We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dorchester Hotel

Save Saved
You added Dorchester Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dorchester Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1850 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The outdoor area, rooms, and decor were lovely but dealing with the staff was a bit of a challenge (except for Cynthia, she was amazing). When we got there, a man checked us in at the front desk and I had a few questions since I had never booked or dealt with a hotel on my own yet. It seemed as though we were bothering him. When I asked about the fiances, he told me that nothing would be charged except a $150 deposit and that wouldn't be charged they were just going to hold the funds. He made me and my cousin give him a credit card each because we had 2 rooms (even though I told him that I was paying for everything). We left him alone after that because I felt like I was bothering him. That night me and my cousin got messages from our banks that $1275 had been charged to our cards. That's a little more than $150. We straightened it out the next day with a much more respectful and competent person. It turns out that he failed to mention that they would be holding the balance plus the deposit, That was just one of the difficulties I encountered with this hotel. I was at the front desk at least once a day during my 5 night stay trying to fix something or getting our keys to work again.

Also, I am not the type to complain but the amount of time i spent on my vacation trying to straighten things out was a little ridiculous. I had a great trip and was glad this hotel was not a million dollars a night but I just wish the staff was a lot easier to deal with. Cynthia was awesome though, she needs a promotion!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    278
    162
    63
    71
See reviews for
192
211
20
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

First impressions were not good. An harrassed and probably incompetent receptionist kept me waiting for at least 10 minutes whilst she struggled with some basic function on her computer and was quite unfriendly, unhelpful and disorganised.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron G, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

First I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us. After reading your review, I am extremely apologetic about the poor customer service that you received while staying at our hotel. It is not up to our hotel standards to give poor customer service and I will do everything I can do ensure that it is nothing less than exceptional going forward.

Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Miami Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannut, Belgium
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Excellent location but rather poor service (staff has forgotten how to smile - what is rather rare in Florida, we have seen).
Our 2nd floor room was simply and very old fashioned equipped and was very poorly isolated: a lot of noise from inside or outside the hotel. In line with Miami rythm but a bit overwhelming when just landed with 6 hours jetlag to recover... Good it was only for one night...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron G, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Let me first apologize for not leaving you 100% satisfied with your stay. It's always our intention that our guests have a wonderful experience while staying with us. Excellent and friendly customer service is one of our main priorities at the hotel and I am extremlely apologetic that it was not exceptional for you and your family. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to write the review as it means a lot to us to hear your feedback.

We want to thank you for choosing to stay with us and hope to see you again on your next visit to Miami Beach.

Sincerely,
Aaron Gusky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Based on reviews here and cost I had higher expectations. My problem was mostly the room. It wasn't very small but for a family of four with a baby it was uncomfortable. The room needs update ASAP - lots of tear and wear. Beds are wobbly. Bathroom is bordering disgusting. No place for necessities - tiny shelf above the toilet, we had to buy new toothbrushes because they fell into toilet. We almost moved to other hotel but decided to suffer another night and not to drag our stuff. Breakfast was not included in our rate - they charge a mysterious 15 percent service fee and also 15 percent gratuity on top of the price. What a rip off. Can't believe I paid so much money for this dump.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset Village, Bermuda
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

Rooms were nice. Right were I wanted to be. Bar seemed expensive to me. Breakfast was very nice. Airport bus stops right outside so that was excellent. I think it was about $3 from the airport. I got the same bus back it has to be the best deal in Miami

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Loved this hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our room was smallish, but clean and had character. The courtyard is well kept and the bar has nightly drink specials. THe location is ideal. Close enough to all the action, but quiet at the end of the night. Plenty of shopping and restaurants nearby.
We had access to the beach with two chairs and an umbrella, just a short walk from the hotel.
My only complaint would be lack of parking. I had to park in a nearby garage.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Six Fours, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Wonderful place, very helpful staff ! Especially Carlos !
A great time there.
Well situated in Collins Avenue, 5 minutes walk from the beach, stores and restaurants.
Don't hesitate ! If you plan to go to Miami South Beach, just book there !

Room Tip: The standard rooms are a little too small for 4 people but the suites look just great ! Very clean a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dorchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorchester Hotel

Address: 1850 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#97 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dorchester Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a tranquil courtyard setting across from the beach; three blocks from the Historic District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Dorchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorchester Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dorchester Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.