We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now I know what Old Miami was like!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dorchester Hotel

Save Saved
You added Dorchester Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Dorchester Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1850 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 197 hotels in Miami Beach
Kitchener, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Now I know what Old Miami was like!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We loved it! We researched many hotels but picked the Dorchester for its' proximity to South Beach. We spent one night after our cruise and it is unfortunate we were tired because we could have used a couple of nights! We entered the foyer that resembled a resort entrance in the tropics. The trees, the hammock the bar all reminded me of being at a resort in Panama or Costa Rica. The staff greeted us with a smile and welcomed us! They made the day better by upgrading us to suites which turned out to be like small apartments! A swim in the large pool was fantastic and I expected Esther Williams to come out and pose and dive in any minute! The neighbourhood is in transition but you can see many other hotels are trying to do what the Dorchester has already succeeded in! You get a taste of the old Miami, the Miami of the 50s and 60s that made it what it is today! Enjoy!

Room Tip: It is still a good walk to South Beach so take a cab!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    278
    151
    68
    72
See reviews for
171
197
19
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We went from New York to Miami we were in the Dorchester for 5 days, as you walk into the foyer there is a terrible smell of damp that does not seem to go whenever you go in, the staff were friendly when we booked in but you were not advised if you get any extras such as 2 sun beds and a umbrella on the beach. We were put in room 120 which is at the front of the hotel, there was a 2 inch gap under our door and when I started to unpack the toiletries the shower had obviously not been cleaned as the previous guests old manky bit of soap was still on the shelf. The decoration is rushed and there was no attention to detail just a quick swipe with the paint to freshen it up. The air conditioning unit worked but was hanging off the wall but the worst was yet to come, on the first night of our holiday were we woken at 2.30am with all the cars on Collins Ave, the main road outside, it was full of cars and taxis which it looked like a big car park beeping their horns so no chance to sleep, this happened every night until about 4.30am, then to add insult on the third day we found a huge cockroach, not wanting to make a fuss we quietly advised the cleaner who just laughed! I wish I found it that funny. The bar is never open and when it is the happy hour says free drink but you have to give a $1 tip so this is not free, the pool is always in the shade and is not very clean. The rest of Miami is a rip off we were charged $12 for a glass of orange (approx £8) apparently freshly squeezed Florida oranges but it tasted just like sunny delight and the staff on ocean drive are so false its untrue, they don't care if you have a good day once they have taken your money. The lady in the reception that was supposed to know about the local things but she didn't even know about the buses, don't get ripped off with a taxi or shared bus to your hotel when you land or leave as there is a bus for $2.35 that will take you straight to South Beach, the drivers that we met were polite and happy to help (about the only good thing about Miami apart from the awesome beach). If you go to Miami be careful where you eat as once you've ordered you have to pay regardless of the cost and don't forget not to go in tornado season as when it rains it pours and the thunder Is bigger than anything Ive ever seen

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

On arrival, check-in was smooth and the staff at the front desk were somewhat friendly. Our room was very nice, that being very clean, comfortable and the decor was fresh. Therefore, I was very happy with our room (double suite). The only problem was the awful smell of sewage that lingered in our corridor (due to a leak on our floor and was only resolved by the next day).
Free Wi-Fi was handy and worked quite fast.
In the evenings, loud music is played outside which can be very loud and can last late into the night. Though this did not bother me, it could be an issue for some guests.
The location of the hotel was brilliant, as it is walking distance to the beach and next to Lincoln Road and Ocean drive (the place to find all the shops, bars and restaurants).
During my stay, I did come to find that not all of the staff were friendly, which is a shame as I would of liked to have given Dorchester Hotel 4/5 rather than the 3 stars.
Overall, I would not be returning? Most likely not, simply because I think ones holiday can be made extra special by outstanding hospitality offered by hotel staff but regrettably that was not the case on this instance.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I'm really glad I picked this hotel. Check in was pretty quick. Me and my friends originally purchased a standard room but got upgraded to a suite! the suite was nice and clean. pool area is nice. FREE happy hr from 7-8??!? poppin! The staff is very friendly and I loved the vibe. I would recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EKHGM, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

We are very pleased that you are happy about choosing
our hotel.

Although you booked a standard room, it was a pleasure
upgrading you to a suite: this we sometimes do when we
are not too full. We are also happy that you enjoyed our
virtually free happy hour. Our friendly staff, as you noted,
are dedicated to ensue that you have a great stay.

We want to thank you for recommending our hotel to other
travelers and hope to see you during you next visit to Miami
Beach.

Yours,
E, Hewitt, CHA
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for 5 nights. The hotel's location is very good as it is only a few minutes from the beach. The pool area is ok too. The room was nice and clean, staff friendly and helpful at all times. I think next time I would bookt his hotel again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EKHGM, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thanks for taking the time to comment on your stay.

We are happy that you appreciate our great location
and good price. Thanks for also commenting about
our nice and clean rooms with our friendly staff.

Thanks again!

Yours,
E. Hewitt
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

From the minute we arrived at the Dorchester Hotel on South Beach (Miami) to the flawless check out five days later, everything was perfect. This hotel has an ideal location ... on Collins Avenue just two blocks from Lincoln Road with all its great shopping and dining. And Ocean Drive is just four blocks south and one block east from the Dorchester.

As soon as we pulled into the parking lot, we were greeted by Junior, the bellman. He unloaded the luggage in our car while we check-in at the front desk. We were welcomed and addressed by name. Check -in was flawless and a bellman we met a year ago recognized us and welcomed us back. The front desk team also let us know there were boxes waiting for us and the bellman would bring them to our suite. We had lots of luggage due to us travelling with two 21 year old females who were on a mission to find the hottest clubs on South Beach. Junior hauled everything to our fabulous two-bedroom suite with a smile on his face, despite the 93 degree temperatures. He then went to fetch the additional boxes of medical supplies we had shipped to the hotel.

Our suite was great, and recently renovated. We had a king bed in the master bedroom and two double beds in the second bedroom. The living room was spacious with hardwood floors. The kitchen had a full size refrigerator, dishwasher, microwave, toaster, two-burner stove, coffee maker, etc. We brought our own blender for pina coladas after the beach. All four of us had either a lap top, or tablet, but we still found plenty of free bandwidth to all get online at the same time. The only thing I missed was FOX News.

Although the hotel is not right on the beach, we simply had to walk one block down the street to the Hotel Marseilles, the sister property of the Dorchester, where we could access the beach. We picked up our beach towels from the pool attendant and proceeded to the Hotel Marseilles cabana out on the beach to get our complimentary lounge chairs (2) and umbrella.
At lunch time, we took a break from the sun and had lunch on the front patio at the Hotel Marseilles. Great food, great service, reasonable prices .. what more can you ask for.

What a great pair of hotels ... the Dorchester Suites and Hotel Marseilles. And the staff at both hotels is warm, friendly, well trained and eager to help. We look forward to returning to South Beach again in the near future. I look forward to staying with these folks again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EKHGM, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Loyal Guest:

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment
on your "perfect" stay.

Yes, we have some of the most friendly and dedicated
professional staff, in South Beach, who always go above
and beyond to ensure that all our guest have a great stay.

Thanks again for attesting that we do have a "great hotel".

We are sure we will see you again during you next stay in
Miami Beach.

Yours,
E. Hewitt
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The Hotel is well located,I had a big problem with noise from other guests, witch wasn't resolved by the management,although they tried,had no successes.I couldn't sleep all night,unfortunately.
It was clean and spacious, and had a parking that you need to pay, but it's beside the Hotel.
I intend to return there and I hope there is no noise.

Room Tip: The roons with view of the garden are larger, and there is kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EKHGM, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Let me first of all thank you for taking the time
to let us know about your stay.

I would like to personally apologize for any inconvenience
you might had experienced while staying here. I would also
like to thank you for commenting about our clean and spacious
rooms.

Overall, you mentioned that you intend to visit us again, please
contact me personally when you are about to make your
reservation; I would like to do something extra special for you.
Here at the Dorchester, we cherish all our guest.

Thanks again!

Yours,
E. Hewitt
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dorchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorchester Hotel

Also Known As:
Dorchester Hotel Miami
Address: 1850 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 197 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dorchester Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a tranquil courtyard setting across from the beach; three blocks from the Historic District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Dorchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dorchester Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.