We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok hotel but looket and felt worned down” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dorchester Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Dorchester Hotel to your Saves list
Dorchester Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1850 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #136 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Stockholm County, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ok hotel but looket and felt worned down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Rather Clean room but should be renovated.
The breakfast was not worth paying for and a little too complicated selections.
Good position near beach and center. Noisy suroundings were some
building should be renovated to.

Room Tip: Noisy back yard (Construction works)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2016, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ulf L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher G, Operations Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Hello there Ulf L,

Thank you for the time you took to provide us with your honest feedback!! I see that you were content with the cleanliness of your room! I will definitely make sure to share your suggestion about the renovation to the General Manager. We apologize that you were not completely satisfied with the breakfast. I wish that you could have been a bit more descriptive as to what was wrong. We are always trying to fix the kinks and constructive feedback allows us to do just that.

Christopher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is not a good hotel to stay in! There is some construction going on next to to the hotel and they start at 7 AM. So if you need to sleep late, unfortunately that is not an option!
Moreover, they will put random charges on the credit card after you have checked and you have to call the multiple times to get it reverted!

Best advice: Stay away from this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2016, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bpinaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher G, Operations Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Good Morning bpinaki,

We are sorry about the noise, but we are unable to control construction on Miami Beach, however, the law states that construction cannot start until 8 AM. Now that it is finished, there should be minimal noise coming from our neighboring property. Of course we do not put random charges on the credit card. The hotel will charge you for any additional incidental charges you might have, such as food or drink, or parking charges if you have a car, but it is illegal and against the law to randomly charge a room any charges that the guest did not make. We are sorry if you experienced difficulties at check out.

Christopher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited Miami and The Dorchester for a medical conference. Despite the bad reviews I booked it because of its convenient location on Collins and close to the conference venue. Upon entering I was impressed bij the courtyard and lobby. Check in was smooth and staff was friendly. Room was very small and bathroom extremely outdated which was in stark contrast with the room. Tiny sink anything but clean. But than again...location was good. But when I visited the gym my disappointment was complete. A small densely packed space with faulty equipment. No towels, no watercooler and a malfunctioning TV. Definitely a good use for the resort fee!
Overall my stay was OK and the staff was friendly and helpfull. The resort fee they should abolish and is an insult to the already paying guests.

  • Stayed January 2016, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrRobert78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher G, Operations Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hello there DrRobert78,

Thank you for sharing your honest feedback with us, regarding your recent experience here at Dorchester!! We are located in the heart of South Beach, just a convenient walk from the Convention Center. I see that you were content with the courtyard, lobby, staff and how smooth the check in process was. I am sorry that you were not stoked with certain things here at the hotel. I have already informed the General Manager about this, so that he is aware. We are always trying to fix the kinks here, and constructive feedback allows us to do just that.

Christopher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is a piece of crap. They slapped lipstick on a pig. It's an old motel or cheap apartment complex and they redid the lobby. The bathrooms have not been remodeled. The shower trickles water. The drawers in the bed room are broken. Our room faces a construction site and I was awoken at 630am to jack hammers and guys screaming in Spanish. I tried to switch rooms and they refused and showed no sympathy or concern.

Stayed January 2016, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Balkesc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher G, Operations Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Good Evening Balkesc,

We are terribly sorry for the less then enjoyable experience that you had with us here at Dorchester. Every single room has been renovated and redesigned with all new hardwood floors, new furniture, new flat screen televisions. We are sorry that we did not meet your standards. The noise was from some construction going on at another property on Miami Beach, completely out of our control, and we do apologize for that, although there was nothing we could do to make it quieter. We do thank you for sharing your honest feedback with us, and all of our future guests!!

Christopher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2015

I booked this hotel after reading the reviews on trip advisor. As you all know some writers can be very harsh about how they review a hotel, me being in the hospitality industry as well i look for other things. Ok lets star with the hotel main entrance...its on the corner and not actually on collins. It looks a little strange duet construction going on right across the street. When you walk inside the hotel the front desk on really small and theres usually a wait due to there only being one person at the desk. After checking in we were given a room on the 3rd floor room 324. Th elevator is super old and moves very slow. Upon entering our room i wasn't impressed at all the room looked very plain noting special about it at all! the TV had to be the size of a desktop, he beds were double beds and not queen size. The shower still had a tub (Very old looking) our room faced the construction going on and last but not least the wifi keeps keeping you off. Did i forget the mention theres a $17 resort fee? if i did there you go. Moving on to the lobby it is very outdated the pool didn't have any towels out we had to ask the front desk for it (Not sure where this resort fee is going). After leaving the pool we wanted to go to the beach and had to walk 2 blocks to the Mersellies hotel in order to use the beach there with some vouchers that was giving to us at the hotel. This place isn't worth staying at unless your just looking for a place to lay your head and leave.

Room Tip: Don't stay in 324 not sure which rooms have good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2015, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mohamed D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrej B, Operations Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Hello there Mohamed D,

Thank you for sharing your honest feedback with us, and all of our future guests!! The main entrance of the hotel is on Collins Avenue, in fact it is a beautiful lush tropical courtyard with many trees and sitting area. You most likely entered through the side door. There are always a minimum of two people at the desk. It is possible that one was on break or at lunch, but we have two people scheduled throughout the day. The hotels in this area were all built in the 1930s and 1940s. The elevator has of course been updated, yet we are still a historical building which limits what we are able to do with things like the elevator so that the hotel retains it’s Art Deco charm. The flat screen tv’s in the rooms are all 32 or 42 inch new tv’s offering the latest in satellite tv.
Our website indicates the size of the beds, and you can see that every room with two beds, the size of the beds are full size. All of our one bedded rooms contain king beds. The lobby is not modern, yet it is relatively new. It is in the Art Deco design which is celebrated throughout South Beach for its individualism and to maintain the Art Deco style which has made South Beach famous. The resort fee is $15 plus tax, and includes two lounges and umbrella on the beach (a $30 per day value), Happy hour of $1.00 drinks from 7 to 8 PM nightly, use of the computer center, wifi in all rooms and public area, and local calls.

Christopher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2015 via mobile

Although the location is very convenient, the hotel facilities are not modern. Bathrooms are pretty old and the shower is not power enough for a relaxing bath. There are some hidden fees that are not mentioned such as resorts fee (USD15) and Parking Fee ( USD 31) which is absurd for this kind of hotel. Unfortunately I would not stay in this hotel on my next trip to Miami. Improvements should be made soon.

Stayed November 2015, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Fabi0F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrej B, Operations Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2015
Hello there Fabi0F,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, and all of our future guests!! We are located in the heart of South Beach, just blocks from all the hottest spots. Your feedback is very much appreciated! On our site and all third party sites it clearly states that we charge a fee. I am sorry that you were not aware of this prior to placing your reservation.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
310 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2015

The Dorchester Hotel is not one of the ritzy hotels on South Beach. It is quite affordable. It is perhaps the best hotel in this part of South Beach for the price. If you visit South Beach, you're not going to spend much time in the hotel anyway. Why spend a lot of money for something you're not going to use except to sleep? It's close to Lincoln Road and shops and restaurants. The bar is pretty good. It's clean. The rooms are adequate. It's on a quiet block, which makes it easier to sleep. It's across the street from the ocean.

  • Stayed November 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrej B, Operations Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2015
Robert M, you are a dream! Thank you so much for this amazing review! I am so glad to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us and can’t wait for the opportunity to do it all again. We truly appreciate the insanely kind words and hope to see you back here soon!

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Marseilles Hotel
Marseilles Hotel
#128 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 897 reviews
City Center
Suites of Dorchester
Suites of Dorchester
#131 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 138 reviews
City Center
Albion South Beach
Albion South Beach
#88 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Crest Hotel Suites
Crest Hotel Suites
#143 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 684 reviews
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#83 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 3,517 reviews
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorchester Hotel

Address: 1850 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Dorchester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a tranquil courtyard setting across from the beach; three blocks from the Historic District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Dorchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorchester Hotel Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing