We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only good for the location.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Five Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ocean Five Hotel to your Saves list
Ocean Five Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   436 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (South Pointe)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #125 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Woking, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Only good for the location.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This hotel is fantastic for it's location, like everyone says it is close to everything, but quiet enough to sleep at night. I really liked our room. It was hand painted with a sea theme and I liked the rustic dark wood furniture. The shower room was good too. It was all adequate and just what we needed for a 3 night stay!

Breakfast was basic but I quite liked just having toast and juice so it suited my boyfriend and I fine. The only thing that bothered me was that some of the staff could not speak a word of English! I am not expecting fully English speaking staff but to be able to express some sentences would have been helpful. One morning my boyfriend asked for more jam and the waitress came back with an ash tray? I also noticed another couple getting annoyed because they were asking for more cutlery but kept being given menus! I can see how it is frustrating. On another note the rooms are cleaned daily but the floors are never swept at all. Considering most guests are using the beach, like we did, for most of our stay we had to walk around with gritty feet in our apartment.

We did like our stay here on the whole. Oh and if you have a car you will be asked to pay 25 dollars a night to park it in their car park.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    145
    110
    70
    53
See reviews for
72
179
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

we stayed at the ocean 5 hotel for 3 nights and the best bit of the hotel was the location. only a 5 minute walk to the beach and right next to heaps to restaurants and shops.
when we arrived we had to cart our heavy bags up a couple of steps only to get sent back outside to the cafe next door to go to our hotel room there. when we were checking in and talking to the lobby staff, they began serving other people which was frustrating. they said we had free wifi but the first night it didn't work. going through the cafe to get to the hotel room was always awkward because we were constantly getting hassled to eat there. the hotel room and bathroom was a good size but the bed was extremely uncomfortable and made a lot of noise. this was our fourth week of holidaying in hotels around the USA and this was the first place we woke up with sore backs from the bed. there was no comfortable lounges to sit on in the room only a wooden dining chair. there was only one bedside cupboard with a light. there was a fridge in the room that barely fit on the table it was sitting on. each time we opened it, it almost fell on the floor. I was also woken two mornings of three by cleaners banging around in the next door room. We did not take advantage of the free breakfast as we wanted to try elsewhere but you definitely could not beat the location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Under Lyme
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for three nights from 21 May 2013 whilst on our way to Hawaii.
The hotel is located just faw enough away from all the action so you could have a good night sleep.

The hotel was clean and the room we had was quite large with a king bed. The furnature is dark wood and very rustic in style. Our room overlooked the allyway between the next hotel. there was some kind of Air con unit on the floor that gave off some noise at night. The windows are only single glazed. double glazing would have cured this.

The TV was an old small a14 inch, but we never used it so cannot comment.

We had to access our room thorugh the restaurant next door, no hardship just meant we could have the best Mojito in Miami on the way through. There is a lift to all floors

Where was a large bathroom with with the normal fittings and large shower cubicle, big enough for two. Always plenty of hot water and good pressure.

There was a smell in our room and the same in our friends. At first we thought it was damp, but after a lot of sniffing around we came to the conclusion that it was the polish or stain they used on the dark furnature.
The air con worked great and could be left on all night without being disturbed by the noise.
We paid for the parking, this worked out a $25 per day


Breakfast was included and consisted of white toast, jams, cornflakes, coffee / tea and fruit. We found this to be very adequate. After four toast and a bowl cornflakes, this set us up for the day (well until mid afternoon)
The only thing i would say is that there can be a long wait for the toasters, and there is only one kettle to boil water if you wanted anything other than coffee. Get down early or towards the end of service to aviod the queus

The reception staff were very helpful in giving us information on things to do. We booked a couple of trips through them, Star Island boat tour and city tour.

Would i sthere again Yes i would stay again for a short break

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Arrived here after flight from London for one night stop ahead of trip to Florida Keys. At quiet end of Ocean Drive, this hotel is in an excellent location for exploring South Beach, just over the road from the beach. Staff were very helpful and polite and continental breakfast provided for the next morning more than adequate. The room was very clean and tidy, decorated in rustic style. Parking is difficult in the South Beach area but the hotel provided valet parking at reasonable cost on the adjacent site.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ansonia, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Hotel room very nice. Came with dining area and small kitchen. Big windowa to let the sunshine in and at a quiet end of Ocean Avenue.

Bad thing about the hotel was thier customer/cleaning service. Hotel cleanings are scheduled between 10am-5pm which makes it impossible for us to plan when to be in or out of the room. Once the cleaning woman came she spoke no english so we could not describe to her what was needed. She then called a supervisor down just to tell us we had to leave our room in the middle of the day, while we were trying to dress for the evening. The floors were never swept the whole time we stayed. The bathroom was not cleaned, just linens and towels changed. Overall the cleaning of the rooms were horrible.

Room Tip: Rooms at this hotel are very quiet and nice. Customer service and cleanng staff could be nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and found it to be a good hotel. We booked it and then saw some of the bad reviews so were a bit worried! We were upgraded on arrival to one of the newer studio rooms with a kitchen, which was a nice surprise. The room was very large and bright, very clean, comfortable and had everything we needed. I liked that it was in an older building with some character. The free wifi was appreciated. The staff were always courteous and helpful. A lot has been said about the breakfast - so yes, it is basic BUT it provides cereal, toast, OJ, fruit and coffee and it is FREE!! For us it was perfectly good and we ate it every morning. Miami beach is gorgeous and right across the street, you can borrow beach towels from reception which I thought was a great idea. I'd agree with what others have said in that its in a nice quiet location, but still close enough to everything. We had a good stay and I'd recommend it on the basis of the room we stayed in.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tinkswrath
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

When we arrived, I was having a really rough morning, and the hotel staff was very nice and accommodating and upgraded our room for free. We stayed in a room that is next door to the main hotel. There is no elevator, but a bell man did take our bags up for us. The room was big, simple and nice. There was no door on the shower, which I thought was odd. There is no free parking; the rate is $25/night. As much as it sounds crappy, it's the same as parking on the street. The hotel is in a great location. It is a block away from the strip and the beach. The staff is very nice and helpful. Our kitchen light blew out and they fixed it in 10mins. Our wifi was down and they fixed that quickly too. They offer towels for the beach. The bar is nice. Skip the free breakfast, it's lame. It only offers corn flakes, bread, bananas and oj. Go up a block and get a good breakfast for $5.50. Basically the hotel is clean, friendly and is good for it's location, with no fancy bells or whistles.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Five Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Five Hotel

Address: 436 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > South Pointe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#83 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean Five Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an excellent Miami Beach location on Ocean Drive, in the Art Deco District, we are steps away from South Beach shopping, gourmet dining, a chic nightlife, and miles of golden Atlantic sand beaches. At the same time, here is the surprisingly tranquil area of well-known Ocean Drive, SoFi – South of Fifth. Within our Art Deco setting (origin, 1936) we welcome guests seeking an unpretentious, uncomplicated boutique hotel with attentive service. An Authentic Experience… the Essence of South Beach!Italian travertine marble floors, original artwork and handcrafted furniture in each guestroom and suite are enhanced by rich colors. South Florida views and the warm reception by our staff please all guests, and we offer complimentary daily breakfast and WiFi Internet. Conveniently located just 20 minutes from Miami International Airport (MIA) and 15 minutes from the Port of Miami. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ocean Five Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean 5 Hotel
Ocean Five Miami Beach
Hotel Ocean Five

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Five Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.