We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great SoBe Option for Families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Miami Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Miami Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1601 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Beverages!
Ranked #33 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great SoBe Option for Families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I recently returned from a three night stay at the Loews with girlfriends. I would definitely recommend the Loews to anyone interested in staying on South Beach with children. It is in a perfect location, and there are numerous amenities geared towards kids. We also were able to secure a clean, nice room for a very reasonable rate. We were happy with the hotel, but would likely not go back there for a girls weekend because of the sheer size of the hotel and the "Club Med" vibe.

Here are my usual Pros and Cons to help you make your decision!

The Pros:
Fantastic location, right in the middle of Collins, very close to Lincoln. The only time we took a cab was to get to Prime 112 for dinner (and it was a $5.00 cab ride). Many things are in easy walking distance, including the Delano and SLS' bars and restaurants. The beach is gorgeous and steps away from the property. The service is really, really attentive, particularly for being a large, seemingly "generic" hotel. We were quite pleased with the umbrella/chair rental and beverage/food service. Everyone was very friendly throughout our stay and truly made things happen for us almost instantly. Mistakes were rectified immediately and courteously, reservations made, etc. The common areas of the property are clean, but not memorable. We were able to secure a very affordable rate a couple of months in advance, and it seems that there are often some nice specials and room rates.

The Cons (to me, but these could be pros to others....):
It is a very large property, so it has a more "corporate" or generic feel. The decor is a tad dated, and sometimes when walking through the restaurant areas, I had a bit of a cruise ship vibe. I typically enjoy more boutique settings. Just something to consider when making your choice. The pool area is truly overrun with kids. I have a child and think it would be a great spot for a family vacay. That being said, being near the pool area felt chaotic and, again, sort of "cruise ship"-esque. They have a kids program being run in and near the pool. It is a huge, non-relaxing, non-updated pool. The whole area was packed with people on lawn chairs, eating, smoking, and dealing with kids. We never enjoyed the pool because of this and, frankly, looked at some of the other more upscale pools from the boardwalk with longing.

Our room was, overall, clean, but there was a hair on the phone and the phone had dirt on it. The safe was broken, but it was fixed promptly. We were awakened early (9 am) on our first morning there by a man vigorously scrubbing the threshold of our room. We were all disturbed by it, and were wondering why the small threshold area of our exterior door had to be loudly scrubbed so early in the morning.

I would recommend the Loews, but with the caveats that it is nothing special; family-centric, and large. That being said, it is an affordable way to enjoy a clean, beachfront property on South Beach.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Nolanative,

We appreciate your feedback and thank you for being so detailed in your review about Loews and your recent visit. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed yourself and that you found the staff and hotel to exceed your expectations. While there may have been a few cons to your stay, overall it seems you enjoyed your time and experience with us. We look forward to hosting you again soon and thank you again for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,856
    1,090
    381
    140
    139
See reviews for
1,024
974
80
590
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (564)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Pretty hotel on Miami beach with lots of amenities. The beach is literally less than a min from the pool. I had reserved a luxury room with partial view of the ocean so did get that though the rooms did feel little tiny. One recommendation is to request a room with outdoor balcony so that you enjoy the cool breeze anytime you feel like relaxing in the room. Valet parking is a bit pricey with $40/ day, I would recommend parking right across the public parking garage @$20/ day if you have less luggage. Bell desk was extremely efficient and took care of our belongings while we checked in. Also their coupon book came pretty handy with tons of savings from dinning, massage, drinks etc. Also the hotel is right on Collins Ave so you can walk to all the high upscale shops and nice restaurants within couple of blocks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear SK_Houston,

Your feedback is much appreciated. Thank you for joining us during your recent visit to Miami. We are thrilled to have had you as our guest, and thank you for sharing your thoughts about our hotel and your stay. It sounds like you enjoyed yourself and everything the Loews Miami Beach have to offer. From our outstanding staff, to the food and poolside pamperings, coupon book and more...there is always something to do at our hotel. From the sound of it you were able to experience it all in this one visit, but we hope you will join us again soon to see what else we have in store. Thank you again and have a wonderful summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canadian, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My husband and I were robbed while there, at their pool, and the security guards did nothing as he ran off. Absolutely nothing, just stood there watching while we pointed and yelled to stop him. My father assumes they were probably in on it. The Hotel didn't as much as apologize, no one from management contacted us, any authority within their security department (it was extensive, which is why we allowed ourselves to be lulled into feeling safe enough to leave our things beside the pool at our chairs) was absent for the remainder of our stay.
Wait staff were rude, unhelpful, and incompetent, then disinterested/dismissive following any further request for assistance. One of the worst hotel experiences i've ever had. And here i though paying a fortune at a reputable hotel would somehow ensure a little respect and some enjoyable family time. A pretty hotel doesn't make up for being treated like crap the entire time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear reasonablestandards8,

Thank you for your recent visit to our hotel. I am grateful that you have taken the time to share your valuable feedback. After reading your response I am disappointed to hear that you had an uncomfortable situation at the pool and felt like no one reacted to assist you with resolving the issue at hand. Without more information, I cannot be sure what happened on our end, but we would like to do further investigation and see what was and was not done. If you would contact us at your earliest convenience so we could get to the bottom of what happened we would appreciate that. The security team has been notified of your situation and will be happy to assist you, please call 305.604.1601 and ask for Scott the Director of Security. Rest assured we uphold uncompromised integrity with our team and our guests, and will do whatever we can to better assist you in this time. Additionally, the Loews Miami Beach Hotel takes great pride in providing a safe and secure environment for our guests. We look forward to hearing from you and hopefully turning this situation around so we can welcome you back again for another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed at Loews for my bachelorette party in June 2013. We randomly found a sale and got suites for a great deal. We had an ocean view suite and it was absolutely beautiful! The room was wonderful, my only complaint would be that there should be more fridge space. We had to get ice quite a few times to keep everything cold since it wasn't in a fridge, but that is my only minimal complaint.

The pool is clean, large, nice and has lots of chairs. But don't let that fool you, you still need to grab a chair by mid to late morning to get a spot. We reserved a cabana one day... what an amazing experience! It was not cheap, but the service was amazing and it was really nice to have your private bathroom, A/C, tv, and enough seating for all 8 of us. We were on the beach the other day and the service was great there as well. I think it's a private beach for all of the hotels, but you can charge anything you want to your room which was convenient.

We did not eat at any restaurants in the hotel, but there was a small European style restaurant immediately outside the hotel that we went to every day for coffee and brunch. There is also a Walgreens and liquor store a few doors down which was convenient. We never had to go further than a 3 minute walk outside of the hotel.

Beautiful hotel for a couple or a group of friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Bert1826,

We are so thrilled that you and your grilfriends had a fantastic experience at our hotel during your bachelorette party. Your feedback and kind words are what keep us forward focused towards seeking perfection. We want all guests to enjoy their time, feel welcome throughout their stay, and simply relax and enjoy all that Loews and South Beach have to offer. Your group was able to enjoy most of the fine amenities of our hotel and we are glad to hear you were satisfied with your overall stay. Next time you will have to try our restaurants and see how delicious our chef's creations are. Again we thank you for sharing your experience with us, and will be sure to pass on the positive feedback to all related departments. We look forward to welcoming you and your friends back again soon. In fact, join us next year for our annual Girlfriends' Getaway Weekend event in April. You will love it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Loved this hotel! This is my second time staying at the Lowes Miami on a recent business trip. Our company blocked rooms for our meetings and utilized the conference areas. The hotel is a perfect location in Miami with restaurants, clubs, and shopping within walking distance. The front desk, concierge, and valet staff were friendly and very courteous. The rooms were contemporary, comfortable, and very clean! Love the pool area, and access to the beach! The service at the pool was exceptional! As for catering our conference meetings, the staff were friendly and helpful. Everything seemed to run very smoothly for a group of our size. Overall, the experience was very enjoyable! We look forward to returning again! I would recommend this hotel for business, couples, ladies/gents weekends, and families.

Room Tip: Ask for the beach view rooms, away from the elevators, to enjoy a more tranquil visit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear MB_Cine,

We are thrilled that we were able to provide you with an exceptional experience during your recent stay at the Loews Miami Beach! It is our goal to ensure that each guest feels pampered while they are here whether for business or pleasure, and leaves feeling rejuvenated and ready to conquer anything. From your review it sounds like our team did an exception job making you and you feel relaxed during your stay. We couldn't thank you enough for the positive feedback you provided us, and can't wait to host you again on your next business trip!

Have a wonderful summer...Until next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Absolutely amazing hotel – will definitely stay here again on my next visits to Miami 

Comfy bedrooms/bathrooms - sea view rooms is a must! Reception staff were so helpful and catered to all our needs. Great location we step outside and the beach is on our doorstep and in front of the hotel is the shopping, clubs and restaurants!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Isha A,

Thank you for such a kind review and for sharing your experience with us. It is feedback like yours that provides us with the drive to keep giving our guests the best quality service and attention possible, while looking for new ways to delight and enhance their experience. We look forward to hosting you again and wish you good days ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We were able to visit the Loews in Miami on our return from the Atlantis in the Bahamas. We were unhappy with the customer service in the Bahamas and looking forward to the great service at the Loews. Once again we were not disappointed. We have stayed here many times over the last year and continue to be in love with this hotel. It was such a relief to be greeted by Omar at the front desk by our name. He has always been very helpful and is a giant asset to the Loews. He continues to check on us during the stay and is extremely professional and knowledgeable about the area. We rented a cabana by the pool and were spoiled by Jenni and Thais. Ernanda had previously given us excellent service but was away while we were there. These lovely ladies treat everyone like royalty and really know how to let someone relax and enjoy their day by the pool. They always greet us with a smile and remember our name. The above staff is a large part of making us return to the Loews time after time. Everyone is helpful and greets you with a smile. The view from our room was incredible and the beach is absolutely beautiful. If you are looking for a nice, clean hotel that prides itself with excellent customer service then the Loews is the place. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Becki399,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us during your recent stay and for your continued loyalty to the Loews Miami Beach. We are thrilled to hear that you have been a part of the family for so many years and couldn't be more grateful for your support and positive feedback. It is a pleasure to hear that as usual, you had such a warm welcome and that Omar, Jenni, and Thais took great care of you. We pride ourselves on having the best team in South Beach, and Omar, Jenni, and Thais are prime examples of that! Our team is dedicated to providing an AND MORE experience and exceeding expectations, and it sounds like you have been witness to this many times over the years.

Again, your feedback is very important to us because it allows us to improve every day to be the best we can be, especially as a loyal, repeat customer you provide us with the added insight into how we are able to better serve you each time you come. Looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Miami Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Miami Beach Hotel

Address: 1601 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#15 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Miami Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 790
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The moment you arrive, you are inspired and delighted by everything you see ... From tranquil walls of water and ocean views around every corner to vibrant, modern and supremely comfortable accommodations. With the best location on the beach, the most attentive, genuine staff, and striking design inside and out, you'll truly appreciate every moment at Loews Miami Beach Hotel. Time and time again. Loews Miami Beach Hotel is the premier Miami Beach luxury hotel experience, located in the heart of South Beach, directly on the Atlantic Ocean. Our hotel showcases a palm tree-lined promenade, sparkling oceanfront pool flanked by our luxurious, St. Tropez-inspired cabana deck SOAK. The cabana deck is comprised of eight state-of-the-art poolside cabanas featuring private rooftop terraces and plush, luxury daybeds for day or weekly rentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Loews Miami Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Hotel South Beach
Loews South Beach
Miami Beach Loews

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Miami Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.