We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My 40th Birthday Celebration!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dorchester Hotel

Save Saved
You added Dorchester Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dorchester Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1850 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 200 Hotels in Miami Beach
Milford, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
“My 40th Birthday Celebration!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I was a bit hesitant in booking this hotel since there was quit a bit of negative comments, I stayed in this hotel with 3 other ladies, The staff was courteaus and professional. Very convenient to the beach and other amenities. The only downfall was the noise from construction early in the morning. If we did not have to get up that early that would have been an issue. Next time I will be requesting a larger room if possible. Overall experience was a Plus...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    297
    174
    64
    74
See reviews for
208
220
20
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

My daughter and I stayed in this small and cozy hotel for one week August 2012. The room was nice and spotlessly clean, the bathroom a bit small, which nevertheless was okay, but all our compliments do go to the wonderful staff and equal service. Not a question was not being correctly responded to and despite the stress of (often) too many people wanting attention at the reception desk at the same time, there would always be a friendly signal to inform that you were noticed.
Towels for the beach or swimmingpool were given to us whenever we needed them and for as little as 10 dollars there is also the availability of beach chairs and umbrella (a necessity during the time we were there).
We did not use the breakfast facilities every day, but if we did, whatever we asked for was provided in huge quantity and presented nice and neat.
When a mistake in our final bill appeared, the receptionist asked the manager to take care of it and things were then quickly settled.
Miami Beach was another great experience for us (we had been here a couple of times before), but staying at The Dorchester felt like a nice 'home away from home'.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I stayed last week in the hotel and the rooms are very big; staff was super friendly and the location was great. One perk is the self parking; it can be difficult to find parking in South Beach! Overall, we had a great time; felt safe walking in the evening as the property is within walking distance to many restaurants. Really enjoyed it; will be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Me and my wife stayed at the Dorchester for a week in July. The overall experience was good. The hotel is locted at the northern part of South Beach. It's just a few blocks from Lincoln Road and the beach is just some five minutes across the street. A little longer to Ocean Drive of course, but we didn't mind walking, it's much to see on the way...
The hotell istn't fancy, of course, but you probably don't expect that if you're looking for this price range. However not fancy it's still very good. Rooms were clean, and not small, "large enough". Oh - btw, the AC was pretty loud so you might wanna bring ear plugs...
You basically have everything you need there, at convenient distance to most of what Miami Beach has to offer. The staff was nice, polite and service minded. We had breakfast there once - decent and the buffe is about the same price as if you would eat "at town". We recomend it if you're not the picky and glamour seeking type of person but rather looking for a good hotel at a great location!
All the best from Sweden!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Staff member entered my room and stole personal items. Will never, ever stay here again and will tell all my friends and family to make sure they don't stay here. I wouldn't feel safe staying in a hotel where staff cannot be trusted. This is extremely damaging to the industry.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHCHA, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Let me first of all thank you for choosing our property
while staying in Miami Beach and to apologize for any
inconvenience you might had experienced while staying
with us.

Your allegations about our staff is not something we typically
hear from our guest. We are very concerned about your
allegation, and will definitely contact you in an attempt to launch
a full scale investigation. In all fairness, you will note that
most of the reviews on Tripadvisor speak very highly about the
high degree of safety felt by many of our guest. As part of our
staff screaning process, we hire a private company to conduct
background checks on all our employees.

It saddens us to hear about your allegations, and at best,
hope that there is a mistake somewhere; nevertheless, if our
investigation substantiates your claims, rest assure, we will
take appropriate actions.

Thanks for your patience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Only a 10 minute walk through shopping district to get to main Miami Beach restaurant strip at the beach. 5 minute walk to main shopping area. The hotel is clean, the pool was great and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. We caught a cab from the airport to here and it cost about $35 plus tip. Room was a good size for 4 of us as was the bathroom, flat screen tv and mini bar.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

I booked one of the suites in this hotel for my cousin, who brought his wife and and 11 year old daughter. They loved it as it was a family friendly environment and had spacious room throughout the whole suite. As it is in the heart of south beach, it was quiet at night to relax and sleep with no noice at all. The suite was very clean and the satff was really friendly, the service was excellent as well. Will definetely recommend this hotel to friends and family members coming froam abroad anytime.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dorchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorchester Hotel

Address: 1850 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#94 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dorchester Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a tranquil courtyard setting across from the beach; three blocks from the Historic District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dorchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorchester Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dorchester Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.