We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dorchester Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Dorchester Hotel to your Saves list
Dorchester Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1850 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #101 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Easley, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Love this hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This was our 2nd stay at the Dorchester hotel and it was just as great as the 1st time! We will stay here every-time we go to Miami! The value is great, and being across the street from the beach is fine because they give you beach chairs! The staff is really friendly and the lobby always smells amazing! They have a great happy hour special! Drinks for a dollar!! You can tell the place has been fixed up since 2 years ago and it looked great!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    306
    178
    66
    76
See reviews for
213
230
20
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

My love for the Dorchester began back in 2011 when my friends and I stayed there. We had a fabulous time and for our next miami vacation 1 month ago (July 2013) it was not a question of where we were going to stay. To our surprise, the Dorchester just got more wonderful from two years ago. It has a beautiful new lobby, breakfast (not free), free beach lounges, and a fabulous staff. The rooms are awesome (no nasty carpet) and can we just go back to the staff? Everyone is so amazing from the people who checked us in, to the bartender, to the cleaning ladies. Everyone is helpful and accommodating. Best hotel ever! Thank you! We will definitely be back!
We were a group of four women so we are always loud and in ready to party mode. Never had a problem. GREAT Miami hotel !

Room Tip: If noise bothers you, make sure to ask for a room in the back of the hotel off the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denderleeuw, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We arrived late in the evening at this hotel after having major issues with the rental car company at the airport. The staff of the Dorchester made our evening though. They were very friendly upon arrival and the check-in went smoothly. The bags were quickly brought to our rooms, which were spotless by the way. The airconditioning was kind of loud. The location is very good. Close to a very calm beach and you can get an umbrella and two decks for only 10 dollars from the sister hotel Marseilles. Also in walking distance of all the shops and bars and public buses to Downtown Miami. We did not try the breakfast but had breakfast at Maxine's instead which is a bit down the road. If I had to say anything negative about this hotel it would be the extra charges. Everything is very expensive in this hotel. The parking was 30 dollars per night per car! We stayed at 7 hotels in Florida during our vacation and most of the time parking was free, if not, 10 dollars was the maximum. Breakfast was also rather expensive, that's why we went outside and WIFI is payable as well. Indeed, you can use free internet in the lobby but there's only one PC and it's often taken. At night it can get very noisy. Party people arrive at night, continuing their party by the pool. We had a poolside room so I would not recommend that. But hey, I guess it's Miami Beach... Other than that,... very good hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms at the poolside will get noise from the partying guests, arriving late at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We spent a few nights at the Dorchester Hotel in March and we were very satisfied with our stay. Of course, it may be a little expensive, but everything is in South Beach, and I think it's one of the best value on Collins Ave.

The staff was very helpful. The rooms are OK, but it can get noisy at night (then again, it's South Beach). The hallways look a litlle dated, but the lobby and our room were nice. We took advantage of the beach chairs and umbrellas on the beach (you can get them for a fee at the Marseilles) and we had a wonderful time walking through the Art Deco district, on Espanola Way, and on Lincoln Road.

I have paid less for better rooms in some other places, but it wasn't one block from the beautiful beaches of Miami or just a short walk from Ocean Drive. So, all in all, it was a very good experience for us. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

It started off when we were given the keys to someone else's room. Mistakes happen so we didn't think much of this.
It wasn't until I tried to withdraw money later that night that I noticed something was wrong. The Dorchester had withdrawn the price of our stay off my credit card six times. When I told them what happened they seemed disinterested and gave me the name of a manager to see the next day. This manager never seemed to be available when I went back. Long story short i did not get the money back for four weeks and spent a lot of the rest of my three weeks in America calling my bank and emailing the hotel. I received the money back a week after I arrived back home.
Other than this a few other times we asked for the staff's help they seemed bored by our queries and were very slow and unhelpful in their response.
The location was ok but I would stay further up near the restaurants and bars. The rooms themselves were quite nice and spacious. The pool was small but adequate.
After the high standard of hospitality experienced at the other hotels we stayed at all over the USA this was awful in comparison.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EKHGM, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Let me first of all thank you for taking the time to comment
on your stay with us. We do want apologize for any inconvenience
you had while staying with us.

We are always responsive to our guest needs, and if there is an error
on our part we generally go above and beyond to resolve the matter.
There is always a Manager On Duty at our property who is always
eager to assist our guest: if you were unable to reach him, there must
had been some kind of miscommunication.

However, we are pleased that you find our location to be "ok" and that
our rooms are nice and spacious.

We want to assure you that your comments are well taken, and we will
continue to strive to be even better.

Please contact me in order for address this matter in more detail.

Thanks again!

Respectfully yours,
E. Hewitt, CHA
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haedo, Argentina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I travelled for a week with my mother. We chose this hotel for the price and location it had, but I had no big expectations about he place. It was really surprising to see that it had quite a nice taste in all the decoration and furniture, and the service provided by the personnel was always excellent.
Something remarkable about this hotel is that it has a very nice place at the entrance, to have a seat and rest surrounded by plants and trees.
The crew at the front desk were always very kind and helpful. Attention on the beach was very good too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, Scotland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a few nights stay in Miami and chose the Dorchester for its location and price. The location is ideal, just one street back from the beach and walking distance to Ocean drive and Lincoln road. The staff were very helpful and accommodating, the lobby etc a bit dated and could do with a freshen up. The rooms themselves were lovely with great air con and very spacious. The only downside were the bathrooms which were dated and very small but clean.
Overall I would recommend this hotel if you want comfort, great location, great service at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EKHGM, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to comment on
your over all satisfaction with our property and
its great location.

As you rightly mentioned, we are very fortunate
to be across from the beach and very close to
Lincoln Rd. and Ocean Drive, the heart of South Beach.
We are thankful that you commented about our friendly
staff, our spacious rooms, our clean bathroom, and
great service at a great price.

Thanks again and hope to see you again during your
next visit to Miami Beach, FL.

Reegards,
E. Hewitt, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dorchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorchester Hotel

Address: 1850 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dorchester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a tranquil courtyard setting across from the beach; three blocks from the Historic District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dorchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorchester Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dorchester Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.