We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Five Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ocean Five Hotel to your Saves list
Ocean Five Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   436 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (South Pointe)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #123 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Arrived here after flight from London for one night stop ahead of trip to Florida Keys. At quiet end of Ocean Drive, this hotel is in an excellent location for exploring South Beach, just over the road from the beach. Staff were very helpful and polite and continental breakfast provided for the next morning more than adequate. The room was very clean and tidy, decorated in rustic style. Parking is difficult in the South Beach area but the hotel provided valet parking at reasonable cost on the adjacent site.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    144
    110
    70
    53
See reviews for
72
178
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ansonia, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Hotel room very nice. Came with dining area and small kitchen. Big windowa to let the sunshine in and at a quiet end of Ocean Avenue.

Bad thing about the hotel was thier customer/cleaning service. Hotel cleanings are scheduled between 10am-5pm which makes it impossible for us to plan when to be in or out of the room. Once the cleaning woman came she spoke no english so we could not describe to her what was needed. She then called a supervisor down just to tell us we had to leave our room in the middle of the day, while we were trying to dress for the evening. The floors were never swept the whole time we stayed. The bathroom was not cleaned, just linens and towels changed. Overall the cleaning of the rooms were horrible.

Room Tip: Rooms at this hotel are very quiet and nice. Customer service and cleanng staff could be nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and found it to be a good hotel. We booked it and then saw some of the bad reviews so were a bit worried! We were upgraded on arrival to one of the newer studio rooms with a kitchen, which was a nice surprise. The room was very large and bright, very clean, comfortable and had everything we needed. I liked that it was in an older building with some character. The free wifi was appreciated. The staff were always courteous and helpful. A lot has been said about the breakfast - so yes, it is basic BUT it provides cereal, toast, OJ, fruit and coffee and it is FREE!! For us it was perfectly good and we ate it every morning. Miami beach is gorgeous and right across the street, you can borrow beach towels from reception which I thought was a great idea. I'd agree with what others have said in that its in a nice quiet location, but still close enough to everything. We had a good stay and I'd recommend it on the basis of the room we stayed in.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tinkswrath
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

When we arrived, I was having a really rough morning, and the hotel staff was very nice and accommodating and upgraded our room for free. We stayed in a room that is next door to the main hotel. There is no elevator, but a bell man did take our bags up for us. The room was big, simple and nice. There was no door on the shower, which I thought was odd. There is no free parking; the rate is $25/night. As much as it sounds crappy, it's the same as parking on the street. The hotel is in a great location. It is a block away from the strip and the beach. The staff is very nice and helpful. Our kitchen light blew out and they fixed it in 10mins. Our wifi was down and they fixed that quickly too. They offer towels for the beach. The bar is nice. Skip the free breakfast, it's lame. It only offers corn flakes, bread, bananas and oj. Go up a block and get a good breakfast for $5.50. Basically the hotel is clean, friendly and is good for it's location, with no fancy bells or whistles.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Was quite worried after I booked the hotel then read some of the reviews however this was a perfect hotel for what we needed. We stayed for 14 nights in one of the studio rooms which included a kitchen, it was located in an annex building on Ocean drive. We originally booked a regular guest room but on our arrival they upgraded us free of charge! I have no idea what the other rooms are like but the Studio rooms appeared to have been recently refurbished with a 40 inch Plasma TV. The cleaners arrived everyday to change the towels etc. Never tried the breakfast but I believe it was basic. If its a relaxing holiday your after with lots of luxury then maybe this hotel is not for you. The walls are thin and you can hear the noises from the street however its not too bad. The beds were so comfy, the shower was great.and the air con was fantastic. We did catch three cockroaches during out stay but that was the only bad point of the room.. The parking was charged at $25 a day which I wasn't too happy about. This is my third visit to South Beach so I know the area quite well now. The hotel also has fast WIFI and is within a short walking distance of many restaurants, Walgreens, designer shops and of course Story (nightclub). I will definitely be revisiting this hotel. Oh and the beach is right across the road.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I really liked this hotel. Was a perfect location on Ocean Drive, just opposite the beach and far enough from the noise of the bars. The staff on reception were always happy to help us and greeted us each time we came and went. A tea / coffee maker in the room would have topped it off perfectly.

Room Tip: I would request the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The hotel is very scruffy and unattractive from the outside. Registering was ok, the reception area was not very clean and very strong air fresheners were in use. To enter your room you had to go through the cafe next door which was when we arrived quite full with people eating. The room was very dark because of the wood shutters at the windows. These shutters were necessary as there were no curtains. The room was poorly furnished with a very noisy air conditioning unit, and very old tv. There were no coffee/tea making facilities. The overwhelming smell of bleach made your eyes water and the sheets may have been clean but certainly did not look it. Breakfast was served in the cafe next door and was very basic. The orangejuice was powdered, the coffee awful and the girl on duty was disinterested and surly. It was not a good start to our holiday, thank goodness we were only there for one night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Five Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Five Hotel

Address: 436 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > South Pointe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean Five Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an excellent Miami Beach location on Ocean Drive, in the Art Deco District, we are steps away from South Beach shopping, gourmet dining, a chic nightlife, and miles of golden Atlantic sand beaches. At the same time, here is the surprisingly tranquil area of well-known Ocean Drive, SoFi – South of Fifth. Within our Art Deco setting (origin, 1936) we welcome guests seeking an unpretentious, uncomplicated boutique hotel with attentive service. An Authentic Experience… the Essence of South Beach!Italian travertine marble floors, original artwork and handcrafted furniture in each guestroom and suite are enhanced by rich colors. South Florida views and the warm reception by our staff please all guests, and we offer complimentary daily breakfast and WiFi Internet. Conveniently located just 20 minutes from Miami International Airport (MIA) and 15 minutes from the Port of Miami. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ocean Five Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean 5 Hotel
Ocean Five Miami Beach
Hotel Ocean Five

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Five Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.