We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful but, pricey.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dorchester Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Dorchester Hotel to your Saves list
Dorchester Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1850 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #135 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Loganville, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Beautiful but, pricey.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Loved the atmosphere, the room was really nice,but too close to the lobby. We heard people in the lobby and could also hear the people partying all night long. They serve breakfast there but it is way to expensive. It cost 33.00 a day to park in their parking lot which has limited parking and we had no hot water in our shower. Other than that the staff was very friendly and we had an awesome time taking in the sites.

  • Stayed February 2016, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank P9003JQangelar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I had my doubts because the hotel has some negative reviews on tripadvisor. However, my stay was very nice. It's a good hotel for a stay of 3 or 4 days. It has not many services and it's a bit old. But it was clean. The location is awesome. Very close to lincoln road.

  • Stayed January 2016, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pablo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher G, Operations Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
WOW!! We are stoked to read your 5 star review Pablo V!!! We are delighted that you had such a great time with us here at Dorchester!! The location of our property is prime as well, and we are glad that you enjoyed it! I see that you were content with the cleanliness as well! We hope to see you again soon! :)

Christopher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I booked this hotel because it was a great value for the location. We paid $89 per night plus all the taxes and resort fee (booked right on their website and had a AAA discount). The staff was great, and helped us with every question we had. They also allowed us to check in several hours early, since we had just gotten off a cruise we were there early and wanted to freshen up. Not sure what the room looked like that we booked, but they said we were given an upgrade to a Jr Suite.

Breakfast a bit expensive, but no more so than any other place on SB. The food was good. We really loved the pool, I wasn't expecting such a small, boutique hotel to have such a large pool. And it was WARM! We swam for about 2 hours with our 3 year old son and never got cold.

Location was great also, we could walk to take the bus everywhere we wanted to go.

Only negative point was the noise, we were in room 105 and it's right against the street. The windows don't seem to block much noise, it's pretty loud. The normal street noise isn't bad, we could get used to that. But several times there were emergency vehicles blasting by with their sirens on, and it sounds like they are coming right through your room!

Overall, we really liked this hotel, especially for the price. I would ask for a room away from the road next time, but definitely wouldn't hesitate to stay here again!

Room Tip: Stay away from streetfront rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2016, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tjstyphon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher G, Operations Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Lucky Day tjstphon! Doesn't always happen with the upgrade but so glad you enjoyed it and that it made a memorable impact for you! Due to the location of the room there tends to be a bit more noise, to the rooms that face the street. Some guests are not bothered by it and rather want to the view, while others are light sleepers and are inconvenienced by it. If we were aware of this while you were in house, we would have moved you another room immediately!! We look forward to continuing that tradition of excellence on your next stay!

Christopher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm County, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Rather Clean room but should be renovated.
The breakfast was not worth paying for and a little too complicated selections.
Good position near beach and center. Noisy suroundings were some
building should be renovated to.

Room Tip: Noisy back yard (Construction works)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2016, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ulf L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher G, Operations Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello there Ulf L,

Thank you for the time you took to provide us with your honest feedback!! I see that you were content with the cleanliness of your room! I will definitely make sure to share your suggestion about the renovation to the General Manager. We apologize that you were not completely satisfied with the breakfast. I wish that you could have been a bit more descriptive as to what was wrong. We are always trying to fix the kinks and constructive feedback allows us to do just that.

Christopher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is not a good hotel to stay in! There is some construction going on next to to the hotel and they start at 7 AM. So if you need to sleep late, unfortunately that is not an option!
Moreover, they will put random charges on the credit card after you have checked and you have to call the multiple times to get it reverted!

Best advice: Stay away from this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2016, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bpinaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher G, Operations Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Good Morning bpinaki,

We are sorry about the noise, but we are unable to control construction on Miami Beach, however, the law states that construction cannot start until 8 AM. Now that it is finished, there should be minimal noise coming from our neighboring property. Of course we do not put random charges on the credit card. The hotel will charge you for any additional incidental charges you might have, such as food or drink, or parking charges if you have a car, but it is illegal and against the law to randomly charge a room any charges that the guest did not make. We are sorry if you experienced difficulties at check out.

Christopher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited Miami and The Dorchester for a medical conference. Despite the bad reviews I booked it because of its convenient location on Collins and close to the conference venue. Upon entering I was impressed bij the courtyard and lobby. Check in was smooth and staff was friendly. Room was very small and bathroom extremely outdated which was in stark contrast with the room. Tiny sink anything but clean. But than again...location was good. But when I visited the gym my disappointment was complete. A small densely packed space with faulty equipment. No towels, no watercooler and a malfunctioning TV. Definitely a good use for the resort fee!
Overall my stay was OK and the staff was friendly and helpfull. The resort fee they should abolish and is an insult to the already paying guests.

  • Stayed January 2016, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrRobert78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher G, Operations Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hello there DrRobert78,

Thank you for sharing your honest feedback with us, regarding your recent experience here at Dorchester!! We are located in the heart of South Beach, just a convenient walk from the Convention Center. I see that you were content with the courtyard, lobby, staff and how smooth the check in process was. I am sorry that you were not stoked with certain things here at the hotel. I have already informed the General Manager about this, so that he is aware. We are always trying to fix the kinks here, and constructive feedback allows us to do just that.

Christopher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is a piece of crap. They slapped lipstick on a pig. It's an old motel or cheap apartment complex and they redid the lobby. The bathrooms have not been remodeled. The shower trickles water. The drawers in the bed room are broken. Our room faces a construction site and I was awoken at 630am to jack hammers and guys screaming in Spanish. I tried to switch rooms and they refused and showed no sympathy or concern.

Stayed January 2016, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Balkesc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher G, Operations Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Good Evening Balkesc,

We are terribly sorry for the less then enjoyable experience that you had with us here at Dorchester. Every single room has been renovated and redesigned with all new hardwood floors, new furniture, new flat screen televisions. We are sorry that we did not meet your standards. The noise was from some construction going on at another property on Miami Beach, completely out of our control, and we do apologize for that, although there was nothing we could do to make it quieter. We do thank you for sharing your honest feedback with us, and all of our future guests!!

Christopher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Marseilles Hotel
Marseilles Hotel
#129 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 905 reviews
Thompson Miami Beach
#5 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,191 reviews
Circa 39 Hotel
#46 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#85 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 3,529 reviews
Chesterfield Hotel
#71 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,371 reviews
City Center
Albion South Beach
Albion South Beach
#82 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorchester Hotel

Address: 1850 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Dorchester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a tranquil courtyard setting across from the beach; three blocks from the Historic District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Dorchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorchester Hotel Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing