We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything Brand-new, Gorgeous Design, Friendly Staff, 1 Block from the Beach - AWESOME!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ithaca of South Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ithaca of South Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Hotels.com
and 5 more sites!
Ithaca of South Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   601 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% Off Entire Stay
Ranked #1 of 20 Miami Beach B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Everything Brand-new, Gorgeous Design, Friendly Staff, 1 Block from the Beach - AWESOME!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

My mom and I stayed at Ithaca for 5 nights and loved everything about our stay.

The rooms are super spacious and look even better in reality than on pictures (the manager told me these exact words when I was booking my reservation, and I didn't think that was possible, but it's true).

The beautiful public beach is 1 block away. You can rent chairs and umbrellas there or just relax on your towel. It wasn't at all crowed and seemed very clean. Also Ithaca is 1 block away from the Ocean Dr. with all kinds of restaurants.

The hotel is located on Collins Ave. which is great for shopping. Zara, Mango, Club Monaco, Tommy Hilfinger are literary across the street.

Free breakfast was offered in the lobby and it consisted of very tasty pastries and croissants, toast, meat and cheese platter, coffee and juices. Also between 6 and 7 PM they offered wine and cheese with crackers (delicious wine, different kind every day).

The manager was extremely nice to us. The front desk staff and maids were always friendly as well. Another huge plus of this boutique hotel - it has only 11 rooms so you very rarely meet (or hear) other people even though it was sold out at the time of our stay.

Google TV with free Netflix, Pandora, and Internet access was great. Free Wi-Fi worked perfect as well. There is a fridge in the room which is free to use as long as you don't touch the mini-bar stuff inside. They provide shampoo, conditioner, and good oatmeal soap (but no shower gel).

Some minor things to consider before your stay:
- no hairdryers/iron in the room, but they are available at the front desk;
- there is a $ 25 charge for each lost room-key;
- no restroom in the lobby (after check out we had to use a public one 1 block away)
- no luggage room, although they were very nice to let us leave our luggage right in front of the reception for pretty much the whole day.

Overall the best hotel I ever stayed at. Please check out my pictures!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    136
    48
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
48
98
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I spent only one night with a friend, I think it was September 13, a Thursday night with another friend of mine. I never wrote a review in my life, but I had to write one now. It is probabily the cleanest, the most quiet hotel in South Beach. Rooms are big, modern and very clean, the help was great, they just opened. Champagne on arrival, breakfast ready, a gift to take home. Most of all, it only has 11 rooms, but not bulked up so you can hear somebody snooring next door. The walls seem thick, so you can have a good rest after a long night.
I hope they keep it the same and they should hold each customer accountable for any damage or iresponsible behaviour. I can't wait to get a discount from the owner next time I am going down!:) I am sure I had a discounted price as they just opened.
Great job!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed here on our honeymoon and were incredibly well looked after- champagne, beach towels.........The location is great - 2 minutes from South Beach, the room was lovely - big, really fresh, funky design. Free buffet breakfast was a really nice touch.

The staff were excellent - really helpful and friendly without being in your face.

Also google tv in the room is really cool!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

My friends and I stayed there on labor day weekend. The staff was nice, great price, good location. The room was clean and the beds are very comfortable. They gave ye complimentary champagne and a free gift because they had just opened up. We enjoyed our stay and it wasn't expensive at all. I would highly recommend thus place!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chuck C, General Manager at Ithaca of South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for your recent response regarding your stay at the Ithaca Hotel on South Beach.We look forward to your next visit to our property when in Miami.

Chuck Castiglia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aventura, Florida
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Conveniently located near stores such as Zara, Tommy Hilfiger and Mac, and only one short block away from Ocean Drive and the beach, this new boutique hotel has very modern amenities and décor, and has an enthusiastic manager who greeted us upon our arrival and talked to us, and staff members who assisted us with our luggage and throughout our stay. There is a family-feel to this hotel and the check-in process is very different from the traditional (long) ones.

Our room (two double beds) was spacious and had a pleasant aromatizing scent. Its décor was very modern and the room’s flat screen TV (carries Dish Network) also had a free Internet access feature, Web TV. We took advantage of it since the remote was very easy to use; we went on Google, Pandora, and even on YouTube for karaoke! There is also free wi-fi for those carrying a laptop.

The room also had an alarm clock with an iPod/MP3 dock (great sound), a phone, a work desk, two sofas, three lamps, a mini refrigerator (with two complimentary water bottles), a large mirror, in-room safe, and numerous pillows on the comfortable beds (linen and cushions were top quality as well). There were robes and slippers on the room’s cabinet. The bathroom (with a hair dryer) was very spacious and nicely decorated, as the rest of the room. From our balcony we could even see the beach!

From 8:00 a.m. to 10:00 a.m. there is breakfast in the lobby with coffee, tea, orange and cranberry juice, and delicious pastries from the nearby restaurant Manolo’s, where we went for lunch several times (excellent pizzas). During the day, in the lobby there’s fresh water with a hint of lime/lemon and green apples that come in handy before going out for a walk. Underneath the hotel there is a large souvenir shop that is extremely convenient for tourists since all sorts of souvenirs. Ithaca is also within walking distance of Lincoln Road and Española Way. It was a very enjoyable stay and we would definitely come back and recommend it to our family members and friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chuck C, General Manager at Ithaca of South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for your recent response regarding your stay at the Ithaca Hotel on South Beach.We look forward to your next visit to our property when in Miami.

Chuck Castiglia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ithaca of South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ithaca of South Beach Hotel

Address: 601 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ithaca of South Beach Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Ithaca of South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ithaca of South Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.