We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good, clean value for money hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dorchester Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Dorchester Hotel to your Saves list
Dorchester Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1850 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #123 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Welle, Belgium
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A good, clean value for money hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is a nice relatively small hotel in Miami Beach. I was glad to have booked this hotel. The room was clean, the staff was really friendly. When we got up to our rooms, the only, maybe negative aspect I could say was that the air-conditioning was a little bit loud (but, hey, we've been to several hotels and everywhere it was the same thing). In general the hotel is nice, ideally located in my opinion.

The only negative aspect of the hotel in general is the fact you have to pay quite some money to use the parking lot. On the other side I think it's understandable when you see that in the vicinity of the hotel there is hardly any space to park your car...

So in general: a nice hotel with friendly staff who make you forget the small remarks in no time !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EKHGM, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thanks for letting us know your thoughts
about you stay with us.

We are happy that you find oue hotel to be
nice and with a friendly staff.

As you rightly noted, there is hardly any parking
in the area and that is why we provide parking
for our guest at a modest charge: our parking
rate is one of the lowest in South Beach.

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    365
    233
    90
    88
See reviews for
270
291
22
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed at the Dorchester Suites on a girls trip with 5 ladies in the one bedroom double suite. The rooms were spacious and clean. It had a full kitchen and a Living room with a sofa bed. It easily sleeps 6. The staff was great! The location was awesome. We near Lincoln road and the beach. I will definitely use the Dorchester for my next Miami get away!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I recently was in South Beach and stayed at the Dorchester. What a wonderful hotel. The staff members are so pleasant and knowledgable. Close to Lincoln Road and the Beach is across the street. Cozy little bar right off the lobby.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EKHGM, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you very much for taking the time to let
us know about your experience at our property: your property.
We are very happy that you were very pleased.

We hope to see you again during your next visit to Sunny Miami.

Yours,
E. Hewitt
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easley, South Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This was our 2nd stay at the Dorchester hotel and it was just as great as the 1st time! We will stay here every-time we go to Miami! The value is great, and being across the street from the beach is fine because they give you beach chairs! The staff is really friendly and the lobby always smells amazing! They have a great happy hour special! Drinks for a dollar!! You can tell the place has been fixed up since 2 years ago and it looked great!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

My love for the Dorchester began back in 2011 when my friends and I stayed there. We had a fabulous time and for our next miami vacation 1 month ago (July 2013) it was not a question of where we were going to stay. To our surprise, the Dorchester just got more wonderful from two years ago. It has a beautiful new lobby, breakfast (not free), free beach lounges, and a fabulous staff. The rooms are awesome (no nasty carpet) and can we just go back to the staff? Everyone is so amazing from the people who checked us in, to the bartender, to the cleaning ladies. Everyone is helpful and accommodating. Best hotel ever! Thank you! We will definitely be back!
We were a group of four women so we are always loud and in ready to party mode. Never had a problem. GREAT Miami hotel !

Room Tip: If noise bothers you, make sure to ask for a room in the back of the hotel off the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denderleeuw, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We arrived late in the evening at this hotel after having major issues with the rental car company at the airport. The staff of the Dorchester made our evening though. They were very friendly upon arrival and the check-in went smoothly. The bags were quickly brought to our rooms, which were spotless by the way. The airconditioning was kind of loud. The location is very good. Close to a very calm beach and you can get an umbrella and two decks for only 10 dollars from the sister hotel Marseilles. Also in walking distance of all the shops and bars and public buses to Downtown Miami. We did not try the breakfast but had breakfast at Maxine's instead which is a bit down the road. If I had to say anything negative about this hotel it would be the extra charges. Everything is very expensive in this hotel. The parking was 30 dollars per night per car! We stayed at 7 hotels in Florida during our vacation and most of the time parking was free, if not, 10 dollars was the maximum. Breakfast was also rather expensive, that's why we went outside and WIFI is payable as well. Indeed, you can use free internet in the lobby but there's only one PC and it's often taken. At night it can get very noisy. Party people arrive at night, continuing their party by the pool. We had a poolside room so I would not recommend that. But hey, I guess it's Miami Beach... Other than that,... very good hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms at the poolside will get noise from the partying guests, arriving late at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We spent a few nights at the Dorchester Hotel in March and we were very satisfied with our stay. Of course, it may be a little expensive, but everything is in South Beach, and I think it's one of the best value on Collins Ave.

The staff was very helpful. The rooms are OK, but it can get noisy at night (then again, it's South Beach). The hallways look a litlle dated, but the lobby and our room were nice. We took advantage of the beach chairs and umbrellas on the beach (you can get them for a fee at the Marseilles) and we had a wonderful time walking through the Art Deco district, on Espanola Way, and on Lincoln Road.

I have paid less for better rooms in some other places, but it wasn't one block from the beautiful beaches of Miami or just a short walk from Ocean Drive. So, all in all, it was a very good experience for us. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Marseilles Hotel
Marseilles Hotel
#128 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 802 reviews
City Center
Suites of Dorchester
Suites of Dorchester
#127 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 122 reviews
City Center
Albion South Beach
Albion South Beach
#94 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#79 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 2,981 reviews
Clinton Hotel South Beach
#119 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,282 reviews
Townhouse Hotel
#100 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorchester Hotel

Address: 1850 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dorchester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a tranquil courtyard setting across from the beach; three blocks from the Historic District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Dorchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorchester Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dorchester Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.