We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent hotel, but I have a couple of complaints...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dorchester Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Dorchester Hotel to your Saves list
Dorchester Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1850 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #119 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
West Hollywood, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A decent hotel, but I have a couple of complaints...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I found the Dorchester Hotel to be a decent hotel with daily rates that are relatively inexpensive by South Beach standards, but I do have a couple of complaints.

We checked in at 4:15 pm but were told to wait 45 minutes before going up to our room because the housekeeping staff had not yet got around to cleaning our room. At 5:15 pm, I went up to our room, and the maid was still cleaning the room!

A previous reviewer called the parking charges "reasonable". I'm sorry, but I do not consider $29 a day to park at a hotel which you are staying at, "resonable"... I'd call it "outrageous"! After one night, I removed my car from the hotel's overpriced parking lot and parked it in the City of Miami Beach Municipal Parking Lot, which is 5 blocks away and costs $16 a day.

Additionally, the price charged by the hotel for their breakfast buffet ($28 for two people with tax and tip) is what I would call a blatant rip-off. The eggs were rubbery, the bacon was dry, the toast was burnt, and the coffee was disgusting. The management of this hotel should be ashamed of themselves for charging so much money for such crap!

The "resort fee" of $15 per person is also a bit excessive. All you get for this fee is use of beach towel, a beach chair, and an umbrella at the Marseilles' (The sister hotel of the Dorchester) designated section on the beach. (See photos for views looking north, and south on Miami Beach, just off of the 18th Street entrance)

Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    359
    227
    85
    86
See reviews for
262
284
22
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paterson, New Jersey
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

The inside was decent the pool was a nice size could use a bit more lighting at night though might help to deter the rats we saw going up & down the pipes on the side on hotel also saw some on the lower roof by the pool bar counter on top of that there's a huuuuge possum living in the massive tree by the walkway from their side parking lot

Stayed June 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My family & I stayed here in June 2015 on our holidays from Ireland. We were greeted by Mauricio & Francisco who were really friendly and welcoming. They organised tours for the duration of our holiday (to the Everglades, City Tour & Island Cruise tour) which were all brilliant. Alain brought our bags to our room and called my son his friend every time we met him throughout the hotel.
The room was really nice, clean & fresh. Breakfast was buffet and delicious.
The location is perfect for the beach, Ocean Drive, shopping & restaurants all in walking distance. The pool & surrounding area was brilliant & Happy Hour was a bonus!!
The parking was very convenient & not expensive.
Thank you to all the staff at the Dorchester Hotel for making our stay a memorable one.

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrej B, Guest Relations Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
I wanted to thank you for sharing your impression of the Dorchester Hotel. I couldn’t be more pleased to see that we’ve exceeded your expectation during your recent visit. I will pass on the commendation to Francisco, Mauricio and Alain personally. We strive to provide a relaxing atmosphere, comfortable accommodations and friendly service. We are thrilled that you’ve had a great time with us and we hope to welcome you back on your next trip to South Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida, Usa
Level Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A lot of mixed reviews on this place but honestly it was a great stay. The room was very clean. The room was small but not complaint at all with that. I was walking distance to everything i needed being that i was there for a convention. The bar downstairs was great and we absolutely loved our bartender who was great and a lot of fun. I would definitely return to this hotel especially after finding that this place was pretty nice. The staff were very nice.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrej B, Guest Relations Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for the great review. Indeed, we are in the heart of it all, close to the restaurants, bars, pedestrian zones, and the Miami Beach Convention Center. I am glad to see that you have enjoyed our 1850 bar and the service we provided. Thanks for writing. It was a pleasure to have you and we can’t wait to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and i moved over to this hotel after a HORRIBLE stay down the street at the Lorrraine Hotel(Motel). From the very first entrance on the property, Carlos ( the bellman) greeted and welcomed us to the facility. He immediately took care of our bags and guided us to the property people. Parking was affordable and convenient. Beach towels, chairs, free wifi, ice, happy hour bar specials, and a beautiful pool are all very very welcomed amenities. Our room was clean, modern, and comfortable.....although we typically don't spend a great deal of time in the room. I(we) will most definately be back!!!! Bravo Carlos and the staff at Dorchester!!!! Vicki and David from Washington, DC

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrej B, Guest Relations Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Vicki and David,
Thank you for the glowing review of our Hotel. It is our greatest pleasure to see that you had such a great time with us. I am glad to see that you were able to take advantage of our convenient parking, beach service, and one of the best happy hours around. I personally passed the kind comments to Carlos and the helpful staff. Sincere thanks from all of us for your kind words and excellent review. We look forward to seeing you when you visit Miami Beach again. Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The room was perfect. The staff were amazing. The pool was refreshing. The only problem was the so called " Continental Breakfast". I looked up the word and it says "that some hotels offer FREE breakfast" but Dorchester was not part of that "some", which is a bummer to pay 14.99 for a self-served, mediocre beakfast. Yet, the next day, I payed $16 for a salmon /eggs Benedict , served with fruits on the side and a free mimosa at a Catalina's restaurant. I wouldn't do "Continental Breakfast" again but I will definitely book the hotel at my next stay in Dorchester.

Stayed June 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrej B, Guest Relations Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for staying with us at the Dorchester Hotel South Beach, and thank you for the generous comments about our staff, room, and pool area. I apologize that the breakfast options offered did not meet your expectations. Indeed, there are many options for breakfast and dining due to our great location in the heart of South Beach, with many places just walking distance from the hotel. We will be thrilled to have you back, so we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Service great room awesome one bedroom suite phenomal much space for two adults and a child. Pool area nice not sure what people are complaining about when they say bad things. Good local. Plenty of places to eat.

Stayed June 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrej B, Guest Relations Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking your time to post such a nice review. Its our greatest pleasure to see that your family had a great time staying with us in one of our spacious suites. Whenever you come to the area I hope you'll keep us in mind and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Dorchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorchester Hotel

Address: 1850 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dorchester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a tranquil courtyard setting across from the beach; three blocks from the Historic District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Dorchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorchester Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dorchester Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.