We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Art Deco In Name Only” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Five Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Five Hotel to your Saves list
Ocean Five Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   436 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (South Pointe)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #131 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Parker, Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Art Deco In Name Only”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Wife and I stayed here for 4 nights. Good news is that it has a great location, on Ocean Drive, but a couple blocks from all of the noise. Rooms are spacious as well. However, that is all that is positive. No amenities, awful complimentary breakfast, and indifferent service. Much better choices are on Collins ave.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    155
    121
    71
    57
See reviews for
74
195
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My friends and I just went to Miami for a long girls weekend and this hotel made it very difficult to have a good time. When we checked in, the man at the front desk lectured us about bringing 4 girls instead of 2 (since we signed up for 2 not knowing the full amount of girls that we coming). He proceeded to not only charge us extra for each person he also lectured us about the amount even though we had booked a room with two queen sized beds. This was our fault, but he was not very kind about the issue. The "Free Breakfast" was horrible.... it included some toast, coffee, and juice when we were expecting something a little nicer.
We also ran out of towels at once point and asked for room service (which never came). So we dropped off our dirty towels at a nearby cleaning cart and picked up clean ones, and the staff acted like we had stole gold from them. We explained what had happened yet they lectured us yet again for "stealing" towels. We paid close to $300 a night for this place and was a bit ridiculous for how we were treated. The only perk about staying at this hotel was the location, but I could have paid less for something nicer in the same location. Would not recommend or ever stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton/London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Nice welcome but don't expect luxury.
'Bonanza' style basic room 2 big comfy beds.
Walk through restaurant didn't bother us.
Good location didn't have breakfast....We always eat at The Front Porch at the opposite end of Ocean Drive...best breakfast!!! Just hire some bikes or meander along.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Perfect location on South Beach, but 1 block south of all of the noise and activity--which means you are able to sleep when you want to. We stayed in the section over Mi Ami, the hotel's bistro/restaurant, and loved our rooms. Although showing its age, our suite was clean and had a European "old world" feel with Italian marble floors, rich wooden furnishings, Art Deco fixtures, and walk in shower. Lovely and welcoming, and everyone on staff was friendly and helpful. Great place to stay when visiting South Beach!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Spent two nights here, February 14 and 15, overlapping the Boat Show and Valentine's Day (we were not there for the show). They have two buildings; we were placed in the building that is separated from the main building by a parking lot. On the second floor, no elevator (we were on the tail end of a long trip, had two large, heavy bags). We had several maintenance issues in the room, not all solved (including the television, which never worked). Beds were very soft. Nice quiet location. Continental breakfast was toast, coffee, and pancakes. It's a very no-frills hotel in a very good location (beach, Art Deco district).

Room Tip: Maybe the main building is more accessible to service. Certainly easier if it rains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

This was a nice little hotel with close proximity to beach, shopping and resteruants. It is a 2 star hotel but it is clean and we have to say with the staff's friendliness it could be elevated to a 3 star. Staff in resteraunt, and hotel were very friendly and helpful. Rooms are small but for the price you pay it is reasonable. We didn't mind walking through resteraunt to get to our elevator to room it seemed natural after a couple of times. If you want location and aren't fussy about a room this is a good hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Five Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Five Hotel

Address: 436 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > South Pointe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#89 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean Five Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an excellent Miami Beach location on Ocean Drive, in the Art Deco District, we are steps away from South Beach shopping, gourmet dining, a chic nightlife, and miles of golden Atlantic sand beaches. At the same time, here is the surprisingly tranquil area of well-known Ocean Drive, SoFi – South of Fifth. Within our Art Deco setting (origin, 1936) we welcome guests seeking an unpretentious, uncomplicated boutique hotel with attentive service. An Authentic Experience… the Essence of South Beach!Italian travertine marble floors, original artwork and handcrafted furniture in each guestroom and suite are enhanced by rich colors. South Florida views and the warm reception by our staff please all guests, and we offer complimentary daily breakfast and WiFi Internet. Conveniently located just 20 minutes from Miami International Airport (MIA) and 15 minutes from the Port of Miami. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ocean Five Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean 5 Hotel
Ocean Five Miami Beach
Hotel Ocean Five

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Five Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.