We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Miami Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Loews Miami Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1601 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$25 Food
Ranked #37 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

we stayed here while in Miami for a few days at the beginning of our honeymoon. We stayed in the 2nd tower which was nice and we'll decorated, however we didn't have a balcony and had two double beds in our room which didn't make much sense plus they were the smallest double beds I've ever seen.

Breakfast was great and the pool was brilliant. Couldn't have asked for better service from the staff either.

Hotel is definitely worth staying in and I would stay again if I was in Miami Beach again (which i doubt as wasn't really what I was expecting).

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Big_Max1985 ,
Firstly, Congratulations on your nuptials. We thank you for your review of the Loews Miami Beach during your recent stay. While we were surprised to hear your comments regarding the size, we would like to note that our Double Bedded room mattresses are in fact the traditional size for hotels and resorts. With its rich history and traditional fixtures, the St. Moritz tower is exceptional and truly a divine piece of the Loews Miami Beach. We extended our apologies for the balcony, however, if there are any error in the room type, feel free to contact our "Guests Services" and they will be happy to make the change for you. Once more, we apologize. However, despite the minor hiccups, it seems that you enjoyed your stay at the Loews Miami Beach. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,030 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,507
    932
    337
    128
    126
See reviews for
861
820
70
470
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (490)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My friends and I were in South Beach this past week and were staying at the RIU(BIG MISTAKE). We ended up having drinks at Loews and fell in love with the service and hotel instantly. Well, as fate would have it, we ended leaving the RIU due to many issues and we booked rooms at Loews. When we booked, Danesha at check in was very helpful and very courteous! It was the best thing we could have done and it made for an excellent trip!!! The staff were friendly! The hotel is absolutely gorgeous with a great bar, sushi bar, ice cream shop. Luis from the Splash gift shop was very helpful and friendly and made reservations for us this restaurant called Serafina. The pool staff was GREAT, especially PJ, he made sure we were taken care of and worked very hard to make sure our pool experience was great! It was just an all around wonderful experience. The hotel is located close to everything and within walking distance of Ocean, Lincoln and Washington. My girls and I were very happy with the service and have stated when we come back again, we will be booking at Loews. Thanks to all that made our trip a pleasureable experience!!!!! Until next time........

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Tamara P,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us during your recent stay . It is a pleasure to hear that you had such a warm welcome and that Billy took great care of you. We pride ourselves on having the best team in South Beach, and Danesha, PJ and Luis are example of that! Our team is dedicated to providing an AND MORE experience and exceeding expectations. As you stated, our location, close proximity to all that South Beach has to offer and the amenities within the hotel truly make for an unforgettable experience full of memories to last a lifetime. We look forward to welcoming you and your girls back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed at this Hotel for our Honeymoon in September 2013. The Hotel was great and the Room was very roomy and spotless. The Restaurants were also very good. Service was exceptional!! Our first encounter was with Billy the Bellman, he went above and beyond to make us feel comfortable and shared all of his knowledge of the Hotel and surrounding area. The housekeeping department was also very obliging, I would definitely stay at the Loews again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Mary Beth D,
Congratulations on your nuptials! Thank you for sharing your experience with us during your recent stay . It is a pleasure to hear that you had such a warm welcome and that Billy took great care of you. We pride ourselves on having the best team in South Beach, and Billy is a prime example of that! Our team is dedicated to providing an AND MORE experience and exceeding expectations. Again, thank you for your review, we wish you a lifetime of happiness and hope to host you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

It is a very nice and well located hotel. The pool is big, comfortable and fit for children and adults, but it becomes very crowded in the middle of the day. The hotel has separate an area close to the pool with chairs and umbrellas to "private (paid) club members", so the guests have to arrive early to guarantee a place in the remaining space. Also pay attention to some costs not included in the daily rate: 1) parking - there is a public parking just in front of the hotel main building ($16 a day) that is a much better option for the valet service ($ 40 a day); 2) beach amenities- not included in the rate; you will have to pay for the umbrella and the chairs if you want to enjoy the beach in a comfortable way.

Room Tip: The annex (building #2) is apparently the old building refurbished and it has not the same quality o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Ardenghy ,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback of the hotel and are happy to hear that you enjoyed the property, its close proximity to all that South Beach has to offer. About your experience with the beach chairs, we apologize that this put you off a bit, but would like to explain the reason for the charge. While the company that supplies the beach chairs and umbrellas is affiliated with Loews, they are their own entity and manage the entire beach area, so they do offer a discounted rate to our guests, but unfortunately cannot provide these items to us complimentary. This is not uncommon in South Beach, but for someone who doesn't frequent Miami often, we can see where this could come as a surprise. All in all it seems like you had a good stay, and so we hope that we will be seeing you at our hotel again soon. Thank you for your comments, we greatly appreciate the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Great property on a great beach with great service comes at a high price. Is it worth it? Well, now that I contemplate what you spend for a beach cabana or a couple of drinks, I have a little bit of buyers remorse but forget that, you only live once.....This place oozes coolness and not just on a superficial level. The place actually delivers, and the people, from the valet parking attendants to the servers on the beach, make this place special. The food is excellent for hotel food and it has live music on the weekends at the pool and in the bar lounge. I would come back again with my family and next time, I won't make the mistake of looking at my Amex bill the next month.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
We appreciate the feedback, kind words and loyalty to our hotel. We are thrilled that you had a wonderful time at our hotel and hope to see you again soon. As for the comments about our SOAK cabana, we are truly so proud of the look, feel and service they provide. Our staff is exceptional and tends to your every need via our cabana concierge service. The oceanfront access and luxury amenities that adorn the cabanas make it a sure hot spot when visiting the Loews. We are so happy you enjoyed the experience and look forward to hosting you again soon. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I held a 50 person conference here in September. The event went very well with all aspects handled smoothly and efficiently by the excellent staff. All attendees raved about both the excellent service and delicious food.
The rooms were large and clean with very comfortable beds. I was lucky enough to be in a 1 bedroom suite which had 2 balconies with spectacular views. If you can afford this room, it was worth the extra money!
The beach in South Beach is WONDERFUL. It is wide with a gentle slope into the water. I ran on it every morning. I felt safe and had an amazing view of the sunrise as I completed my run. You can rent a chair from the Loews for the day for a nominal fee, but there is plenty of room to just spread out a towel and enjoy the sun.
Lincoln Road, the epi-center of happenings in South Beach, is just a couple of blocks away giving you walking access to as much shopping and eating as you could possibly want.
The only downside to my trip was my visit tot he spa. I booked a last minute hot stone massage. My massage therapist was basically unfriendly at first. Though she warmed up slightly towards the end, I would not have booked again for that reason alone. Unfortunately, the device that heated the stones was malfunctioning and there were long gaps in my massage. She did not tell me this until about 1/2 way through the massage so I spent the first 1/2 of my massage wondering where the therapist was and the 1/2 half annoyed that she didn't just continue the massage without the rocks. Not at all relaxing or enjoyable. When I went to pay, I found out they had an automatic 20% gratuity on the bill. As I was running late for an appointment, I didn't have time to ask them to take it off, so I do not know if that was a possibility. I could have spoken up, but she was so unfriendly in the beginning, I didn't want to bother.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience to our hotel. Everyday we strive to deliver better service and it is your feedback that allows us to improve. Please accept my apology for the inconvenience you encountered during your stay. I can assure your that your experience is not a usual occurance and we will be sure to work on the areas that need attention. If you wish to discuss your experience futher, please do not hesitate to contact my office at 305-604-5452 or email my assistant at aamaya@loewshotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

This was our first trip to Miami and boy, did the Loews make it one to remember. Our upgrade to an Oceanview suite because our Garden Terrace suite was being recarpeted just topped it all off. Staff excellent friendly and very accommodating - location excellent to all Sobe has to offer - Lincoln Road across the street. The Pool perfect and direct beach access as we'll was terrific. Thanks Loews - we loved your hotel and we loved Miami xxx

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Muffin68,

We are pleased to have had you as our guest and even more that you enjoyed yourself during your recent vacation to our hotel. You mentioned how close we are to various hot spots in Miami, and we pride ourselves in being the heart of South Beach because of it. Our team is dedicated to providing an AND MORE experience and exceeding expectations, and it sounds like you have been witness to this. We are glad to have played a role in making your first trip to Miami a memorable one. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Loews Miami Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Miami Beach Hotel

Address: 1601 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#19 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Miami Beach Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The moment you arrive, you are inspired and delighted by everything you see ... From tranquil walls of water and ocean views around every corner to vibrant, modern and supremely comfortable accommodations. With the best location on the beach, the most attentive, genuine staff, and striking design inside and out, you'll truly appreciate every moment at Loews Miami Beach Hotel. Time and time again. Loews Miami Beach Hotel is the premier Miami Beach luxury hotel experience, located in the heart of South Beach, directly on the Atlantic Ocean. Our hotel showcases a palm tree-lined promenade, sparkling oceanfront pool flanked by our luxurious, St. Tropez-inspired cabana deck SOAK. The cabana deck is comprised of eight state-of-the-art poolside cabanas featuring private rooftop terraces and plush, luxury daybeds for day or weekly rentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Loews Miami Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Hotel South Beach
Loews South Beach
Miami Beach Loews

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Miami Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.