We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service Exceptional” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Miami Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Loews Miami Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1601 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Eat, Drink. Our Treat!
Ranked #33 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Service Exceptional”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We booked 2 rooms: 1 king, 1 double. Both with a view. Our rooms were $504 each which included a $25 food voucher per pay. At $504, our expectations were high! (However, we stayed during the busiest week of the year, Spring Break.)

We arrived at 1:00pm and told our rooms would not be ready until at least 4:00pm. We went to the pool and there was not a pool chair to be had. The pool is small and the pool deck only had enough chairs for about 1/2 of the people staying at the hotel. We went to the beach and were told the chairs on the beach were $12 each per day. Umbrellas were another $10-$12 each per day. Not wanting to pay $58 a day for beach chairs and umbrellas, we went to the pool restaurant to eat lunch and wait until our rooms were ready. There was at least an hour wait for a table at pool restaurant. Once we ordered, our food arrive an hour and one half later. The food was great, the staff were very professional and kind.

When we finally were given our rooms at about 4pm, we were disappointed at the size and quality of the rooms. We expected bigger rooms and higher quality furnishings considering we paid $504 a room. We were not WOWed! The rooms were clean but not WOW quality.

Day 1: The TV reception in our rooms continually went out every day every hour for several minutes. Our rooms were in the same wing as a group of underaged Spring Break Partiers. When we first entered our rooms at 4pm, our underaged neighbors were cranking rap music so loud our walls were vibrating. There were about 10 kids in the room singing/screaming for hours. The first night the underaged drinkers came home at about 1:00AM and were so drunk they ran up and down the halls laughing and screaming. There is little sound proofing at the Loews Hotel. Everyone hears everyone cough. So the partying kept up and we called security. We were told by security after 3 complaints, the underaged guests were be evicted if the hotel received three complaint calls.

Day 2: The Concierge gave us the wrong driving directions to the BB&T Center, thus we were late for our Adam Levine VIP Concert. I went to the concierge the next day and let them know they gave us the wrong directions and they apologized. To the concierge's credit, we order level 300 tickets through the Concierge to the Sony Tennis Match for the Men's Finals. We picked up the tickets and were excited to see section 100/row 3 VIP tickets behind the serving line plus a parking pass. The Concierge did a great job with obtaining section 100 tickets at section 300 prices. THANK YOU! So Day 2 comes to an end and again the underaged guest arrive home at 1:30pm, so drunk they can hardly walk. They lost their keys and one passed out in the hallway of our wing and 2 others just fell on the floor of the hall and screamed so loud we could not get back to sleep. We called security and were told security was already on it's way and the guests would be evicted that night due to disorderly conduct. In fairness to the Loews, they gave the kids the chance and the kids continually messed up and were asked to leave the hotel.

Day 3: Star Service sent a cheese platter, wine, milk, and cookie with a kind note to apologize for the previous evening concerning the underaged drinkers coming back drunk and disorderly. We appreciated Star Service addressing the disorderly conduct and apologizing to us.

Our final night we went to Hakkasan Restaurant at the Fontainblue Hotel. WOW! What a meal, what a restaurant. The best meal we had our entire trip. HOWEVER, the Fontainblue Hotel was crawling with hookers and married men with their young girlfriends. The staff at the Fountainblue were not professional nor classy. Going to the Fountainblue made us really appreciate the exceptional quality of the staff at Loews. The Loews Hotels protects it's guests from the craziness of Miami Beach.

As our trip concluded, we appreciated more why we paid $504 a night per room. Loews staff are highly polished, trained, professional, and really care. If you are looking for a crazy weekend, the Loews Hotel is not the place to stay. If you want a memorable pampered stay and are willing to pay for it, stay at the Loews Hotel. It will be worth your while.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, Hotel Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Chicagotennisfamily,

We are so happy to have had you as our guests, and thank you for taking the time to share with us your recent experience at our hotel. While initially it sounded like you were heading down the path of having a terriible trip, it sounds like at the end it all came together and you were able to leave with fond memories and a desire to come back and join us again.

We aim to please our guests and leave them feeling relaxed, refreshed, and ready to conquer anything after a nice vacation. Unfortunately for some parts of your trip you were unable to enjoy all of the wonderful amenities our hotel provides. For that we apologize. If we can, we would like to offer you and your family a chance to give Loews another try and hope you will reach out to us so that we can arrange your stay and treat you the way you should always be treated when a guest of Loews. Whenever you are ready to book that next family vacation, please don't hesitate to contact my assistant Alejandra at aamaya@loewshotels.com so she can set you up with something nice for all of your trouble during this past stay.

From our team to your family, we sincerely appreciate all of your constructive criticism and feedback so we may work to grow and better service our guests in the future. Thank you, and we hope to host you and your family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,658
    1,009
    353
    132
    131
See reviews for
959
887
72
506
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I went for a girls weekend with 8 friends. We booked two rooms and were very disappointed when we arrived and were told that our confirmation for 2 double beds (from hotels.com) would not be honored because we booked through a third party vendor. They told us that I should never book through another site because they do not have to honor what is actually reserved. I had never been told this in years of booking through different websites. Instead we had one king bed and they said they could bring a roll-away... Not a great start. The pool was full of kids and people everywhere! I was also surprised beach chairs are not included with the cost of the room which was around $400/night.

Otherwise this was a lovely property and despite the initial problem when checking in - staff was super friendly and room comfortable. This is a great location and I would stay here again if I had a family or go during a time that not so many kids would be around for a more "relaxing" pool experience.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. We take all feedback to heart and truly work to make each guest happy. We hope you had a memorable experience and one that will bring you back again soon. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The loews is such a beautiful , tropical place. In the two vists I've had they were most memorable and lots of fun . Our check in was quick and done by a happy girl named natalie she was so sweet did a great job. The location is one of the best right central in south beach and near by all kinds of local shopping and tourist shops . They have a convient walgreens just around the corner , a liquar store just across the way for those fun nights at the pool which has 24hour entrance. Just a few blocks down a lovely outdoor mall with tons of stores and really cool outdoor reasturants they are very diverse all kinds of food , and a good amount of hookah bars and lounges. But of course there is really good room service pretty quick with the make and delivery , all the housemen are really nice .The breakfast is so filling and big portions. Lunch and dinner was equally devine i love the chicken tenders and the grilled chicken and jack cheese quesadilla . There is also a sushi bar in the lobby , with great service a young lady i think her name was belika not entirely sure . But she was really helpful so so nice and really made me feel like i was a friend. She had great reconmendations the tiger roll was the BOMB! and the sake's were tasty a little strong of a wine for myself but did the trick. For desert i had the bread pudding that was amazing , my absolute favorite. While in and out of the hotel lobby exit there are people that open doors for you and one that really stood out for me was shalyea always interest on how my day was and where i was off to adn welcoming me back. Another part of your staff that was really really cool and a swell guy and helpful was your valet manager Raoul Hernandez helped me so much with getting transportation to Ultra really fast and at a reasonable price. All my drivers were funny they were the life of the party ,it was more like a party shuttle. Last but not least you Bell desk supervisor i think it was chris torres , so nice made me feel local and had good convo held my bags for me before i headed home and checked out , and was nice about me getting stuff in and out. Over all my trip was amazing i absolutly LOVED IT one of my best trips yet. Cant wait till next year i rally love miami beach !
Thanks for the fabulous service see you next spring break .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Vanessa S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. A positive stay is what we strive to accomplish with each of our guest. We truly appreciate your feedback and are proud to know that we have exceeded your expectations. We will be sure to recognize those team members mentioned, and we hope to see you back soon and hear about another great stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Brought my college freshman stepdaughter here for spring break. We loved the hotel, room, staff, beach, pool, location tremendously! No complaints. Small blips like TV signals that constantly went out and post-beach showers were not conveniently located. Otherwise we highly recommend Loews. Rooms were pricey but for the level of service you get what you pay for! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear TiaTallitsch,

We are delighted to hear you were pleased with your recent stay to our hotel! We wish your step-daughter good luck in her college experience and we look forward to seeing you and your family on your next vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mi
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Lowes has a great location. It is beach front. Like everywhere in South Beach a small walk across a people walk to the wide beach. It is very close to Lincoln and a 10 minute walk from Ocean and 8th. The outside of the property is stately. The lobby is nice. The pool area looks much larger on the pictures when I think in life it is a much a tighter space. The rooms are big for Miami Beach Standards but average to small for most others. For an average $400 a night I would say rooms are average to acceptable. They have plugs by the beds for phones that I appreciate. Mine had no bath tub. Halls are a bit loud if you have kids running or noisy. Pool chairs are first come first serve. Can be a race. Beach chairs have a fee I believe. I also do believe they still have a Hertz car rental return. The staff was very nice and pleasant. There are so many other places to eat that have good price points and are tasty I never eat on property. Close to ship docks. About 20 minutes from airport.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear justjoe2,

Your Trip Advisor posting is very much appreciated. Our prices are quite competitive and similar to other hotels in the area. However, at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, offering the best service possible is our number one goal and we are glad to have achieved that with you during your recent stay. Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eltville am Rhein, Germany
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The Loews is directly located at the beach and offers beach access, a great gym, an impressive pool area and lots of fun. If you like that go for it. But if you want to relax and don't want to many crowds dont go for it. The rooms are a bit small and many of them have no balcony. Service OK but not great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, Hotel Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear UHen1,

We appreciate your feedback about your recent experience with us and are happy to hear you had an overall good stay with us. It seems that you may have felt crowded and didn't get as much time to relax as you'd hoped during this trip. While we are disappointed to hear that, we would like to ensure you that during your stay there was a variety of conferences and events happening in and around the Loews Miami Beach Hotel. With ULTRA Music Festival having its events throughout Miami, the streets and hotels are always packed. The Loews is not an affiliate of these events, however we do have a good deal of clientele that enjoy the music festival as well.

Again we thank you for taking time to review our hotel and share your experience with us. We hope you will consider joining us again, next time around a non-Citywide special event so that you can experience the relaxation and essence of Loews genuine hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The service was impeccable here, accommodated our needs with professionalism. We came down to celebrate our 1 year anniversary and enjoyed ourselves. Very family friendly hotel in a very adult area of Florida. We traveled without our children, however it's nice to know that this place would be appropriate to bring them and not have them be exposed to the craziness of Miami!!! Rooms were okay, nothing too elaborate or much to speak of. This hotel was one of the more subdued hotels in the area, as we came down for Ultra Music Festival, noting that many of the other hotels around had loud pool parties and DJ's mixing, this was completely what we needed though!!! Thank You Loews!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, Hotel Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Amber B,

First off, Happy Anniversary! We are honored that you joined us for your very special occasion, and even more pleased that you had a spectacular time. Your feedback about your recent experience with us is much appreciated. You mentioned that we are one of the only family friendly hotels amongst otherwise adult focused hotels in Miami. About that you are right. We cater to families because we believe in the bond of family and in enjoying the presence of traveling and exploring new places with your family. As you mentioned, you arrived to Miami for Ultra Music Festival, and while we are not one of the DJ hosting and pool party throwing hotels, we do offer a more peaceful escape from the loud, crowded, at times overwhelming atmosphere that the fesitval provides. Still close to the fun, Loews Miami Beach is the perfect blend of family, fun, and luxury.

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel and share your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Miami Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Miami Beach Hotel

Address: 1601 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#15 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Miami Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 790
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The moment you arrive, you are inspired and delighted by everything you see ... From tranquil walls of water and ocean views around every corner to vibrant, modern and supremely comfortable accommodations. With the best location on the beach, the most attentive, genuine staff, and striking design inside and out, you'll truly appreciate every moment at Loews Miami Beach Hotel. Time and time again. Loews Miami Beach Hotel is the premier Miami Beach luxury hotel experience, located in the heart of South Beach, directly on the Atlantic Ocean. Our hotel showcases a palm tree-lined promenade, sparkling oceanfront pool flanked by our luxurious, St. Tropez-inspired cabana deck SOAK. The cabana deck is comprised of eight state-of-the-art poolside cabanas featuring private rooftop terraces and plush, luxury daybeds for day or weekly rentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelClick, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Loews Miami Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Hotel South Beach
Loews South Beach
Miami Beach Loews

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Miami Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.