We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick stop at Miami Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Miami Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Miami Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1601 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Beverages!
Ranked #35 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dublin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Quick stop at Miami Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Unfortunately we only had one night to stay in Miami as we were stopping off en route to New York after our cruise, although we wish we could have stayed longer. The front office staff were very friendly and professional and kindly upgraded us to a nicer room as it was our honeymoon.

You couldn't fault the amenities and location. Its perfectly located on South Beach and the pool within the hotel was lovely. Are only comments would be the check in time of 4pm was a little late for our liking and the food and drinks on site were very expensive, although there were plenty of bars and restaurants nearby so this wasn't a problem.

We would definitely recommend this hotel and hopefully we will return in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear JohnMah,

Congratulations on your wedding! We are so happy for you and are elated that you decided to stay with us on your way to the honeymoon. While you did not have long to experience the hotel and all of the amenities we provide, we are glad that you had a chance to try out a few of the finer things we have in store. From the upgraded room, the amenities and more, our hotel provides a full service luxury experience. You are probably in the middle of your honeymoon, so we wish you all the best during the rest of your travels and in your futures together.

We look forward to your return in the future. All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,870
    1,100
    383
    141
    139
See reviews for
1,031
979
80
595
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (567)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This hotel is amazing! We had such a great time. Everything was awesome. Check in was quick and easy. All the staff were very friendly. We got a surprise upgrade to an ocean view room! We had someone bring up our bags and show us around the property. Our room was beautiful. We were on the 12th floor in a king room. There was a balcony with two chairs and a small table with a great view of the beach. We used one of the coupons given to us for some ice cream one evening. We swam in the pool late one night, it is open 24 hours. Very nice. We had such a good time here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Chelsey V,

Your feedback is much appreciated. Thank you for joining us during your recent visit to Miami. We are thrilled to have had you as our guest, and thank you for sharing your thoughts about our hotel and your stay. It sounds like you enjoyed yourself and everything the Loews Miami Beach have to offer. From our outstanding staff, your upgraded ocean view room, to the coupon book and more...there is always something to do at our hotel. From the sound of it you were able to experience it all in this one visit, but we hope you will join us again soon to see what else we have in store. Thank you again and have a wonderful summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Stayed here in November 2012 with my husband and two boys for our first family vacation in years. So glad we did, not only is this place family-oriented, it's also luxurious!!! Arriving at the hotel at night after an all day flight from San Diego, I didn't expect our room to have a view of the beach, so when we all woke up the next morning and saw how nice the view was even from our deluxe room, we were just all blown away.

The pool area is a treat to both kids and parents, alike. They have hourly activities for kids and has lots of freebies. KIds were sad to leave as they treated this place as their "home" in Miami. Definitely returning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Jess Y,

Its wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your time during your stay! We take pride in providing stress-free family vacations by having our kids programs which is designed to make it easy and fun for families to travel with children . We are particularly happy that the view from your room helped to enhance this experience for you. It sounds like you had an overall satisfactory experience and our team took great care of you.

We thank you for your review and for joining us, and hope you will join us for many more family vacations in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Just spent the weekend here with my wife and would definitely recommend to other couples and/or families looking for a South Beach vacation. We had a "Luxury" room on the 17th floor. The view was amazing as we were above many of the surrounding buildings and had a clear view of the ocean for as far as you could see. I should also say that the "room" is actually a suite with a large living area that is separate from the bedroom. The service at this hotel is what really impressed us the most. From the woman at check-in to the pool attendant to our waiter at Nautilus for lunch, they all made us feel pampered in a very friendly and comfortable way. We have stayed in many other luxury hotels and the service at the Loews was better than many of the much higher priced resorts. Check for their special rates and you can find some decent values compared to other resorts in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Rich L,

We appreciate your feedback and thank you for staying at our hotel during your recent vacation. Our local flair and energetic staff bring the spirit of Miami into each guest experience and they truly work to ensure your stay is comfortable and enjoyable. It sounds like you had an overall satisfactory experience and our team took great care of you. We thank you again for your review and for joining us, and hope there will be many more visits to come in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sf Bay Area
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed 4 nights, 16th floor ocean view. Location was great, on the beach, pool lively and pretty. Rooms were nice, very small balcony. Great, friendly staff.
The biggest problem I had with this hotel was the plastic cups that all drinks were served in. At first, when I saw them next to the delicious watermelon drinking water by the pool, I thought that it was such a great idea to use reusable cups that could be washed instead of throwing them out or recycling them. Not so!!!! They throw them in the garbage can, thousands of them everyday. We ended up taking home the 30 or so we used to wash and use for outdoor parties because they are really strong good cups. These are not "red-solo" cups that are meant for one use, these are hard thick cups. After an afternoon rain shower when the guests went inside quickly, the beach was covered with hundreds of them. (see the pictures)
It seems like someone could come up with a better plan, or educate the guests about how to reuse or recycle them.
Also, I would say about 60% of the guests at this hotel smoke on the beach and there are no ashtrays. That means those butts are going in the sand, then into the perfect turquoise water nearby, eww.
Loews does a huge business at this hotel and has a responsibility to take care of the beautiful environment they are in. With a few responsible tweaks, this hotel could be perfect.
I would love to hear of Loews fixing this issue, because I would return!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear jmacSfBayArea,

Thank you for the positive feedback regarding your recent visit to our property. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our premier location in South Beach and particularly your 16th floor ocean view. It sounds like you had an overall satisfactoy experience. Furthermore, because safety is one of our priorities, that is why we use quality plastic cups in order to prevent any accidents. Our Hotel fully embraces our responsibility as an environmental steward and believes in developing sustainable practices as a leader in the industry. We apprciate the suggestion as far as recycling bins and educating our guests on the importance of recycling. We will defenitely look into develeping a way to improve that. However, we are glad that you took a memory of your great experience at The Loew's Miami Beach home with you!
Enjoy the cups and we look forward to seeing you again, soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

overpriced - nothing special--pool area over crowded, not enough chairs, needed to get to the pool area by 8 to get an umbrella. Air conditioning was on the whole time we were there -- room never got cold, was comfortable but not cold. 18% tip added in on all checks--that is fine, sometimes i give more but not if already added in. Good location inbetween ocean ave and lincoln street. Too many other nicer hotels to stay at for same price or less.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear phil g,

Your review of our hotel is greatly appreciated. First, thank you for joining us during your recent trip to Miami. We appreciate any and all feedback which we receive from our guests, as it helps us to grow and expand on ways to better assist them in the future. You mentioned a few items during your stay that weren't special to you and we are sorry to hear that. We do our best to always cater to our guests needs and make sure their stay is superb. As for the pool situation where you had trouble getting chairs after 8am, I will be sure to pass this on to the team to see what ways we can better accommodate guests and ensure this doesn't happen again. Thank you again for your review. We hope to have another chance to delight you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I haven't been to South Beach in several years and selected the Loew's because I have stayed at several of their properties before and I was able to take advantage of their summer sale to receive 40% off of their room rates. They have these sales about once every 3-4 months. Sign up for their e-mails to be notified of the sales.

We thankfully made the decision to upgrade our room to an ocean view room with a balcony and this was probably the best decision that we made for our trip. The view was gorgeous. We had a view of the pool and ocean on the 7th floor.

The things that stick out in my mind about the hotel are:

* Every staff member that I encountered was extremely friendly, from the valet staff to the door person to the housekeeping to the front desk clerk and the pool staff.

* The bed was very comfortable. I wish I could have that bed, bedding and pillows in my own home - it was heavenly.

* We were celebrating my husband's birthday and a complimentary piece of delicious cake was delivered to our room with a large bottle of Fiji water.

* I enjoyed the pool experience. They have pool staff assist you in finding your chairs and setting you up. They will even bring an umbrella to your chairs if you so desire. They offer complimentary services by the pool that we really enjoyed - drink samples, fruit kabobs, fruit infused water, evian water sprayed on your face to cool you down, snack samples; etc.

* I LOVED that the room had a Keurig coffee maker with two regular coffees, one decaf and one green tea that we could use as soon as we woke up. I do not like having to go seek out coffee in the hotel and this was great because I could make my coffee and sit on our beautiful balcony and look at the view and ENJOY

* My biggest complaint about the room itself is that there is no refrigerator space whatsoever to keep drinks cool. There is a mini-bar that is weighted and if you move anything, it will be charged to your bill. AND if you remove the items from the mini bar and put your own items in, you will be charged a $30 restocking fee. We requested a fridge and were told that there was a waiting list with five people ahead of us and that there would be a charge of $30 per day for a refrigerator. My husband ended up walking to Walgreens to purchase a inexpensive cooler for $7.

* There is complimentary fruit infused water in the lobby and by the pool area that was wonderful.

* The hotel is in an excellent location to Lincoln Road restaurants and shops - we loved this. It is also in an excellent location to Ocean Drive but I would be extremely careful with those restaurants because many of them are a tourist trap that just want your money.

Room Tip: UPGRADE to an ocean view room - best part of our trip was seeing the beautiful water from our balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Stephanie D,

We are thrilled that we were able to provide you with an exceptional experience during your recent stay at the Loews Miami Beach! We are happy to hear that you joined us for your husbands birthday, we appreciate you joining us for such a special occasion. It is our goal to ensure that each guest feels pampered while they are here and it sounds like you received just that from the moment you arrived to the minute you left. From your review it sounds like our team did an exceptional job making you and your husband feel relaxed during your stay. Apologies for the inconvenience with the fridge in the room. We do have a limited inventory for these items and try our best to accommodate all requests. Again, we couldn't thank you enough for the overall positive feedback you provided us, and can't wait to host you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Miami Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Miami Beach Hotel

Address: 1601 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#19 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Miami Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 790
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The moment you arrive, you are inspired and delighted by everything you see ... From tranquil walls of water and ocean views around every corner to vibrant, modern and supremely comfortable accommodations. With the best location on the beach, the most attentive, genuine staff, and striking design inside and out, you'll truly appreciate every moment at Loews Miami Beach Hotel. Time and time again. Loews Miami Beach Hotel is the premier Miami Beach luxury hotel experience, located in the heart of South Beach, directly on the Atlantic Ocean. Our hotel showcases a palm tree-lined promenade, sparkling oceanfront pool flanked by our luxurious, St. Tropez-inspired cabana deck SOAK. The cabana deck is comprised of eight state-of-the-art poolside cabanas featuring private rooftop terraces and plush, luxury daybeds for day or weekly rentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Venere, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Loews Miami Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Hotel South Beach
Loews South Beach
Miami Beach Loews

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Miami Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.