We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ridiculous prices for beach facilities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Miami Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Loews Miami Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1601 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$25 Food
Ranked #37 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Ridiculous prices for beach facilities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is smack on the beach. At the beach they ask you if you are a guest. It turns out that this is in order to give you a "complimentary towel". The huts or whatever you should call it are open for everyone and they charge $120 per day (rain or shine, although they claim they will give you a discount the following day if it rains). Why charge hotel guests $120??? Why not charge non-guests $120? When we were there the beach was empty while the hotel pool area nearby was full of people. The hotel will charge left right and center anyway. Why not hike the hotel room prices a little bit and get an agreement with the beach hut supplier? The hut is not at all worth $120.....no reason to stay at this hotel for the beach access.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear KetilO,

Your review of our hotel is greatly appreciated. First, thank you for joining us during your recent trip to Miami. We appreciate any and all feedback which we receive from our guests, as it helps us to grow and expand on ways to better assist them in the future. You mentioned that the hotel should pair with the beach team to provide guests with a better option that is more cost friendly. In fact, we do have a partnership with Boucher Brothers which is the beach team that manages all of the huts, chairs and umbrellas as well as various watersports and activities all up and down South Beach. Boucher Brothers offers Loews guests a discount on their activities and rentals because of our great partnership with them. If you are a Loews guest, and you mention this to them when you are at the beach, 2 chairs and an umbrella will cost you $35. If you were charged $120 for this exact combination, I would suggest you reach out to the Boucher Brothers and see why this is so. Otherwise, if the $120 consisted of additional items aside from 2 beach chairs and an umbrella, then yes the price may go up.

If you would like to speak about this more, I urge you to email our customer service team and they will be happy to assist in any way they can. Thank you again for your review. We hope to have another chance to delight you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,061 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,524
    940
    339
    131
    127
See reviews for
874
826
70
472
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (492)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This hotel will definitely be my hotel of choice from now on. The hotel is absolutely stunning! Nice and clean and the staff was so friendly and accomodating. The hotel grounds were really nice and access to the beach was just a few feet away. My room was so clean and comfortable and anything that I needed I got it in no time. The location was perfect and I enjoyed every minute of my stay. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear tammyfierce,

We are pleased to have had you as our guest and even more that you enjoyed yourself during your recent vacation to our hotel. You mentioned how close we are to the beach, and to let you know we are also close to various hot spots in Miami as well, which we hope you were able to experience. We just recently updated the bedding in all of the rooms and changed our mattresses and boxsprings as well, so it is nice to hear they are comfortable and satisfactory. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your time and will be back to join us again soon. Thank you again for sharing your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

In front of the Ocean Drive, this hotel has everything to please the traveller. Comfortable rooms, excellent breakfast, services to choose, and a spa inside the hotel.The pools are great and you can get in the pool, go to the beach, all day long ... It makes you to stay forever there. This point in Collins Ave is also perfect to go to nice restaurants, stores, and so on.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms with sea view. The view is wonderful and it seems they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear nick.acosta,

We appreciate your feedback and thank you for staying at our hotel during your recent vacation. Our local flair and energetic staff bring the spirit of Miami into each guest experience and they truly work to ensure your stay is comfortable and enjoyable. We are happy to hear you had a great time during your getaway, and hope there will be many more visits to come in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Highly Recommend! We got the bayview suite which was beyond amazing! Apparently there is only one which is on the top floor and had a connecting 1 bedroom and a pullout sofa coach. Upon entering, we noticed there was a slight problem with the bathroom door as it wouldn't close properly. We called guest services and they came up and immediately fixed the door and then later sent a bottle of wine to the room. <-- That is great service!!! The grounds were very well kept and I loved how the pool and hot tub were 24/7! Everyone at the hotel was very friendly and willing to help. I would definitely stay here again....

Room Tip: Get the Bayview Suite....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Kimheng T,

We appreciate your feedback and thank you for staying at our hotel during your recent vacation. Our local flair and energetic staff bring the spirit of Miami into each guest experience and they truly work to ensure your stay is comfortable and enjoyable. It sounds like although you ran into a slight bump in the beginning of your stay, overall it was satisfactory and our team took great care of you. We thank you again for your review and for joining us, and hope there will be many more visits to come in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The Loews is my go to hotel on south beach and this was my forth visit. Myself plus 11 others decided to spend my 40th birthday there this time; I happened to mention this to the wonderful Mercedes who was checking us all in and she upgraded my booking to a delightful balcony room on the 16th floor and arranged for a surprise slice of birthday cake to be delivered to my room. The pool and beach view from the 16th floor is amazing and I highly recommend requesting a high floor when making your booking.
The hotel was truly packed over memorial weekend but we never had a problem getting 12 chairs together at the pool or getting served at the bar. The service was second to none and each and every member of staff I encountered went out of there way to acknowledge you.
The property is lovely, grounds well kept and the space in rooms are ample for 2 -3 people.
If you are trying to stick to a budget, consider checking out the front porch, 11th st diner and the big pink for breakfast. And if you decide to splurge, dinner at Prime 112 and Joe stone crab are definitely worth the money.
I could go on and on about how great this place is but my suggestion is you should just book it. It's great for families, couples, group trips and a single weekend getaway.
I love it!!!

Room Tip: Request a room on a high floor facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Barnes33,

Your review of our hotel is greatly appreciated. First, thank you for your continued loyalty to our hotel. It sounds like you had a wonderful experience during your recent stay and we couldn't be more thrilled to have had you and your friends as our guests for such a special ocassion. From the moment you arrived to the second you left you were treated with the highest regard, service and professionalism which is the genuine Loews hospitality. We are happy to hear you found our rooms, services and location to fit your needs, as well as the surrounding area which offered alternative options for you and your friends to enjoy your stay. Our close proximity to all things is one feature of the hotel that shines and makes us a hot spot in South Beach.

Thank you again for your feedback and for sharing your experience with us, we hope to welcome you and your friends back sometime soon so we can work to delight you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Went with a friend for a long weekend and we really enjoyed our stay. The property is truly beautiful...you don't need to go anywhere other than the beach and pool. The hotel is indeed situated within easy walking distance to the SoBe Deco district and Lincoln Road shopping area. While the hotel food, beverage, service fee etc., is a bit pricey all in, it was delicious and we enjoyed quite a bit of it! There are places nearby the hotel (within a one or two block walk) that you can easily purchase beverages and snacks if your wallet needs a little break. A french bakery 1/2 block up toward Lincoln has delicious coffee and food - we enjoyed their breakfast items in particular.

Our room was extremely comfortable and very clean (stayed in the main tower - high floor - recommend it). We arrived early and our room was ready for us - which was a wonderful way to kick off our much needed (and long saved for) vacation. We were also upgraded to a beach view and were able to hit the pool in a flash. Two very big, smiling thumbs up!

We found all of the hotel staff completely friendly and professional. These folks work very hard - and we noticed. We even needed to call for a night time sink repair, which was handled quickly and efficiently.

Special thanks to our check in assistant Mercedes, who was extremely helpful. Dennis and Phil at Nautilus bar were wonderful, we really appreciate their fun personalities and willingness to answer questions and provide recommendations.

Had a great time and would definitely plan another stay.

Room Tip: We liked our main tower, high floor double room w/ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Hometown_Philly,

Your feedback is much appreciated. Thank you for joining us during your recent visit to Miami. We are thrilled to have had you as our guest, and thank you for sharing your thoughts about our hotel and your stay. It sounds like you enjoyed yourself and everything the Loews Miami Beach have to offer. From our outstanding staff, to the food and poolside pamperings, and more...there is always something to do at our hotel. From the sound of it you were able to experience it all in this one visit, but we hope you will join us again soon to see what else we have in store. Thank you again and have a wonderful summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west virginia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for the second time in March. We had an ocean view room with a balcony and had views of the city and the beach. The bathroom was quite large and we really loved the Keurig coffee maker. The pool is fabulous. It's the best part of the hotel. We had Reuben as our "pool guy" for our stay and he really took care of us, ensuring us a great location every day. I've seen people complain that the pool is crowded but the key is to make a connection with the staff and they will take care of you. Tip them well and you'll have great service. That's just a basic fact of life. We really enjoyed the ice cream shop in the hotel. Their popcorn is fantastic! Loews is located right in the heart of South Beach very close to restaurants and bars. We are already planning our trip for next year.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear coventry4,

We appreciate your feedback as it helps us to grow and ensure that each guest arrives welcomed and leaves satisfied. From your review it sounds like you received nothing short of excellent care and service during your stay. Our staff truly is exceptional and they are dedicated to ensuring each guest feels comfortable and engaged throughout their time with us. You also mentioned you were already planning your trip for next year. We are thrilled that you enjoyed yourself so much that you can't wait to return. We love our guests and try to reward their loyalty as best we can by providing a complimentary program which provides guests with points and benefits each time they return. This program is called YouFirst. If you haven't already, sign up to begin enjoying benefits at your next stay! Your feedback is important to us so we thank you again for sharing and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Loews Miami Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Miami Beach Hotel

Address: 1601 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#19 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#19 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Miami Beach Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The moment you arrive, you are inspired and delighted by everything you see ... From tranquil walls of water and ocean views around every corner to vibrant, modern and supremely comfortable accommodations. With the best location on the beach, the most attentive, genuine staff, and striking design inside and out, you'll truly appreciate every moment at Loews Miami Beach Hotel. Time and time again. Loews Miami Beach Hotel is the premier Miami Beach luxury hotel experience, located in the heart of South Beach, directly on the Atlantic Ocean. Our hotel showcases a palm tree-lined promenade, sparkling oceanfront pool flanked by our luxurious, St. Tropez-inspired cabana deck SOAK. The cabana deck is comprised of eight state-of-the-art poolside cabanas featuring private rooftop terraces and plush, luxury daybeds for day or weekly rentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Loews Miami Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Hotel South Beach
Loews South Beach
Miami Beach Loews

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Miami Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.