We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pre cruise stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dorchester Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Dorchester Hotel to your Saves list
Dorchester Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1850 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #119 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Belfast
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pre cruise stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Stayed at the Dorchester for 2 nights before going to the port for a cruise. Good price paid for a double room and room was nice. No complaints , good location , close to beach, shops , bars and restaurants. Taxi from airport was $34 and taxi to port was $30. Breakfast was expensive but McDonalds is close enough. Great stay for what we needed .

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jvalera, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Dear EILEEN6769,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you chose us for a pre-cruise stay. Many of your fellow travelers have done the same due to the fact that we are a short cab ride away from the Port of Miami but extremely close to everything that is going on in South Beach without being exactly in the middle of it. We hope you come back to see us soon next time you are on a cruise or visiting S. Florida.

Sincerely,
Juan-Manuel Valera III
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    359
    227
    85
    86
See reviews for
262
284
22
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We did not expect much from this hotel when we came (our last encounter with SoBe boutique hotel was not at all pleasant)- but wow, what a nice surprise it turned out to be! We stayed in Suites- ours was spacious, with nicely decorated living room, dining room and kitchen (bedroom was specious too- a bit outdated though), with fresh paint touch-ups throughout. The cream and blue hues in the rooms felt so good in the beach environment! The kitchen had everything you could possibly need- and when we requested a couple of extra pans (travelled with a picky toddler), they were brought to us within 10 min, and where of a great quality and condition. Throughout our stay (7 nights), the room was very clean and we did not have to remind anyone about fresh towels!! The hotel's grounds and lobby are beautiful, clean, and give out that unmistaken Miami feel. Both pool areas in Dorchester and Marselles (which we also used, as well as loungers/umbrellas on the beach) are nice, cheerful and clean. The suites are very quiet, wich is great for the families with little children, and a green courtyard with fountains felt very relaxing. Everything is walking distance, beach is right across the street. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Cudos to all of front desk and cleaning personnel! We would gladly recommend this hotel to the families with children!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 258 (Dorchester Suites)- loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jvalera, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Dear DEYZ,
Thank you for your words. we like to feel that as a boutique hotel in South Beach we are still able to make families feel our hotel and your experience is kid friendly. Well, it seems we accomplished just that. Please come back and see us soon!

Sincerely,
Juan-Manuel Valera III
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington Tyne and Wear
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We stayed in this Miami hotel for 7 nights as part of our holiday. Hotel is one street over from main Miami Beach hotels and is quieter than being on main beach road. Reception staff all friendly and helpful, rooms very clean and adequate for our stay. Hotel pool isn,t very big and no pool bar but you can use pool at marselles hotel on oppisite side of road if you don't fancy the beach. Drinks at happy hour only a dollar but once happy hour was over we paid 42 dollars for 3 shorts with mixers, expensive but probably on par with what you would have paid in main beach bars just this didn't have view of sea while enjoying drink. Would recommend for people wanting a quiet holiday. Building work going on and around hotel didn,t bother us but if your travelling with a small family request room away from works

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jvalera, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Dear traveler,

Aside from being just on the other side of the ocean, guests at the Dorchester Hotel can enjoy the amenities of our sister property on the oceanfront side of Collins Ave. South Beach is a place that is improving day by day, but we do not have any construction going on in the hotel, but we'll do our very best to accommodate our guests from street noise if need be.
As to our Happy Hour, well this is one of those moments where guests from all over the world get together at our 1850 Bar and have a couple of drinks and many laughs before going to hit the town. It makes for good laughs and for meeting people who are visiting South beach just like you.
Sincerely,
Juan-Manuel Valera III
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We booked a standard double but were 'upgraded' to a Junior suite when we checked in. I work in a hotel so am always looking at the smallest things to be spot on. Unfortunately it was the little things that let the stay down. The hairdryer in the room didn't work and we had to ask for it to be replaced. The room was cleaned every day and fresh towels were put in but we regularly found long black hairs on the top of the pile presumably from the housekeeper. She also failed to remove all the rubbish from the room, there was a empty pizza box there for 4 days. The decor of the room was really nice, lots of dark wood and it was very spacious. The bathroom window didn't open, the paint on the bathroom door was a bit chipped and the bottom of the bath was stained. The outside of the windows were quite mucky and they could do with employing a window cleaner. We liked the location but would probably stay elsewhere in future just to be further down Collins Ave or even on Ocean Drive. The pool area was very good too with lots of sun loungers and music playing. You can also get vouchers for sun loungers at the beach to use at the Marseilles hotel. We didn't use the breakfast area as it seemed quite pricey and it would be nice to have ice machines available on every floor rather than having to go down to reception every time. Overall it was quite nice but think that the resort fee of $10 a night is pricey.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jvalera, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Dear MANCHESTERAE,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. We just recently made changes to some of the items you mentioned in your comments. We like the idea of being close enough to Ocean Dr. without being in it, but that depends on how much nightlife you came to South Beach for. We apologize for the little housekeeping mishap and for the cosmetic snafoos you mentioned, we are always looking to improve so I would like to thank you for pointing them out. We hope to have you soon with us.

Sincerely,
Juan-Manuel Valera III
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

stayed for one week for wwe. we had a wheelchair user with us all requests were met. our room was very clean when we arrived and was cleaned every day,always plenty of towels and shower products. yes they do charge for parking but they are not the dearest,and you know its safe.if only staying around south beach you dont need car we are not breakfast people so cant say about that, pool was clean and tidy. bar could offer better deals on drinks due to lots of bars close by. my only issue is collins avenue itself very noisy at night lots of cars/bikes racing off traffic lights till about 4am hotel could install double glazing but cant see what they can do about collins avenue.very pleased overall

Room Tip: rooms away from collins aveune are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jvalera, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Dear MIKEM71,
Thank you for having chosen us all the way from the UK. Although we are an Art Deco property, we understand the importance of meeting the needs of those in wheelchairs. We would also like to let the readers know that although we have limited space for parking at our hotel and all of our neighbors charge heftier fees than us, we are so close to everything that is going on in South Beach, that unless you need to go to mainland Miami there is really no need for renting a vehicle. We hope to have you soon with us again!

Cheers,
Juan-Manuel Valera III
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We booked 2 rooms for the wmc and paid over $2800 for 4 nights...we drove in from houston a very long drive ready to relax and shower before heading out to get to our room that has no ac it has froze up and yes they send someone quickly to say it has froze up and that we must just wait 30 mins hell be back...when he returns replaces the the ac window unit un the room ahhh finally cooling off and as we are all getting ready the ac goes out completely and then thats where we noticed the unit had been leaking and had gotten a few of our things soaking wet...there were also hairs all over the bathroom just disgusting!! So of coursed we threw a fit and at that time they agreed to give us free parking and that the manager would talk to us the next day and that someone would be up to clean our room in the morning ...through out our trip we probably went through about 30 hotel keys everytime we would go back to the room our keys would stop working...how irritating!!! The hotel did not accomadate anything we tried to order room service for breakfast at 830 am and they told us in order to get breakfast we had to order it before 8 am...one early afternoon we had our do not disturb sign on the door yes but we walk out to a lady cleaning right next door and ask her for towels she tells us there arent any...we then ask if Theres anyway they can clean our room and we are told then no its to late....so we have a filthy room the whole time we had a big puddle of water under the ac unit also the safe did not work either...we ended up having to extend another night cause we didnt want such early check out n be able to Be able clean up before we leave that night so we were just gonna use the one night they did comp to find out the normal is $130 a night what a jack up and rip off!!!! The manager and one front desk lady were very nice and tried to be helpful but our over all experience was miserable!!! The best part about the hotel was the trampoline swing they have in front of the hotel...We will never stay there again!!!! Horrible experience!!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jvalera, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Dear FROGGYGRL,
As I read your review, all I can say is that there comes a point that although we may have our best intentions at heart, we cannot be all things to all people. I know my staff and myself, we did our best, and perhaps in your view we fell short--well sometimes it happens. I know WMC is a demanding time and all aspects of a hotel are put to the test, but it looks like you have traveled plenty and are well aware of this. Thank you for taking time to leave your comments.

Sincerely,
Juan-Manuel Valera III
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

I went to Miami for the weekend, kind of a last minute trip. I found and booked this hotel through Orbitz, as a package with plane tickets. This hotel was the only one that seemed to be in a good location (South Beach), more a more affordable price. After reading the other reviews, I was a little nervous about this hotel, but wasn't too concerned because I knew I would not be in the hotel that much. Turns out, I was pleasantly surprised with this hotel! The location was perfect (not on the beach, but directly behind it, and a very, very close walk!). The modern decor of the hotel was also a pleasant surprise. The hotel as an outdoor "courtyard area" which is nice to hang out at night before heading out elsewhere. I absolutely loved this hotel and would stay here if I return to South Beach again. You can't beat the price, and its actually a decent, clean, hotel!

Room Tip: I didnt make any special requests and I was happy with my room (very close to the lobby so it was co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jvalera, Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Dear NICASHBAR,
The fact that you did not know what to expect and you were pleasantly surprised, well that says plenthy. My staff and I are looking forward to surprising more of our visitors. Although you cannot put an entire stay in words, and believe me, many of our previous guests have tried quite hardly, you can't help but say that when someone is surprised, well we surpassed their expectations and in this business that still maters. Come back and see us soon !

Sincerely,
Juan-Manuel Valera III
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Dorchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorchester Hotel

Address: 1850 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dorchester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a tranquil courtyard setting across from the beach; three blocks from the Historic District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Dorchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorchester Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dorchester Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.