We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay an extra night!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Miami Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Loews Miami Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1601 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Eat, Drink. Our Treat!
Ranked #35 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
england
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Stay an extra night!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed for our honeymoon for a couple of days after being in the Keys and Gulf. We had a lovely champagne and chocolate dipped strawberries surprise from staff who could not do enough for us.
The rooms are amazing, modern, comfortable, and most have a view of beach but worth checking as well worth having it.
Poolside is busy, food is ok just that, although drinks and cocktails are great. The bar in the promenade does perhaps the best mojito and the food here is miles better!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear calvi4two,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience with us. Congratulations on your wedding. We wish you the most success and happiness possible. We are so glad you had a great time and wished for a longer stay. Next time you come you will have to reserve that extra day to soak up all that Loews and South Beach have to offer. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,197 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,607
    979
    350
    131
    130
See reviews for
937
865
72
485
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (509)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this resort hotel. The room was spacious, tastefully decorated, clean and welcoming; great bathroom and shower. Loved sitting out on the balcony overlooking the sea, beach and the pool. The staff was very attentive and friendly, particularly the valet attendants, bellman and room attendants (someone actually came up and then brought back new room keys for us). Great location too – close to all the “sights” of South Beach yet a little respite/world of its own.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear From08534,

Your feedback is much appreciated, as are the kind words. We are thrilled that you had a wonderful time at our hotel and hope to see you again soon. We look forward to hearing more from you. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My family and I keep coming back to this resort, and with good reason. The service and atmosphere is just top notch. Our fly arrived quite early, we went for breakfast, and were able to check in. We were poolside in bathing suits by 1pm.
The poll service-perfect-I don't know what I like more-the complimentary Evian spritzes, the fresh fruit, or the cool towels passed around.
The Nautilus Rest is great for lunch and drinks, as is the lounge chair service if you don't want to move. Quite often my kids ordered food to the lounge chairs while my husband & I went to the Nautilus.
Lobby Lounge great for a night cap.
Love the comp water bottles at turn down.
Rooms w/ Robes neat and clean, and cleaned in a timely fashion.
Location of this resort is PERFECT! Cannot be beat! A quick walk to Ocean Ave as well as LIncoln Rd. You do not need to rent a car here-everything is in walking distance.
Great, great resort! Love it here, and will be making many more return trips.
The VIP Mgr Phillip Smith was amazing as well.
Tip-join the Loews 1st, it has it's benefits-free wifi, late checkouts, etc.
Walgreens on corner great for in rm snacks, begs, etc.
Also very knowledgeable concierge staff as well to assist w/ dining recommendations and reservations, golf tee times, etc.
You won't be disappointed at the Loews South Beach.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear cmbccrn,

We are so thrilled that you had a fantastic experience at our hotel. Your feedback and kind words thrust us forward towards seeking perfection. We want all guests to enjoy their time, feel welcome throughout their stay, and simply relax and enjoy all that Loews and South Beach have to offer. Again we thank you for sharing your experience with us, and will be sure to pass on the positive feedback to Philip in VIP. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I truly believe that location is everything!! two blocks away from Lincoln Rd shopping and restaurants on the open-aire, two blocks away from Ocean Drive busy street, my favorite spots nearby : ) !! (casa tua, terrazza, delano) and a wallgreens on the corner, you name it !!! That in case you need medicines for kids, or beers, snacks and water for mommy to take to the beach and save some money lol . Because the pool is totally packed with kids since early morning, no place for sunbath!! So... you will have to go to the beach (200 usd per day, includes extra beach chairs and umbrellas or a single beach chair for 20 usd) and come back to the pool later in the afternoon. We had two connected rooms beacuse i went with a friend and our 3 year old kids with a nanny, the rooms were ok but not as you will expect for the price you are paying. I stayed a week, and two days we came back in the afternoon and our rooms weren´t clean! But.... i must say that we left the room at eleven o'clock in the morning.... Concierge was very good, my kid got an eye infection and in less than one hour a doctor was in the room checking on him. is the second time i visit this hotel in this year.You can always find ways to save money, but location is everything!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Maura G,

Thanks for the positive feedback regarding your April visit to our property. We are so glad to hear that your family enjoyed our premier location in South Beach and emphasis on kid's activity. Look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Our initial "feel" of this hotel was it was factory-like, large and impersonal. That was unfair, it remained impersonal but the property overall is excellent with the best staffed pool we have used.
We took a junior suit which seem to be all on the 4th floor and overlooked Collins Avenue rather than the beach but was very roomy. Despite this noise and hence sleeping wasn't a problem.
The Loews has great access to the beach and is handy for the restaurants on Ocean Drive or Lincoln Avenue. Forget the dreadful hotel breakfast and instead walk the 100 yards to Jerry's Deli on Collins - excellent.
In spite of the fact that it was apparently a school holiday week the hotel is so large it didn't impact on us.
The Loews may lack some of the atmosphere of say the Delano but it delivers a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Rover10,

We appreciate your posting and were excited to hear that your family enjoyed their pool & beach experience. We've recently upgraded our breakfast buffet in Preston's, including the addition of a new juice bar. Look forward to you experiencing this during your next trip to Miami Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

As my husband and I love Sobe we decided to take the kids for a few days before driving up to Orlando. As the kids love pools and the beach, the Loews looked to fit the bill and was ideally located right by Lincoln road so we could go wandering/shopping in the evening.

The pool is great but busy however given we had just flown in from the UK we were awake in plenty of time to nab beds though this appeared to be a problem for others as the day wore on. On one occasion, after lunching at the pool bar, we returned to find a couple had removed our towels and belongings from two of our beds and set up camp themselves!

There are plenty of towels for use at the pool and entertainment throughout the day for kids. There are cabanas available that looked good but rental was some eye wateringly large sum!

Food and cocktails at the pool bar were excellent but the kids had breakfast in prestons one morning and I found it fairly average and overpriced.

We took a room upgrade at check in so we would have a balcony and ocean view. The view was superb however as soon as I saw the balcony my heart stopped. We were on the top floor of the hotel and the balcony had horizontal rather than vertical bars. Wonderful for keeping the Art Deco theme of Sobe but easily scalable by children. Needless to say ours were banned from going near the balcony without an adult. I would recommend getting a room on a lower floor where the balconies are solid brick and less of an open invitation to active climbers!

The room had two SMALL beds and after no sleep on the first night my husband and I had to split with the kids as the beds were far too small for two adults. This didn't actually improve sleep quality as the beds were horribly uncomfortable but it was only two nights so we could live with it. Next time I'd get a king and a rollaway and the kids can share the rollaway.

Staff were generally friendly and the concierge told my husband he'd be better parking our rental in the garage directly opposite the hotel rather than using the valet as it would save a fortune. He was totally right. We appreciated his honesty and noted that this was also where the valets took all the cars anyway.

When we checked out we did find the bell hop service restrictive. Rather than leaving them to gather our cases for us to collect after we had lunched we were told we'd have to wait while the bags were collected which could take up to half an hour. We chose to collect the bags ourselves and then hand them over for storage saving ourselves 25 mins.

Overall the stay was fine. It did what we asked of it and provided a good base for us to use with the kids. I wouldn't stay here without children as there are some great adult based hotels along Collins but I may stay here again with the kids, taking into account the room preferences noted above.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear SqueakerMum,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent visit. We pride ourselves on the outdoor experience at our resort, so I apologize for the issue you experienced with chairs at the pool. Our goal is to make sure our service and product experience is magnificent, and built our new SOAK cabana product with guest experience at forefront. We regularly check our Food & Beverage pricing to ensure it is competitive within our market. Hope to welcome your family back to Loews Miami Beach Hotel for future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

you should only go here if you have young children. They are kept well entertained by the pool and the beach and the pool area is sealed off so you can relax a bit. The pool is however overcrowded and even in the week a sunbed is hard to find.
Tried 3 rooms: regular double city view was ok, rotunda suite large overlooking city, very airy but inferior window frames mean you hear all the noise from the street below. Finally, a normal room with balcony overlooking sea was ok noisewise but cramped for a couple + 1 11yr old.
Dining facilities very limited on site even for breakfast, however at the foot of the building there is an Aroma coffee story with good choice and good coffee.
For 500+ USD you should be getting more for your money elsewhere....

Room Tip: if you are a light sleeper then go for beach view only
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear moritz23,

Appreciate your recent post regarding Loews Miami Beach Hotel. We pride ourselves on being the Hotel in South Beach for all guests and all occasions. I'm disappointed to hear that you experienced a room move during your visit and will follow-up with our Front Office team. We have several dining options available on property, and will add a new restaurant, Lure Fish Bar, later this year. Thanks again for providing insight into your stay. It is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Miami Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Miami Beach Hotel

Address: 1601 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#35 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Miami Beach Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The moment you arrive, you are inspired and delighted by everything you see ... From tranquil walls of water and ocean views around every corner to vibrant, modern and supremely comfortable accommodations. With the best location on the beach, the most attentive, genuine staff, and striking design inside and out, you'll truly appreciate every moment at Loews Miami Beach Hotel. Time and time again. Loews Miami Beach Hotel is the premier Miami Beach luxury hotel experience, located in the heart of South Beach, directly on the Atlantic Ocean. Our hotel showcases a palm tree-lined promenade, sparkling oceanfront pool flanked by our luxurious, St. Tropez-inspired cabana deck SOAK. The cabana deck is comprised of eight state-of-the-art poolside cabanas featuring private rooftop terraces and plush, luxury daybeds for day or weekly rentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelClick, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Otel and Venere so you can book your Loews Miami Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Hotel South Beach
Loews South Beach
Miami Beach Loews

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Miami Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.