAD hostel, go there only if it is your last option, and even then ...

Room Tip: Don't try the 8 people dorms, so small, dirty and the door stays open all night because of the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    36
    14
    8
    17
See reviews for
8
5
48
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Upon arrival we were greeted by upbeat and friendly employees. There is a $20 deposit for the room key, and I recommend making sure that you keep good tabs on that key if you share a room with someone. Behind the desk there were toiletries of sorts for sale, and free condoms. They give you a fitted sheet, a normal sheet, and a pillow case. We booked the all female room with 8 people, but they 'upgraded' us to a 4 bedroom room. They said we would most likely be by ourselves the entire time. There was a door that was able to lock between this room and the all male room and 8 beds. We all shared the bathroom. The bathroom was perfectly fine, and toilet paper was provided, but there were dead termites in the sink all night. The room came with two half sized lockers, despite their being 4 beds. In the evening, they booked two men into our room. The room was nice, two sets of bunk beds, plenty of storage that didn't have locking capabilities, and a great sized TV. We didn't turn it on so I cant say how it worked. Outside there was an above ground pool, pool tables, and ping pong tables. The hostel offers plenty of events for the travelers. The breakfast is indeed free. It is composed of bagels, boiled eggs, toast, I think. We didn't eat it because we were in a hurry the next day. They were able to call us a cab the next morning, which was super convenient. The hostel is located on the inter-coastal water front, not the beach. So there is a bit of walk to reach the ocean. We took local transportation from MIA to the hostel; the bus costs $2.35. If you decide to use this method to get there, make sure you get off at 13th, not 9th. The walk from 9th is quite a walk.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Unbelieveble ! where to start . After 30 minutes waiting a irritate and unpolite staff answer me , my room is not ready .


Finally arrive at the room , unclean , smelly room , after a complain and nothing done ,i felt sleep even with the noise .
The day after I find out the overcharge me in more than 100 percent , try to complain but the staff hide, ignore me like a fool
After 2 hours waiting I decide to call the police .
they destroy my holiday

Room Tip: find another hostel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

On the day we arrived there was little misunderstanding with over booking dormitoty that we stay in but day after as a appology we has been given specious private room for price of dormitory (big thank you Carol),overall staff very helpfull and friendly grate location we had there lot of fun recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

When we first entered the Hostel we thought this seems like a very nice hostel. The stuff was friendly and we wanted to check in for two weeks. After more than 20 minutes we could enter our room for four people with an own bathroom and kitchen. As we entered our room we were pretty shocked. In the bathroom were some dirty socks in the sink, there was still pasta in the fridge, one of the beds had no mattress and we had to ask more than one time for our pillows. But even more bad, we had to share our kitchen and the bathroom with another room. We didn't sleep one night in this hostel. The stuff became very rude and let us always wait and ignored us. I think there is much more potential, because we've been in other hostels and had good experiences but I would recommend you to avoid this hostel and safe some time and nerves.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This is one of the best Hostels in Miami Beach, the atmosphere is very nice, has swimming pool, pool table and table tennis. The staff is very friendly and always available to answer your queries. The pieces are very comfortable as they have kitchen and bathroom, and are very spacious. The place is very nice and clean. Very close to the main streets of miami.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Where to start, ignored by staff at checking in for 20 mins.Room was poor but kitchen and bathroom were FILTHY!! There were bugs all over the kitchen and were found crawling on my sister as she slept! Also items belonging to others in room were stolen and staff did nothing. Unsafe area also. Seen staff members shouting abuse at a guest and then went on to call police on said guest and he was made to leave. Completely wrong. Overall staff and rooms were a disgrace. Worst experience in a hostel ever.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bikini Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bikini Hostel

Address: 1247 West Avenue, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 59 Specialty lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of S. Beach & walking distance to everything: the bursting energy of the nightclubs, restaurants, & beautiful beaches. The only hostel of large apartments with en-suite private bathroom, lockers and flat screen TVs only for those staying in either the dorm or private rooms within of which all have air conditioning & comfortable memory foam beds. Voted #1 Atmosphere! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Bikini Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bikini Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.