We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very happy experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dorchester Hotel

Save Saved
You added Dorchester Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dorchester Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1850 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 200 Hotels in Miami Beach
Bangalore, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A very happy experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

I spent three nights at this excellent hotel, at $69 (plus resort fee $10 & taxes) per night, on a travelzoo deal. The room was immaculate, with wooden flooring et al, a nice work table, the bathroom was spick n span. Breakfast cost $14 or so but it was worth it. The resort fee includes wi-fi (as well as umbrellas which I didn't use!) so I found it value for money. There's also a pc + printer in the pleasing art deco lobby for your boarding pass. Silvanna at the front desk was very helpful with my sightseeing queries. The location is outstanding, with lively Lincoln junction less than 10 mts.' walk away, having plenty of stores for all your needs. You'll also find a neat little cafe, Dolce Vita serving affordable breakfast & eats. A little ahead & you hit the beach. Buses go to downtown & airport from outside the hotel itself. All in all, I had a gem of a stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jvalera, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2010
Dear RAMAKRISHNAPAI,

It makes us so happy to know that we were the right destination for you. We are constantly looking for ways to better cater to our guests, and when it came to you, we were the perfect fit. I am looking forward to being able to continue providing this service, and hopefully you will be able to visit us soon. I will personally let all those responsible for you having a great stay know how you felty about us.

Sincerely,
Juan-Manuel Valera III
Asst. General Manager
jvalera@gomiamibeach.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    297
    174
    64
    74
See reviews for
208
220
20
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

What a little treasure at a very modest price. The rooms are fantastic (just as discribed in Dorchester homepage) and all updated.The property is lovely and $1 nightly happy hour is fantastic. The property is surrounded by more expensive hotels, however, at $69/nt, what a steal. It is only few blocks from the Lincoln Road shops and restaurants and within easy access to Bayside Marketplace and other downtown locations. Perfect place for a pre/post cruise stay. Cannot wait to come back again, again, again!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jvalera, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2010
Dear LEOKRI,

It seems that we were what you were looking for in South Beach. It fills us with joy to know you were so pleased with our concept of hospitality. We take our guests'experience seriously, and I truly hope you and your friends will soon revisit us--again and again!
Sincerely,
Juan-Manuel Valera III
Asst. General Manager
jvalera@gomiamibeach.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

We got a deal for $69 a night via travelzoo, but parking is an additional $25 a night and there's a "resort fee" of $10 a night added on as well. When you think of it as a $105 a night hotel, it was ok. I wouldn't spend anymore than that.

The rooms are nothing like what they show on the website, but were still ok. We had to change rooms twice-- the first one smelled so strongly of antiseptic (like Lysol), that it gave us headaches and we felt like we were being poisoned. The second room smelled ok but the sheets were pulled out and didn't look clean. The third room we got was clean and smelled fine. The room was small and things seemed a little old. Not much water pressure for the shower in the tiny bathroom. No counter space for toiletries either.

Internet access in the rooms is $12.95 a night, but there seems to be free wireless in the lobby and on the patio. The pool seemed unappealing and we didn't use it. There's breakfast for $15 off the lobby but we didn't try that either. The whole lobby had a weird antiseptic smell.

Overall, it was just ok. I definitely wouldn't spend more than I did with the discount. It's just an average to not-so-great hotel, a little old and worn. But it's not terrible either if you want to stay in that neighborhood. Service was ok- the only interaction we had was with the front desk when getting our keys.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jvalera, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2010
Dear TRAVELFAN_GK,

As I read your comments, I see that your stay had some room for improvement, and for this I would like to apologize. For us, it never comes down to price, but to the guest's perception of our service. Although you had little to no interaction with our staff, there is also a silent level of interaction on what is expected of us. I would like to take this opportunity to invite you back to stay with us, and for price not to be a factor; I am personally interested in making your expectations our number one priority. Please come back and see us.

Sincerely,

Juan-Manuel Valera III
Asst. General Manager
jvalera@gomiamibeach.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, VA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

As with many hotels in south Beach, it's an old rehabed place. Nothing wrong with that. The rooms are a bit below average size and nicely, if sparsely, appointed. the staff couldn't have been nicer. We stayed there (two nights) because we got an internet deal; I wanted to show my wife where I lived for a semester with my grandfather when I started at the ".U" (it is now the News Cafe), so we don't feel ripped off. However, the hallways are not air conditioned. On a scorcher day, you would work up a sweat getting to the lobby. There was a nice big flat screen TV in the room. However, you would never know it from the reception. I was told that it is like that in the entire place. There were a minimal selection of channels and at least half were kids channels. Who takes kids to South Beach!?. Parking is a chore and they charge $25/night. In the room internet service is #12.95/day, but it free on the patio! The in house fitness center doesn't open till 10 am, because it;'s use would wake up guests on that floor. however, the facility at their sister hotel across the street is available at all hours.
Not the hotel's fault, but Ocean Drive is a bummer, at least in the off season. Very Honky Tonk. Every restaurant has a hawker and they all offer "deals," each one with a caveat. If you are a mature couple, there are much better values.
Since it's rehab, South Beach has always been a bit madcap, but it used to have class.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jvalera, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2010
Dear BERNIECOHEN,

Revisiting a place like Miami Beach may have been hard after many years, but as someone who sees the daily change here, I can say that even those that left only a couple of years ago, may experience similar impressions. I would like to add however, that Miami Beach is changing for the better. From streets, to buildings, to hotels, something new is alwas taking place, and at the Dorchester we love being close enough to it all. It makes me happy to know you found our staff to be frinedly, as we aim for this to be a permamanent watermark on all our guests'experience. We hope that next time you want to remember your old days at the "U", you still choose us, and that all the hustle and bustle you experienced does not define your next visit.

Sincerely,
Juan-Manuel Valera III
Asst. General Manager
jvalera@gomiamibeach.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

Meand a friend stayed here for a short weekend and was expecting to see a nice hotel as stated on the website. First we booked a one bedroom suite which was cool, however the bathroom was so small, had to hold the tiolet handle, and the air conditioning did not work in the bedroom.. I just thought that we needed to put it on high but no the hotel has it set at LOW.. My biggest problem was the resort fee and the "FREE Happy Hour".. They charge you $4 a day to use the beach towels, go in the DIRTY heated pool- with DISGUSTING pool chairs and view of the construction workers next door, free happy hour and other amenties. The problem is happy hour is not free $ you pay $1 for vodka and cranberry juice, that is the only drink offered and 50% off other drinks. What happened to FREE!!! No continential breakfast unless you want to pay $12 for toast, tea and fruit and my phone in the room did not work.. I wouldn't recommend this place. Only plus is the location, they are semi-close to ocean drive with bars, if you don't mind walking...

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jvalera, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2010
Dear LALA1082,

To us nothing is more important than assuring the quality of your stay and your return. I feel that we could have communicated specific aspects of our hotel features a bit better. Our resort fee gives you access to our Marseilles Hotel Oceanfront Beach Club on 1741 Collins Ave., as well as free internet, and a happy hour that at a dollar per drink, and 50% off top shelf and well, is basically free. Perhpas we should have been a bit more explicit on that, and for this, we apologize. As to breakfast, not all hotels offer free continental breakfast, however for a couple of dollars more than the $12 you mention, you could have delighted yourself with our entire bread, fruit, yogurt, homestyle potatoes, sausage, bacon, french toast, pancakes, pastries...Getting hungry already! We offer one of the most affordable and succulent breakfast buffets on South Beach. We hope that the plus side of your stay allows you to choose us once more. We learn everyday from our guests'feedback, and we hope that next time you are back we can service you once more.
Sincerely,
Juan-Manuel Valera III
Asst. General Manager
jvalera@gomiamibeach.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010 via mobile

Chaos at check in, rooms not ready or rooms supposed to be ready under refurbishiing, yes, and massive construction going on. Swimming pool closed. Be prepared to pay $ 25 for parking per day. Slow and chaotic service front desk.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jvalera, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2010
Dear RSWG,
First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write about our hotel. We strive to ensure that all our guests enjoy the best experience possible, all the time. Nevertheless, we also understand when things do not go as expected. We would like to kindly point out that we are not undergoing any construction, and that we are not responsible for being located in a growing, bustling city, that everyone wishes to invest in and visit--otherwise modern cities would never exist. We go out of our way to offer the services of our sister property, the Marseilles Hotel, to shelter our guests from the inconvenience of Miami Beach's momentous growth wave. As to our check in, we would like to apologize. It is always convenient to receive all the attention at a front desk when we register, yet at times, we cannot prevent ourselves form having several check- ins at once, yet we understand how this may slow down the start of your vacation. Please understand that our only aim is to provide the best service and the best room product in Miami. I invite you to contact me, and try our hospitality once more.

Sincerely,
Juan-Manuel Valera III
Asst. General Manager
jvalera@gomiamibeach.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bologna
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for about a week in August, the staff was immediately very helpful in helping us everything we needed, but most of all those who showed us great hospitality and sensitivity Jose Pereira was at the reception, it was made fully available to help find lost luggage talking with the locals and has advised us the best places to eat and visit the city .... a ten service and praise, really again thanks to Jose.

Esther Buccirossi

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jvalera, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2010
Dear magnaaula,

Thank you for your sincere comments; I will personally let José know of this. We strive to be the friendliest hotel in Miami Beach, and yes, José, as well as all our staff, are up to the task. Our staff is not only local, but also enjoy letting our guests know about the best places to visit and eat. Traveling from a country that receives so many tourists each year, it makes us extremely happy to know that you felt welcomed here. We hope to see you soon.
Sincerely,
Juan-Manuel Valera III
Asst. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dorchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorchester Hotel

Address: 1850 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 200 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dorchester Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a tranquil courtyard setting across from the beach; three blocks from the Historic District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dorchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorchester Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dorchester Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.