We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Five Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Five Hotel to your Saves list
Ocean Five Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   436 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (South Pointe)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #130 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Vantaa, Finland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very nice location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Room was cozy and there was five of us and we fitted there nicely as there were two large beds for us to share.

Location was excellent as we focused more on sunbathing and swimming at South Beach.

The staff was very helpful in assisting where to go around Miami and near the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    168
    135
    75
    59
See reviews for
84
211
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Julian, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Spent 3 nights for a bachelorette party. It was an older hotel but very quaint. Hardwood floors, kitchenette, and nice size bathroom. Close enough to walk to SB nightlife. Only problems very noisy, had some issues with fuses tripping with 4 girls trying to get ready at the same time but overall we had a good time!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Room 207 (I think). Location was great. Our room was right over the parking so it was good people watching. Staff was great and responsive. It was once to get to go bags of ice and fresh beach towels daily.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

I had been searching for condos for a girl's weekend, and wish I had found this place sooner. It has full kitchens and large rooms with comfortable beds (I even wanted to inquire about who made the mattresses!). The location is perfect, on a more quiet end of the strip, but still within a few minute walk from the heart of the action. I found my new go-to place in SoBe -- OCEAN FIVE! I'll certainly be back!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

I always stay at Ocean Five hotel. You cannot beat the location, just across the street from the beach and a few blocks to all the great restaurants and bars along ocean drive. On my most recent stay, I joined girlfriends who had arrived the day before me and stayed two nights at the fountainbleu. Our room there was small and not worth the price. The day after I arrived we moved to my favorite (Ocean Five) and we stayed in their new tower with fill kitchens. WOW! My room was huge and modern. Beds were extremely comfortable and everything was state of the art. I am always welcomed warmly by Andy at the front desk. Ocean Five truly feels like a home away from home. I would strongly recommend it to anyone looking for an amazing and comfortable place in south beach.

Room Tip: Rooms in the new tower are huge and have kitchens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

The best value for money in Miami Beach. We stayed in the Ocean Five Studio rooms with kitchens which is not in their main building, but next door. Very close to the beach, bars and best spots on Ocean Drive.

Room Tip: Ocean Five Studio rooms with kitchens
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I booked this hotel on Expedia after getting a great price for it. Reading some of the reviews here later on, I was very apprehensive about this hotel. However I needn't have been . This hotel seems to be comprised of two buildings with a parking lot between them. We got a junior suite in the building that is across the parking lot from the one with the receptionist. We didn't have to walk through an restaurant or dining areas as other's have said. The building was very maintained, with wide spacious hallways with wood floor, and very clean minimalist design. The junior suite was large very well laid out with an alcove kitchen. The room had the new vintage style gray hardwood floor same as the hallway, making for a very airy feel. Our room as equipped with a 37 inch TV which had HD channels.
The two queen sized were soft and comfortable and had a temperpedic like fee. There is no bathtub in the bathroom, a shower stall instead.
As other's have indicated, it doesn't get any better than this hotel as far as location is concerned. This is right on ocean drive next to all of the restaurant and some of the most most beautiful sections of south beach. It's near all of the night live yet far enough to be in in the quite area. The beach is right behind the building in front of this hotel and hotel provides beach towels
Tip. the kitchen in the hotel is well stocked with plates and cooking utensils. You may find it wise to make use of it sometimes since the restaurants on South Beach (and Miami Beach in general) area really quite pricey and seem to have this tradition of sticking in a 20% tip regardless of the level of service.
Similar hotels in the area and in even worse locations were all at least a hundred dollars or more. For the price we paid we couldn't have done better than this hotel for the price. The only gripe with this hotel was the wifi which seemed a little to slow.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the building across the parking lot from the one with the receiptionist
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Five Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Five Hotel

Address: 436 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > South Pointe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean Five Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an excellent Miami Beach location on Ocean Drive, in the Art Deco District, we are steps away from South Beach shopping, gourmet dining, a chic nightlife, and miles of golden Atlantic sand beaches. At the same time, here is the surprisingly tranquil area of well-known Ocean Drive, SoFi – South of Fifth. Within our Art Deco setting (origin, 1936) we welcome guests seeking an unpretentious, uncomplicated boutique hotel with attentive service. An Authentic Experience… the Essence of South Beach!Italian travertine marble floors, original artwork and handcrafted furniture in each guestroom and suite are enhanced by rich colors. South Florida views and the warm reception by our staff please all guests, and we offer complimentary daily breakfast and WiFi Internet. Conveniently located just 20 minutes from Miami International Airport (MIA) and 15 minutes from the Port of Miami. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Ocean Five Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean 5 Hotel
Ocean Five Miami Beach
Hotel Ocean Five

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Five Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.