We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ocean Dive” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Five Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Five Hotel to your Saves list
Ocean Five Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   436 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (South Pointe)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #130 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Ocean Dive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Staff are pleasant but some rooms have no fresh air so it is only natural that there is an unpleasant odour that lingers. Bathrooms need a good clean and the ones we saw are very neglected. Location is excellent but noise travels down long hallways. I would NOT stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    168
    135
    75
    59
See reviews for
84
211
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Stayed at Ocean Five for 2 nights (Thursday and Friday nights). The hotel is located in a great location within walking distance from all the beach, bars and restaurants on Ocean drive.

Check in process was ok it took a bit of a wait as there was only one person at the front desk.

The hotel has parking for $25/day which is pretty good considering the location of the hotel.

The room was equivalent to a 2 star motel at its best. The owners clearly don't care about the room. The furniture is old wood and looks like it was made in the 70's. The TV was an old CRT television with limited channels. Our windows did not close properly so bugs and stuff could get it and the sun was in my eye at 7am. The beds were extremely (I repeat, very much) uncomfortable. The pillows were so thin and no more than 1 inch in thickness. We were constantly woken up at night and early mornings by the sound of slamming doors and people talking the hallways. But who needs sleep in south beach. The room is dark and there are dark tiles on the floor and dark grey bed covers which makes it look very unappealing and has a hostel feel to it :(

Although the rooms were old and ugly they were clean. The bed sheets were clean and the bathroom was also clean buy very old. There was shampoo and soap in the washroom.

There is free WIFI internet in the room which was a bonus.

Overall the quality of the hotel was below average and I will not be staying here again. The hotel is great for groups of young people who want to go the beach and don't care about the room quality. However if you are on a budget and want to do sight seeing and spend little room in the room this place is ok. This hotel cost me a fraction of what the brand name hotels would charge so you get what you pay for and it want a fancy hotel try paying $600+ night for a 4 or 5 star hotel.

The Good:
- Location
- Friendly front desk staff
- Free Internet
- Safe in the room
- Price

The Bad:
- Ugly and old rooms
- Noisy rooms
- Uncomfortable beds and pillows

Room Tip: Ask for additional pillows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
port talbot
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

our room smelt of stale urins and boiled cabbage. Bedding was stained and worn. Bathroom needed a good scrub. Staff were friendly, bathroom was ok.

Room Tip: Not above reception better at back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regensburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

It is probably my fault to stay there during Spring Break and to expect to get sleep.
Of course I didn't get any....
The bad review ist for the management for not stopping the room sale to any of the European tour opererators that do not know about Spring Break.
We pais a lot od money for a flight to get to Miami and a lot of money in the hotel - we had the worst holiday ever.
Thank You!
I will not complain about roaches, missing room service, single room for two people for the first night (we booked two twins), because this place is not worth writing more about...

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

I read mixed reviews about this hotel.Our experince was not the best. Our rooms were on the second floor of the same building as the reception desk.The lobby is pleasant enough as were the reception staff. No lift, so cases had to be carried up a narrow staircase. The bedroom corridor has no soundproofing whatsoever with hard floors and bad lighting.There were no door closers on the bedroom doors.The bedrooms had hard tiled floors and wooden shutters.Both nights we got little sleep as you could hear everyone coming back from the bars in the middle of the night.Doors slamming constantly with loud conversations and laughter magnified to shouting levels and footsteps walking up and down. I would have got more sleep out on the street.The bedrooms,themselves,were both very small,expected with an old Art Deco hotel but they were clean.The decor is very shabby.Dark rough-wood furniture which looks like it was made by a chain-saw and too large for the small room.The worst part was the disgusting smell from the air-conditioning unit.We kept ours turned off. Maybe a good clean and a service would solve the problem.Uncomfortable beds and lumpy pillows.The bathroom was more pleasant to be in. The walk-in shower was fine. Although advertised, the bar and restaurant were never open.The continental breakfast is basic but it is included in the price of the room. You can eat this on the verandah alongside the street.On the second day, breakfast was not available until 20 minutes after the published 8 o'clock.

Room Tip: Avoid 2nd floor in the building above the reception desk
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

We finished off our holiday here for 1 night having spent a blissful 10 days in the Keys. Most of the reviews for this hotel were not great - apart from a few here and there, so I was concerned at the time of booking. The overall look of the reception area was good and all the staff that we dealt with were helpful. There was Wi Fi and free use of their computer. The room on the 3rd floor that we occupied was large enough and the bathroom was clean and reasonably tiled. I would agree with other reviewers that the furnishings were a bit naff as was the painted dolphin on the wall, but overall the room was fine. It is not being run as a resort style hotel. Instead it is run on simple lines which keeps costs down and considering its location I felt offered good value for money. The breakfast which consisted of Bread/toast, jam or honey, coffee and fruit was perfectly fine too. Not exciting but acceptable. If you want the extras that some of the better hotels offer, then you have to pay accordingly. One night was enough for us, because we discovered pretty quickly that we didn't buy into the whole South Beach thing (at 50+ too old!) although the art deco style was worth seeing. With no balcony or much outside space I felt that it was a hotel that you would be happy to put your head down for a night or two but not much more. Being older, and there during Spring break, we didn't party like a lot of the guests. Therewas a lot of noise in the corridors which woke us, but that is not the hotel's fault. We paid $25 for overnight parking which was reasonable compared to other operators.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

It is really hard to know where to begin. The website gives misinformation and untrue, representative photos. The first room offered to us the window was falling in, second room stunk horribly, third and final try our room was dark and dingy with big shutters on the windows to block out the buildings 4 feet away and ALL nature light. The linens were thread bare and I question if the bed spread had been changed for a new arrival. 9 channels does not constitute satellite TV and the continental breakfast was a joke-bread to toast an orange or a banana to peel. To get to our room we walked in another building and through the dining area. No restaurant or lounge/bar was operating as was advertised on the website. I was actually embarrassed to being staying there and would NEVER recommend anyone I know to this hotel. Very, very down market. On a positive note some (not all) of the staff were really quite nice/helpful and the beach is 5 minutes away.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Five Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Five Hotel

Address: 436 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > South Pointe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean Five Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an excellent Miami Beach location on Ocean Drive, in the Art Deco District, we are steps away from South Beach shopping, gourmet dining, a chic nightlife, and miles of golden Atlantic sand beaches. At the same time, here is the surprisingly tranquil area of well-known Ocean Drive, SoFi – South of Fifth. Within our Art Deco setting (origin, 1936) we welcome guests seeking an unpretentious, uncomplicated boutique hotel with attentive service. An Authentic Experience… the Essence of South Beach!Italian travertine marble floors, original artwork and handcrafted furniture in each guestroom and suite are enhanced by rich colors. South Florida views and the warm reception by our staff please all guests, and we offer complimentary daily breakfast and WiFi Internet. Conveniently located just 20 minutes from Miami International Airport (MIA) and 15 minutes from the Port of Miami. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Ocean Five Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean 5 Hotel
Ocean Five Miami Beach
Hotel Ocean Five

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Five Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.