We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, large hotel - shame they nickel and dime you” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Miami Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Miami Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1601 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Beverages!
Ranked #35 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
boston, ma
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great, large hotel - shame they nickel and dime you”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Overall a great place for a family to stay, particularly if you understand that hotels in miami beach are expensive and rooms not too large. Its sort of a nice, corporate feel here, but everything is of pretty high quality and well done. Its a safe bet, particularly if you have kids.

We went with our small kids and paid what i would call a lot for a modest room. Most rooms are not direct ocean view rooms, but look sideways at the ocean and the city. Pool is great, kids club program was great. Staff was very very friendly - this may have been what kept the place in a more premium category as opposed to more of a standard experience -- which would be easy given the size of the hotel. Location is tremendous if you like the main strip but want some reasonable levels of quiet too.

Only thing we hated about this place was being nickel and dimed. We spent a lot of money on the room alone, so why charge for internet, premium prices on bagels (with 20% gratuity added on to a person serving you coffee, etc). My wife and I added up the cost of these extras and it was so small compared to the total bill, but it was annoying, and contrasted the friendly staff attitude. I'm sure those extras add up for hotel management, but they kill the premium experience. Also, the internet in the room did not work, so that was double annoying because I had to sit on line, waiting for a serice I paid for, which never worked.

Note to management: I just got free internet in a $100 doubletree guest suite in Memphis. Why would a $600-per-night hotel in Miami charge me?

Room Tip: Ask for a high-up room closer to the pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear cwa2006,

Your posting on Trip Advisor is much appreciated. We share all of the feedback with our Team Members. While Miami Beach pricing is consistent with the location, we endeavor to ensure our pricing is competitive with other properties in our location. We pride ourselves on the service experience, and know that memorable stays will ensure repeat guests. Look forward to your next trip to Miami Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,869
    1,100
    383
    141
    139
See reviews for
1,030
979
80
595
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (567)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I recently stayed at the beautiful Lowes Miami Beach Hotel. This luxury hotel is in a fabulous location right in the heart of SoBe! The hotel is walking distance from dining/ shops on Lincoln Road and Washington Avenue. It is a short/ inexpensive cab ride away from Ocean Drive as well. (Since the hotel is in such a great location- there is no need to rent a car while you are staying there!) The hotel rooms have a modern décor and if you want to save a little on the room rate you can request a ‘partial ocean view’ which is still quite impressive. (If you want the complete ‘ocean view’ just go and lounge on their beachfront property!!) The pool itself is smaller, but when I’m on a beach- I don’t spend too much time near the pool anyways. They did have activities for families and children in the pool during the day which I think would be nice if you are traveling with children. The beachfront property is where I spent most of my 'relaxing' time and since it is a large area you don't feel as on top of each other as on the pool deck. (There is a $12.50 per day rental fee if you want to use the hotels beach chairs..) One bit of advice for someone who has not traveled to Miami before- gratuity is included in everything- make sure you are checking your reciepts or you will be double tipping! At the hotel food and drinks are expensive (as to be expected in this area) so another tip is that you can go to Ocean Drive or Lincoln Road and find a restaurant that is offering 2 for 1 Drinks, Happy Hour, or some % off of meals. We went to Dinner at a fabulous restaurant on Ocean Drive named “A Fish Called Avalon”- and ate the fresh catch of the day- which was delicious! For those who have never been to SoBe stopping at Mango’s Tropical Café (which is a walking distance from Avalon) is a must! It's very touristy but you have to see the salsa dancers on top of the bar and they put on a great show and it is entertaining! If you are looking for something very upscale and clubby my girlfriend and I went to LIV in the Fountainebleu. Be prepared to dress to impress- we had no problem getting in being 2 girls- but guys a word or warning.. be ready to dish out some cash- or bring some ladies with you to help your chances of getting in!! :) Overall I enjoyed the hotel, the location, and the staff was very friendly and attentive. For anyone who hasn't been to South Beach/ Miami Area before definitely be prepared to spend some cash- but I've never had a bad time in Miami so I think it is worth it. It is a great place to go for a long weekend getaway, girlfriends weekend, or couples b/c there is something for everyone in Miami!! My favorite thing about Miami is that you can be totally relaxed during the day- and party all night long- SoBe is the place to go!

Room Tip: You may be able to get a lower rate if you opt for the 'partial ocean view' and it is still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Heather M,

Thanks for extending your feedback! Our Team Members are passionate about delivering a great hotel experience and I'm glad we accomplished this. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Loews and enjoyed the experience. We had a Grand Ocean View room which was exactly how it looked on the internet site: nice setting and atmosphere with a superb view on the beach and the ocean. the reception and restaurant areas are also nice and clean, but you can spot that they have not been refurbished yet. the continental breakfast is a good option with a good choice of products but relatively expansive. Valet service for the car was fast and efficient. And the location is perfect is you want to explore Miami Beach Art Deco district. We would cleary go back there!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Polo67FR,

Our location is outstanding for Art Deco architecture. So glad to hear you had a superb experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

my husband and i went down to miami for a long weekend. i was a little skeptical of staying here because it seems like a very kid-friendly hotel, and we usually tend to stay at more adult friendly hotels. but it was in a great location and looked really nice. the only time you really notice how kid friendly this hotel is is when you are in the pool. they had noodles, rafts, tubes, water guns, etc. they even have water activities for kids. this was the one and only drawback(for us) to this hotel. other than that, the lowes was totally amazing.

Room Tip: ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear jandm24,

We're delighted to hear about your families experience in April. We pride ourselves on offering great memories to kid's and adults. Many happy returns!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights during a trip to Florida, should have stayed longer as the hotel and location was absolutely perfect.
The room was fantastic (partial sea view) with champagne and chocolate strawberry's on our arrival. The beach and pool services were fantastic with the staff very friendly and helpful. The atmosphere around the pool on the saturday was amazing with live music, cocktails and plenty going on.
Would definately return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Briggsy11,

Glad you enjoyed our product and service - all at the best location in South Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I really should raate thios 4 1/2 stars because there was only one glitch that prevented it from being a 5. We had purposely booked a premium king room because it stted ocean view instead of a less expensive partial ocean view room. When we arrived, our room had a partial ocean view. When we complained the person at check in told us that a full ocean view was called oceanfront and would cost more. Although he did give us a $50 food credit, it is something to be aware of.

Otherwise the hotel was terrific. The lobby is beautiful and the pool has plenty of chairs and the service people were accomodating. You can go right to the beach and third party folks will rent you a cabana for $50 for the full day. The location is great easy walking distance to Ocean Drive and Lincoln Road.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear DL1946,

We are so happy to hear about your terrific experience at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, disappointed to hear about the experience with your room view. I'm glad that our Team made a gesture to resolve to your benefit. Can't wait to welcome you back on your next visit to Florida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

the hotel was very very nice you are greeted by a slew of concierge people to help you get your bags. They have a really nice bar and restaurant on the inside, the pool area is breathtaking fresh towels nice infused water with fruits. They came around and I offered miss for your tan they offered coconut water to us. The food and the drinks were a bit overpriced I think. The hotel room was nice we had our own Keurig coffee machine, but who really needs such a big TV in their room. Most people don't go on vacation to sit in their hotel room and watch TV. I was surprised that there wasn't even a small mini fridge or a small microwave in the hotel room that I had gotten actually in a smaller Hotel in Hollywood. I think the price for the rooms was overpriced for what you got.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Ashlee2012,

I'm so glad you enjoyed your pampering experience at the pool and were treated to a first class arrival. We do have mini-refrigerators available upon request for future visits to the resort. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Miami Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Miami Beach Hotel

Address: 1601 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#19 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Miami Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 790
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The moment you arrive, you are inspired and delighted by everything you see ... From tranquil walls of water and ocean views around every corner to vibrant, modern and supremely comfortable accommodations. With the best location on the beach, the most attentive, genuine staff, and striking design inside and out, you'll truly appreciate every moment at Loews Miami Beach Hotel. Time and time again. Loews Miami Beach Hotel is the premier Miami Beach luxury hotel experience, located in the heart of South Beach, directly on the Atlantic Ocean. Our hotel showcases a palm tree-lined promenade, sparkling oceanfront pool flanked by our luxurious, St. Tropez-inspired cabana deck SOAK. The cabana deck is comprised of eight state-of-the-art poolside cabanas featuring private rooftop terraces and plush, luxury daybeds for day or weekly rentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Venere, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Loews Miami Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Hotel South Beach
Loews South Beach
Miami Beach Loews

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Miami Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.