We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“elegant small place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ithaca of South Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ithaca of South Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Ithaca of South Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   601 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 23 Miami Beach B&B and Inns
Beijing, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“elegant small place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

This is a very beautiful but small hotel. The deco looks like a SPA club something, making you feel relax and cozy. Staff friendly, we were given a glass of champagen when we check in. The room interior is modern and fashion. and the space is quite ok for a couple like us. Distance to south beach is about 5-8 min walk and you can ask for beach towel from reception. Generally this is a nice and convenience hotel. But somehow I feel that the online price might not be very best, we paid $300+ for one night.

Parking is indeed a headache. We driving around this hotel while just cannot find anywhere to park. They actually have a very limited parking area along a small road for temporary parking, then valet parking guy will drive your car to somewhere else. difficult for you if you first time to be there and don't know the valet parking area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca_SouthBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Ithaca of South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
It was a pleasure having you stay with us at Ithaca. Seems as if overall you enjoyed your stay. We do apologize about the parking situation. Currently the city is doing construction on sidewalks. The next time you come back we assure you the parking will be less complicated. Thank see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    67
    16
    7
    3
See reviews for
68
137
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moncton, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

The place does not look like much from Collins Ave (which is a mess right now due to construction) but once you're inside and climb the steps to the lobby, you see that it's a nice place. I was greeted by Deon and he showed me my room, very helpful guy. I got the small room at the end of the hall but I was alone so it was fine. It'd be small for two or more people though. The bed was very comfortable and the pillows and sheets were all clean and of quality. The washroom was awesome.. very modern and clean. Lots of nice towels. The breakfast was welcomed, as long as all you are looking for is a tea or coffee and a small breakfast. The lobby is tiny, so I took my stuff back to my room. The location is perfect for exploring south beach. Only a 2 min walk to the beach, and about the same for shopping and food, etc. I stayed here for two nights at a pretty good price (south beach scale of course) and I enjoyed the stay very much. I would def look at staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca_SouthBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Ithaca of South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at Ithaca of South Beach. Glad you found us to be perfectly located. Happy to hear that we met your standards in cleanliness. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murfreesboro,Tn
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We arrived at the hotel and had to park at a designated spot. The attendant was rude yelling at us to back up. We had to carry our bags to the front door. They had a elevator just for the luggage. The stairs were steep. The reception was nice and the room was beautiful. Milo was very helpful. The breakfast area was very small and with a family there we had very little room. Overall the cost didn't make the stay worthwhile. The rude attendant ruined it. Our second night was at the Clinton. It was cheaper they had a pull off for the car. And a nice bar down stairs. It a better choice!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca_SouthBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Ithaca of South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for leaving a review. We apologize about the valet parking attendant, we use a third party valet service. The initial incident probably tainted the rest of your stay. We do thank you for your comment about the rooms and of our staff. We wish to see you again. We offer you a special discounted rate for future stay. Please contact Sammy directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

This was a very nice place. A little bit expensive, but is Miami beach! We can ear the noise from the outside, not that much since it was far enough from the Ocean Drive. We can ear also everything from the hallway. Very beatiful, very clean. Breakfast was good for the american pattern and you can bring to the bedroom.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca_SouthBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Ithaca of South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you so much for leaving a review about your stay at Ithaca of South Beach. Glad to hear you enjoyed the breakfast and would love for you to visit again. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Where to start... Having literally just gotten off a 4 day cruise (and completely exhausted)the Mrs & I arrived at Ithaca South Beach slightly unsure of what to expect. From street level, it didnt exactly look the most enticing as there was a lot of road work being done outside on the main strip. We placed our luggage into the old-school, pull-door lift and closed the door praying it would get us to the next floor safely.

To our surprise, when we got to the main level of the hotel, we were most pleasantly surprised! Beautiful art splayed all over the walls of the tiny, quaint hotel. We were quickly greeted by Manny (sammy?) the concierge who thoughtlessly offered to watch all of our luggage and belongings as well as setting us up with beach towels. (the beach is literally right behind the hotel)

Every evening, the hotel holds a happy hour with wine, various cheeses and a small selection of fruits (which definitely came in handy after walking around south beach all day) and when it came to night life, the staff here have you MORE than covered.

Dion.. Dion is the head concierge of Ithaca and this man is the KING of South Beach nightlife. No matter what type of environment youre looking for, this man will hook you UP! Our first night with them, Dion took time out from his personal life to tour us around the main strip and showcase the more popular establishments in the area. Little did we know, the best was yet to come...

Our last day at Ithaca was personally catered to us by Dion and he catered it to perfection! (we found out he was our brother from Miami we never knew we had!) At breakfast, he made sure that there was enough food left over for the Mrs & I (knowing we tended to sleep in a bit later than the other guests) and informed me that he had a VERY special evening planned for our last night in the city.

Dion had reserved us a VIP spot at one of the hotter clubs in South Beach but informed us that we would only be let in if we 'looked the part'. He pointed us in the direction of some of the nicer brunch spots around and told us to be prepared for a night for the books..

To our surprise, Dion arranged for the Mrs to get personally dressed by a celebrity fashion designer and boy did that man deliver! Dressed to kill, Dion the Mrs and myself all went out to the lounge and were blown away at how quickly we were whisked from the street right into the center of the lounge and right into a private booth..

All in all, was definitely a trip for the books.. NEVER have I EVER been shown such hospitality and kindness from a complete stranger as i was shown by the man, the legend that is DION from ITHACA SOUTH BEACH.

Thank you from the bottom of our hearts, Dion, and we look forward to seeing you again later this year when we return!

best wishes and love from your extended family in TORONTO!

J & J

Room Tip: ask for DION!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca_SouthBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Ithaca of South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at Ithaca of South Beach. Dion is our head concierge and always goes the extra mile for our guest. All of our staff try their best to execute any guest request. Its wonderful that you enjoyed your night out and took advantage of our personal concierge services. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wieselburg, Austria
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

One of the best hotels in South Beach! On the first view from outside, it does not look like a hotel or even nice, but.. if you go upstairs you feel immediately like home. Very friendly nice and warm welcome from Agata. Had a big a quiet room, very modern, full of nice accessoires and amenities, very stylish. The breakfast area is very little, but actually enough and the breakfast itself is quite ok, for sure better then in other hotels in US. There are many possibilites to go for breakfast in short distance. The best is the "News Cafe". Very friendly and helpful staff. Especially Agata, Dion and the other receptionist, I dont remember his name. The housekeeping was cleaning the room and all areas very thoroughly. And the nice "socializing hour" in the evening with wine, cheese and fruit is a very nice service from the hotel. We got a massage treatment arranged in the room in short notice. Also excursions were offered and arranged. The only negative thing which has to be changed by the owner are the doors to the rooms. They are thin like paper, so you can hear everything in the corridor and reception area and they are closing very loud. If we come to South Beach again, we will stay there again!

Room Tip: 105 is a quiet, big and very nice stylish room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca_SouthBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Ithaca of South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. So Happy to hear you enjoyed your time at Ithaca of south Beach. all of our staff try hard to ensure that our guest enjoy their time away from home. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a quiet, modern and relaxing place to stay. Rooms are very beautiful and clean. Location is excellent. Only one block from the beach and close to many beautiful shops. Staff is very nice and friendly. Agata was so helpful and kind, I felt like home.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca_SouthBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Ithaca of South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at Ithaca of South Beach. Perfection is what we aim for, love to hear positive feedback about the property. It ensures the staff that we doing a great job and making a difference. Will be delighted to have you stay with us again soon, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ithaca of South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ithaca of South Beach Hotel

Address: 601 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ithaca of South Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ithaca of South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ithaca of South Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.