We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall very enjoyable........” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Miami Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Loews Miami Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1601 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Eat, Drink. Our Treat!
Ranked #33 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
IRELAND
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Overall very enjoyable........”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

We arrived late in the evening to discover that there were major renovations going on at the Loews. While we had been informed before our stay, that there were renovations, we were not informed that this was a major renovation and would effect our stay! Noise from 9 o'clock in the morning was very loud and not conducive to a relaxing lie-in! I have no doubt when the renovations are complete, that this will no longer be a problem.
We booked a room with partial sea-view and requested a balcony. One was not available and the receptionist was not very communicative. Somehow, after another request to a different receptionist, a room with a balcony became available!! Reception were not very accepting of the fact that we had not been informed fully of the extent of the renovations and not very friendly. A simple apology would have sufficed instead of the high handed way we were treated! I informed reception at my disappointment in their attitude and received more of the same!!
All other staff were excellent and most helpful. The pool area is excellent! Great entertainment, water spritzes, samples of non-alcoholic cocktails, frozen grapes all make for a great stay. Location is excellent - beach may be accesed directly from the hotel. Breakfast in the dining room is of an excellent standard and the staff are very helpful and friendly.
Everglades tour is worth a visit as is the half-day tour of Miami. The house of Versace is worth a visit and I would definitely recommend the tour of this house.
Overall, our stay in the Loews Miami was very enjoyable and hopefully the staff at reception will learn to be a little more pleasant to weary travellers!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,678
    1,020
    355
    134
    131
See reviews for
965
902
72
510
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

Just returned from a weekend getaway in South Beach. As I do with all reviews here is the honest truth.
Postives: Great Location, wonderful pools and hot tubs. Loved the private access to the beach. Rooms are very clean and the customer service is impeccable! Overall grounds are beautiful
Negatives: When we first arrived we were given teh 5th floor. We walked in our rooms around 4:30pm and the jackhammer was so loud it felt like it was right below our feet. We immediatley requested another room. We were given one on the 17th floor. The construction starts at 10am and runs through 5-6pm. We stayed with a on the city view side and on Sat/Sun the protesters started around 8am. Yes, very loud protesters with signs in front of the hotels (mad with the Lowes about something with the construction). We were on the 17th floor and heard them clearly. They did not stop until around noon. Also everything at the hotel is expensive (always 9% tax, 18% service and 10% something else). Visit the Walgreen or CVS on the corner and get what you need.

We used expedia and got a rate of $199. Other travlers and the site told us mild construction. Everyone we ran into complianed. The front desk clerk upon check in even told us that it gets very loud. I know who comes to South Beach to sit in your room. Yeah, but after a long night-- wouldn't you want to sleep past 10am and maybe come to the room for a afternoon night before the long night. Not an option unless you wear earmuffs. We were lucky on the 17th as it was not as loud, People getting off the elveators on 5-10 were so upset. Maybe the oceaview side is better.

My reccomendation is stay somewhere else until the construction is over. You will appreciate the great room, customer service and all other amenties if you do.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin Square, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

Stayed here for my bachelorette weekend with 12 girls. We had 4 rooms. I checked in with 6 others just after 4 pm, when we were told out room was not ready. All 3 of our rooms. He took 30 minutes to tell us this and was extremly rude and nasty about it. Eventually we had our rooms, over an hour later. The hotel itself, inside and out, are beautiful. The grounds are impressive, and the pool is awesome. The other staff were very nice, going out of their way to be helpful. Loved the ammenities by the pool - staff walking around with cold towels, cucumber slices, frozen grapes, etc. Very nice touch! Drinks and food were very good, but of course very pricey. Can't beat the location and price was reasonable. Would definitley stay here again!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

This was our first trip to Miami, and we picked the Loews based on the location and the good reviews it received on Trip Advisor. The location was perfect. It was right on the beach, and just a few blocks from most of the major sites and shopping in South Beach. The staff was also very helpful and welcoming. Everyone we encountered while we were there was friendly.

On the downside, the rooms were not very modern or plush for a hotel in this price range. The bedding was updated, but that was about it. The bathrooms were pretty dated and not at all what I would have expected. They are in the process of upgrading the hotel, so maybe they'll update the rooms. Also, the pool was crowded and there were definitely a lot of kids. If you're looking for a relaxing day at the pool, it's a little tough without getting splashed or bumped into.

Overall, I would recommend the Loews if you are looking for a hotel in South Beach with a great location. If you are looking for something a little more luxurious, this may not be the best choice.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITALY
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2009

We were quite excited to stay at this hotel (we found a special rate to have a partial ocean view due to renovation of the hoel in this period)...We arrived in Miami approx at 11.30am to stay just 1 night, impossible to find a parking so we opted for the valet ($ 34 !!!). A girl at the reception said the room would have been not available before 2.5 hrs at least....Strange...Such a big hotel...off season...no other room available...But anyway, she promised to call us on the mobile once the room is ready...We finally came back to the hotel at 2.00pm (as obviously we did'nt receive any call) to discover that the room was ready....Ok....Room at 14th floor, nice view, NO free wireless (to have free wireless you have to go to the lobby with your laptop...). The surprise arrived only the following morning, just after the check out (in the morning)...we were under attack!!! Bedbugs bites everywhere on our arms and legs (see pics!)....This is COMPLETELY UNACCEPTABLE everywhere, but particularly unacceptable in an hotel like this is supposed to be....We have travelled a lot in the USA and this is the first time such a thing happens! We took the flight back home the same afternoon and once back we have immediately sent an email to the hotel to advise about the situation and to advise NOT TO GIVE that room to other people....I am still waiting for a reply....No other comment...

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smurov, Management Response at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2009
Please be assured that we take reports of bed bugs very seriously and took immediate action upon hearing about the situation. A detailed inspection of the guestroom in question was conducted by members of our staff, who have been trained to identify bed bugs, and there was no evidence of bed bugs found. Additionally, we brought in an outside pest management company to do a second inspection, on the room to be 100% sure, and again no trace of bed bugs were found. Based on these inspections we are confident that the bites were not received during a stay at Loews Miami Beach Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW YORK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

My girlfriends and I went to South Beach for the 4th of July weekend and we stayed at the Lowes. We had a blast and the hotel was just perfect.... I loved the fact that the pool area stayed open 24hrs and you need a dip every now and then with the Florida weather being Hot Hot Hot.

I just loved the Pool and the Jacuzzi and the fact you needed your key card for access to and from the beach and that security was all over the hotel making sure any and everybody would be able to venture onto the hotel grounds.

We have decided the next time we travel to South Beach we will not go to any other hotel then the lowes.

Only problem we did have was the fact that our flight was delayed due to the weather and we were not able to get the correct room our first night there but trust when we were informed we would have our room the next day we did and the staff even moved our luggage and items to our new room. We even recieved a call from the front desk staff informing us of the switch.

The staff was the best ever and so friendly.

I would go to the Lowes with family mate and friends again and they will be seeing me n the near future.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nz
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

I could not speak highly enough of this hotel. Great location, great staff. Room with balcony was brilliant. Food was great - pool bar too. All we could want really.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Miami Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Miami Beach Hotel

Address: 1601 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#15 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Miami Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 790
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The moment you arrive, you are inspired and delighted by everything you see ... From tranquil walls of water and ocean views around every corner to vibrant, modern and supremely comfortable accommodations. With the best location on the beach, the most attentive, genuine staff, and striking design inside and out, you'll truly appreciate every moment at Loews Miami Beach Hotel. Time and time again. Loews Miami Beach Hotel is the premier Miami Beach luxury hotel experience, located in the heart of South Beach, directly on the Atlantic Ocean. Our hotel showcases a palm tree-lined promenade, sparkling oceanfront pool flanked by our luxurious, St. Tropez-inspired cabana deck SOAK. The cabana deck is comprised of eight state-of-the-art poolside cabanas featuring private rooftop terraces and plush, luxury daybeds for day or weekly rentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Loews Miami Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Hotel South Beach
Loews South Beach
Miami Beach Loews

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Miami Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.