We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dorchester Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Dorchester Hotel to your Saves list
Dorchester Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1850 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #135 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed at the Dorchester Suites on a girls trip with 5 ladies in the one bedroom double suite. The rooms were spacious and clean. It had a full kitchen and a Living room with a sofa bed. It easily sleeps 6. The staff was great! The location was awesome. We near Lincoln road and the beach. I will definitely use the Dorchester for my next Miami get away!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Niknik913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,018 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I recently was in South Beach and stayed at the Dorchester. What a wonderful hotel. The staff members are so pleasant and knowledgable. Close to Lincoln Road and the Beach is across the street. Cozy little bar right off the lobby.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EKHGM, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you very much for taking the time to let
us know about your experience at our property: your property.
We are very happy that you were very pleased.

We hope to see you again during your next visit to Sunny Miami.

Yours,
E. Hewitt
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easley, South Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This was our 2nd stay at the Dorchester hotel and it was just as great as the 1st time! We will stay here every-time we go to Miami! The value is great, and being across the street from the beach is fine because they give you beach chairs! The staff is really friendly and the lobby always smells amazing! They have a great happy hour special! Drinks for a dollar!! You can tell the place has been fixed up since 2 years ago and it looked great!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

My love for the Dorchester began back in 2011 when my friends and I stayed there. We had a fabulous time and for our next miami vacation 1 month ago (July 2013) it was not a question of where we were going to stay. To our surprise, the Dorchester just got more wonderful from two years ago. It has a beautiful new lobby, breakfast (not free), free beach lounges, and a fabulous staff. The rooms are awesome (no nasty carpet) and can we just go back to the staff? Everyone is so amazing from the people who checked us in, to the bartender, to the cleaning ladies. Everyone is helpful and accommodating. Best hotel ever! Thank you! We will definitely be back!
We were a group of four women so we are always loud and in ready to party mode. Never had a problem. GREAT Miami hotel !

Room Tip: If noise bothers you, make sure to ask for a room in the back of the hotel off the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank backtomiami_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denderleeuw, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We arrived late in the evening at this hotel after having major issues with the rental car company at the airport. The staff of the Dorchester made our evening though. They were very friendly upon arrival and the check-in went smoothly. The bags were quickly brought to our rooms, which were spotless by the way. The airconditioning was kind of loud. The location is very good. Close to a very calm beach and you can get an umbrella and two decks for only 10 dollars from the sister hotel Marseilles. Also in walking distance of all the shops and bars and public buses to Downtown Miami. We did not try the breakfast but had breakfast at Maxine's instead which is a bit down the road. If I had to say anything negative about this hotel it would be the extra charges. Everything is very expensive in this hotel. The parking was 30 dollars per night per car! We stayed at 7 hotels in Florida during our vacation and most of the time parking was free, if not, 10 dollars was the maximum. Breakfast was also rather expensive, that's why we went outside and WIFI is payable as well. Indeed, you can use free internet in the lobby but there's only one PC and it's often taken. At night it can get very noisy. Party people arrive at night, continuing their party by the pool. We had a poolside room so I would not recommend that. But hey, I guess it's Miami Beach... Other than that,... very good hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms at the poolside will get noise from the partying guests, arriving late at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Queen79-22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We spent a few nights at the Dorchester Hotel in March and we were very satisfied with our stay. Of course, it may be a little expensive, but everything is in South Beach, and I think it's one of the best value on Collins Ave.

The staff was very helpful. The rooms are OK, but it can get noisy at night (then again, it's South Beach). The hallways look a litlle dated, but the lobby and our room were nice. We took advantage of the beach chairs and umbrellas on the beach (you can get them for a fee at the Marseilles) and we had a wonderful time walking through the Art Deco district, on Espanola Way, and on Lincoln Road.

I have paid less for better rooms in some other places, but it wasn't one block from the beautiful beaches of Miami or just a short walk from Ocean Drive. So, all in all, it was a very good experience for us. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JFGiguere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

It started off when we were given the keys to someone else's room. Mistakes happen so we didn't think much of this.
It wasn't until I tried to withdraw money later that night that I noticed something was wrong. The Dorchester had withdrawn the price of our stay off my credit card six times. When I told them what happened they seemed disinterested and gave me the name of a manager to see the next day. This manager never seemed to be available when I went back. Long story short i did not get the money back for four weeks and spent a lot of the rest of my three weeks in America calling my bank and emailing the hotel. I received the money back a week after I arrived back home.
Other than this a few other times we asked for the staff's help they seemed bored by our queries and were very slow and unhelpful in their response.
The location was ok but I would stay further up near the restaurants and bars. The rooms themselves were quite nice and spacious. The pool was small but adequate.
After the high standard of hospitality experienced at the other hotels we stayed at all over the USA this was awful in comparison.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elise1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EKHGM, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Let me first of all thank you for taking the time to comment
on your stay with us. We do want apologize for any inconvenience
you had while staying with us.

We are always responsive to our guest needs, and if there is an error
on our part we generally go above and beyond to resolve the matter.
There is always a Manager On Duty at our property who is always
eager to assist our guest: if you were unable to reach him, there must
had been some kind of miscommunication.

However, we are pleased that you find our location to be "ok" and that
our rooms are nice and spacious.

We want to assure you that your comments are well taken, and we will
continue to strive to be even better.

Please contact me in order for address this matter in more detail.

Thanks again!

Respectfully yours,
E. Hewitt, CHA
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Marseilles Hotel
Marseilles Hotel
#130 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 898 reviews
Thompson Miami Beach
#5 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,184 reviews
Circa 39 Hotel
#42 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#84 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 3,523 reviews
Chesterfield Hotel
#71 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,366 reviews
City Center
Albion South Beach
Albion South Beach
#86 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorchester Hotel

Address: 1850 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Dorchester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a tranquil courtyard setting across from the beach; three blocks from the Historic District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Dorchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorchester Hotel Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing