We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stopover point” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Miami Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Miami Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1601 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Beverages!
Ranked #34 of 204 Hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
cheshire UK
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good stopover point”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We stayed here for 3 days before setting off around the keys . Room (king Suite) on the 17th floor was quiet ,spacious and comfortable with good views of the morning sunrise from both balconies,and we slept well. Upsides of this hotel - great location for both the boardwalk (early morning run) and Lincoln avenue shops and restaurants are a very short walk. Downsides - the pool area is packed like sardines and you have to pay extra (SOAK) to get the experience you might expect, we declined.
Also as Brits we like tea but only a coffee machine was in the room . The first kettle was provided quickly but didn't work, and a second one was apparently not available. I suggested to the hotel that for $800+ a night they could go out and buy a new one - it seems they did as a new kettle arrived shortly, so all good.
I would use this hotel again for our next visit

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear marathonman52,
Your review of our hotel is greatly appreciated and we are happy to have been able to host you and your family this year. It sounds like your family and you were welcomed and treated as you should be with the genuine Loews hospitality that shines through our highly-trained and dedicated team members. Part of the SOAK experience is in the personal service and pampering that is provided to all of the guests who are using those beds and cabanas, we are so glad to hear that you were able to experience that during your stay with. We look forward to having you vacationing with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,810
    1,071
    374
    137
    138
See reviews for
1,006
955
77
580
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (554)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very nice and the staff is friendly. Carlos Angel was absolutely the most helpful hotel staff person I have ever come had the pleasure of meeting. He went above and beyond his "job" to help me. He was helpful, knowledgable, friendly, and funny. Loews was good, Carlos was exceptional!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Denise K,
We are thrilled that we were able to provide you with a WOW experience during your recent stay at the Loews Miami Beach! It is our goal to ensure that each guest feels pampered while they are here, and leaves feeling rejuvenated and ready to conquer anything. From your review it sounds like our team, specially Carlos Angel did an exceptional job delivering true Loews hospitality. We couldn't thank you enough for the positive feedback you provided us, and can't wait to host you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

The concierge recommended an airboat tour. We spent three hours in traffic including a wait to transfer to another bus, an hour in a gift shop for a forty minute low speed airboat ride. Otherwise the room was nice, the location is central and after visiting other hotels the pool is the best. It would have been nice to not have wasted the day.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear PatEnfield,
We are so thrilled that you had a fantastic experience at our hotel. Your feedback and kind words are what keep us forward focused towards seeking perfection. We want all guests to enjoy their time, feel welcome throughout their stay, and simply relax and enjoy all that Loews and South Beach have to offer. We are disappointed to hear that you had a horrible experience referred by our concierge, we sincerely apologize. We will be sure to inform our concierge department of your experience. Again we thank you for sharing your experience with us!. We look forward to welcoming you and your friends back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed here two nights after our Disney cruise, and we wanted to relax in the sun a few days before going home. The pool is nice, but getting a chair is very difficult. Guests wake up early to reserve chairs and then leave. So when you make it to the pool, there are tons of chairs with towels on them showing that they are reserved but no people. The pool staff does place notes on vacant chairs to warn guests that you have an hour to return to your chair or it will be taken. I found this pretty annoying. Who wants to stress about getting a chair on vacation? On the good side, the pool staff coordinates some kid activities which our kids (9 and 7) enjoyed. They had fun in the pool. Food at the pool was good.

The beach is also nice but you do have to pay for chairs there which is also annoying. I feel like you get a bit nickel and dimed at this hotel. Coffee is not free in the lobby. The brewed coffee was just mass produced Starbucks which was not that good. I expected better for the price. If you want coffee, go to the coffee shop located in front of the hotel.

The area is very nice and you can walk to restaurants if you want. For the price, I'd seek out another hotel next time.

Room Tip: We had a direct view ocean room. Make sure it is high enough (I'd say floor 8 or above) otherwi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear ccpr20,
Your review of our hotel is greatly appreciated. First, thank you for joining us during your recent trip to Miami. We appreciate any and all feedback which we receive from our guests, as it helps us to grow and expand on ways to better assist them in the future. You mentioned the pricing for the beach chairs - Loews Hotels has a partnership with Boucher Brothers which is the beach team that manages all of the huts, chairs and umbrellas as well as various watersports and activities all up and down South Beach. Boucher Brothers offers Loews guests a discount on their activities and rentals because of our great partnership with them. If you are a Loews guest, and you mention this to them when you are at the beach, 2 chairs and an umbrella will cost you $35. Thank you again for your review. We hope to have another chance to delight you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is by no means great!
Its too big and inpersonal.
Rooms at the St Moritz tower are very small and old.
Its a great location though...
Car parking costs 40 dollars a day!!
Service is average! Not even close to great... Pool is very crowded...A mess!
Be careful with the "great" reviews...
Jgufcyxugc
Jgvguvuf
Guvf
Ihbguv

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Pedro O,
On behalf of all the staff here at Loews Miami we want to thank you for staying with us and we are honored that you chose to spend your vacation with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It is unfortunate that you found the hotel to be less than luxury and not matching up to the descriptions. We pride ourselves on having more than just an exceptional staff, which you mentioned. At Loews we work to truly go above and beyond to create a warm, welcoming, and satisfying experience, so we apologize that you feel your stay was any less than this. Your comments will be shared with our team in an effort to be more efficient. We hope that we can welcome you back again soon for a better experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

My husband & I spent 1 night. Check in was directed by a guest who told us where the line was...the lobby is a disorganized mess ..as stated in previous reviews you can hear the guests in the next room. It is so tacky to charge for beach chairs yet not for pool ... Staff at pool taking food & drink orders uniforms were dirty stained .. Gross. Toiletries in bathroom are not 4-5 star standard ...not worth the money. Have stayed at the Loews in London ... Total opposite professional staff,clean pristine ...that's the Brits way ...sad representation of Loews at South Beach .

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Becky L,
Your review of our hotel is greatly appreciated. First, thank you for joining us during your recent trip to Miami. We appreciate any and all feedback which we receive from our guests, as it helps us to grow and expand on ways to better assist them in the future. You mentioned the pricing for the beach chairs - Loews Hotels has a partnership with Boucher Brothers which is the beach team that manages all of the huts, chairs and umbrellas as well as various watersports and activities all up and down South Beach. Boucher Brothers offers Loews guests a discount on their activities and rentals because of our great partnership with them. If you are a Loews guest, and you mention this to them when you are at the beach, 2 chairs and an umbrella will cost you $35. Thank you again for your review. We hope to have another chance to delight you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Having been to Miami several times, we have always stayed in the Ritz Carlton next door without question. However due to sensationally high prices there we looked for an alternate.
The Loews is a beautiful, vibrant and welcoming hotel, we stayed on an top floor suite with breathtaking views of the downtown Miami and of the beach. This view must be rivalled by only a few multimillion dollar apartments a very few hotel rooms.
The room itself was great with free wifi, and a huge balcony. Breakfast was great (albeit expensive) with at the great touch of a juice bar and an in-house 'Starbucks' coffee shop.

The pool is very lively and the beach side food is great albeit the service is very slow. Overall an excellent place and when we return will now have to think considerable to which hotel to go to! The gym is a little small in terms of the weight zone.
The bar in the evening is great and the Lure restaurant is fantastic.
Thank you Loews.


Concerns: — outside the front, the lack of being able to get a taxi quickly. The shear mess of cars! make it one way!
- The lack of a club level! why?
- the 2 beds per person policy? when there were 4 of us in our party
- taking away our 21st birthday balloons as a 'security risk'! seriously!!!

Room Tip: make sure you are on the rooms that overlook to the south and are high. the north side is blocked by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear ChrisMcCartin,
Thank you for your feedback and for choosing to join us to celebrate! We pride ourselves on offering state-of-the-art amenities, quality service and highly trained and guest service focused team members. Your recent stay exemplifies the true Loews hospitality, and we are so glad that you were able to experience the best that we have to offer. We look forward to hosting you many more times. Thank you again for sharing your thoughts with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Miami Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Miami Beach Hotel

Address: 1601 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#15 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Miami Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 790
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The moment you arrive, you are inspired and delighted by everything you see ... From tranquil walls of water and ocean views around every corner to vibrant, modern and supremely comfortable accommodations. With the best location on the beach, the most attentive, genuine staff, and striking design inside and out, you'll truly appreciate every moment at Loews Miami Beach Hotel. Time and time again. Loews Miami Beach Hotel is the premier Miami Beach luxury hotel experience, located in the heart of South Beach, directly on the Atlantic Ocean. Our hotel showcases a palm tree-lined promenade, sparkling oceanfront pool flanked by our luxurious, St. Tropez-inspired cabana deck SOAK. The cabana deck is comprised of eight state-of-the-art poolside cabanas featuring private rooftop terraces and plush, luxury daybeds for day or weekly rentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelClick, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Loews Miami Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Hotel South Beach
Loews South Beach
Miami Beach Loews

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Miami Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.