We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Miami Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Miami Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1601 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$50 Food/Beverage Credit
Ranked #28 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed for 2 nights as a young couple in March 2015 in order to experience some of South Beach after staying in Downtown Miami.
To start on a good note - the service was excellent. From the front door staff, reception, bell boys to poolside staff, all were very friendly and will go out of their way to help meet your requests.
The lobby area was impressive and grand. However, once we got to the room we were disappointed by the small size and dated decor, especially as we had paid a premium to be there. We weren't too worried though as we decided we will spend most of the time relaxing or exploring outdoors.
However, got to the pool - completely overcrowded with hoards of screaming children. Not a single bed free pool side. With the help of the lovely pool-guy we luckily managed to find 2 beds in the sun on the lawn area (a little away from the loud poolside.)
There's a VIP sun lounger raised area, but surely no one is daft enough to pay to go up there and still be within earshot of the screaming kids?
The next day we thought we would make the most of the beach. Quite frankly the only thing setting apart South Beach & a beach on England's overcrowded south coast during summer, is the sun!!! -- south beach was quite crowded and the hotel charge for chairs ($13 each), umbrellas $19 each and cabanas if i understood correctly starting from $250. Absolute rip off. It is criminal to pay for a so called 5 star hotel and then charge for basic luxuries like chairs on a beach! We refused, so took the complimentary beach towels and lay down amongst the sand littered with trash and some dog poo. South beach is clearly not as glamorous as expected.
Ultimately the hotel and rooms were clean and was an excellent location - short walk from Lincoln road, all the main restaurants and shops - so for that, we were grateful.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,024
    1,167
    414
    150
    141
See reviews for
1,098
1,050
86
648
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (607)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is a great vacation destination whether traveling with family or as couples. The setting is beautiful. Beach or pool to suit your fancy. Excellent Spa and service second to no one. There's a walking path behind the hotel perfect for walking or jogging that goes 10 blocks or more alongside Collins Ave.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Considering that Loews is a national chain, it was gratifying to see that they still took the time to do things right and to take care of their visitors. We even met one of their senior managers in the elevator and he took the time to ensure we were being taken care of. Their location is excellent. Right on the beach. Overall an impressive resort hotel.

Room Tip: Can get noisy during spring break so higher floors are recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida, USA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Went for Art Basel. This hotel was complete. We tried every service/ Exhale spa for nails and massage fantastic,
Both the outside fish/sushi restaurant and the tropical bar. Drinks there were interesting , service pleasant but VERY slow. Restaurant food unbelievably good.
Inside bar was relaxing, enjoyed the jazz band. . Starbucks always good too.
Rooms comfortable with nice amenities and great view. Pool area, proximity to Lincoln road and ocean drive great, being on the boardwalk along the beach great too. Accounting made an error on my room rate, didn't catch it til the next day, but it was corrected immediately,
All my needs were met at this hotel.

Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

i recently stayed two nights with friends at this hotel at a rate of $569 a night. I was shocked when I walked into the room and found it to be much smaller than certain motels. The room is definitely mediocre for what this hotel is charging. They will also charge you a $32 parking fee if you have a rental car, This hotel also charges their guests a $13 chair rental fee should you choose to enjoy the beach and if you happen to still be on the beach at 6:00 pm they will tell you that they have to take the chairs in for the day. If you should decide to eat at their restaurant Preston's you should be prepared to pay between$40-60 for a bland to mediocre breakfast. This hotel is mediocre and strictly out to gouge their guests for every penny that they can get. The concierge people are self absorbed and mainly put their attention on the next guest checking in rather than a current guest with a problem. The bellhop is the only one that shows genuine concern when you have an issue. It's all about business here and no warmth. There are also frequent issues of your room key de-magnetizing. The one bright spot in this place is a blonde employee named Oscar that is always happy to see you and will go out of his way to bring you the most delicious drinks. The valet takes much too long to get your car.

Room Tip: Ocean view
See more room tips
Green Features: doesn't appear that they have any. No solar panels at all
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My group and myself stayed this hotel for 4 nights. specially the location of the hotel is great. Just few minutes walk to Ocean drive or Lincoln Av. Also if you are in Miami for conference or congress, its also 6-8 min. walking distance to the Miami Convention Center. Staff is friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean and tidy but need some more extra attention. Breakfast is good and there is also Starbucks in the lobby. also pay attention for the room choices because some of the room windows not opening if you need some fresh air..

Room Tip: Be sure to get ocean view which are the best. Also pay attention for the some room windows doesn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Staying at the Loews Miami Beach is an experience in itself. What a beautiful grand hotel that has a friendly staff waiting to greet you and assist you with everything. It was our 1st time staying there and we did not want to leave. The pool was relaxing and the service was great.. Definitely try the watermelon & crab salad and mojitos! AMAZING! Our room was very clean and the I melted right into the bed and had the best nights sleeps. The location of the hotel is perfect as you are right on the beach and they offer lounge chairs, umbrellas and cabanas. We chose a cabana down by the water so the view was great and they even have servers that you can order food and drinks from.. We will most definitely be heading back there in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Loews Hotels and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Miami Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Miami Beach Hotel

Address: 1601 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#19 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Miami Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 790
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The moment you arrive, you are inspired and delighted by everything you see ... From tranquil walls of water and ocean views around every corner to vibrant, modern and supremely comfortable accommodations. With the best location on the beach, the most attentive, genuine staff, and striking design inside and out, you'll truly appreciate every moment at Loews Miami Beach Hotel. Time and time again. Loews Miami Beach Hotel is the premier Miami Beach luxury hotel experience, located in the heart of South Beach, directly on the Atlantic Ocean. Our hotel showcases a palm tree-lined promenade, sparkling oceanfront pool flanked by our luxurious, St. Tropez-inspired cabana deck SOAK. The cabana deck is comprised of eight state-of-the-art poolside cabanas featuring private rooftop terraces and plush, luxury daybeds for day or weekly rentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Loews Miami Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Hotel South Beach
Loews South Beach
Miami Beach Loews

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Miami Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.