We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay on a business trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Miami Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Loews Miami Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1601 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$25 Food
Ranked #37 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good stay on a business trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I liked this hotel. My room felt on the small side but was quite comfortable and I loved my balcony and view of the ocean. I thought the bed quite comfortable and appreciated having the Keurig coffeemaker. Room service did a great job of very early morning deliveries- always on time. Overall the quality at the restaurants was quite good and the prices are quite high. Reception and concierge very helpful. The property is lovely and has a resort feel but you also get the urban experience of South Beach just outside the front door.
So - here are the quibbles: It was not possible to take a hot shower at 5:30 in the morning - for several mornings in a row the water was lukewarm at best, and all of the colleagues I was traveling with had the same experience. I really think this is an issue the hotel needs to fix.
"Queen" beds are not queen-size - they are longish doubles at best.
Upon returning to my room late one evening both the cordless phone and the clock radio were dead - I don't know why this was left unattended as it was pretty hard to miss that the very bright display on the clock was not displaying!This was annoying and frustrating, although the hotel did provide me with working stuff the next day.

Room Tip: I don't think I would at all like staying here without a balcony so take that under consideratio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear SRfromNY,

Thank you for taking the time to share your candid and valuable feedback from your recent stay with us. I regret to learn that your experience fell short of our usual high standard. You experienced multiple inconveniences that should not have happened. Please accept my sincere apologies for our failures. Despite these service hiccups, I was glad to see that you were able to acknowledge a few success as well. Thank you for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,059 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,523
    939
    339
    131
    127
See reviews for
873
825
70
472
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (492)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This was my second time at this hotel. One year apart and they kept the same quality of service.
The service is just amazing.
They treated us very friendly and by our names.
All of staff are well trained to become our experience as better as possible.
Since valet, doorbell, concierge, at the reception desk, bars, pool, etc. Just perfect.

Room Tip: I took a room with a balcony and ocean view. It was worthy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Fabio_Casanova,

We were truly delighted that we exceeded your expectation with the gracious and warm service extended by our team members for a second time! We pride ourselves on providing our guests with personalized and genuine service delivery and I was proud to learn that we were successful in creating a most memorable return experience. We look forward to seeing you on future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This was our first time staying at the Loews Miami Beach, although we have stayed at other Loews in other cities. We had a fabulous time! Omar welcomed us at the front desk and set us up with a great room, overlooking the ocean! The service was wonderful, everyone so polite and accommodating. They spoiled us with fresh fruit and Proseco in our room as a complimentary welcome and everyone went out of their way to make our stay memorable. The beds are amazingly comfortable, the rooms clean and set up nicely. The room service food was excellent and the Sushi was fantastic. The hotel bars had a relaxed but trendy vibe, with great entertainment on the weekend. Price wise, South Beach hotels are always extremely pricey, but I felt the Loews was competive but affordable for what we were looking for. We will without hesitation stay at the Loews Miami Beach the next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, Hotel Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Dana772,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at the Loews Miami Beach Hotel. It's wonderful to hear that this was your first time at our property and that you thoroughly enjoyed yourself.

We are glad that you found our staff to be vibrant, engaging and overall willing to assist in any and every way. Omar is a fantastic member of our team and always goes above and beyond to ensure our guests stay is both comfortable and memorable. It is our goal to ensure that every team member treats our guests as part of the family, because at Loews Miami Beach you are family to us.

It is our honor to have had you as our guest and we sincerely hope this is just the beginning of many more visits in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My family and i went for one night to the loews expecting a high quality experience. The resort is nicely laid out. Prices for the food are quite high but that is to be expected. What should not be expected are poor quality mattresses that are absolutely tiny. We stayed in a room with two "double beds"- these beds were soft and sagged into the middle and were absolutely not double size. I think the room itself was so small and therefore they have to stick in these undersized beds to make it all work. Needless to say the four of us were on top of each other all night and did not get much sleep. Poor experience and we would expect more for a purported "five star resort". not!

Room Tip: Dont go... poor bed experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, Hotel Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear mcd1066,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Our current Sealy Posturpedic Cushion Press Deluxe mattresses are high-quality and specifically designed for the Hospitality Industry. While we were surprised to hear your comments regarding the size, we would like to note that our Double Bedded room mattresses are in fact the traditional size for hotels and resorts. That being said, we are happy to announce that we will be upgrading all of our mattresses and boxsprings throughout the hotel in 2013.

Thank you again for your feedback, we sincerely appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The check-in desk woman was exceptional. She helped me find a room despite the hotel being very full.

The beach is just past the pool.

The only negative is the food from the pool. They definitely could use fresher vegetables for their salads.

We got a nice ocean view room at a reasonable price compared to other hotels in the same area.

Super convenient location - walkable to Ocean Ave and Lincoln. We didn't need a taxi.

Some noise in the morning in the hallway from other guests woke me up briefly. Maybe they need more sound proofed doors?

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, Hotel Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear perlani,

What a great review! Thank you for sharing with us your experience from your recent stay. Our team is exceptional, and we are glad that you were able to experience that from the start with your check-in process. We pride ourselves on doing whatever is necessary to accomodate our guests to the best of our abilities.

In regards to the food by the pool, we are sorry to hear that you didn't receive the freshest of vegetables in your salad. It is a standard at our hotel to use only the highest quality of food products, so rest assured that I will be passing along your comments to the Food and Beverage Team so this doesn't happen again. We appreciate all of your feedback and hope to see you in South Beach again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel after reading that it is a highly rated family hotel, catering to families. We found the service to be below par. The concierge desk was always a zoo with slow service. Babysitting arrangements are NOT made by the hotel. The guest has to handle it through the sitting agencies. The hot tub was littered with shredded newspapers in it, only cleaned after I asked twice in 30 minutes. Note, this was on a chilly day where the hot tub was the best option. Housekeeping service was very slow, with the request for housekeeping made at 8:30 am and nothing done until after 1 pm. Turn down service was also lacking as I had to call all three nights of our stay to request it...this was after supposedly arranging a specific turn down time on the first night. Generally, this hotel seems to be understaffed for the traffic it receives.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, Hotel Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear mumof4children,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Loews Miami Beach Hotel. Delivering exceptional service is our top priority and I would like to apologize if the service provided to you during any point in your stay was anything less than that. I have notified the appropriate departments of your concerns and will be sure to personally review your experience with them to ensure this does not happen again.

In regards to your concerns, we do have an interactive camp for kids to enjoy during the day that rolls into the early evening, this is our SoBe Kids Camp. The service is a great way for parents to enjoy some alone time while their kids are entertained with various activities to choose from. Ages 4-12 are welcome, otherwise we do provide an on-call sitting service for younger children or for those parents that prefer in-room sitting. We make our on-call program as seamless as possible, while ensuring the highest-quality of service, to ensure our guests needs are taken care of in a quick and efficient manner.

Thank you again for providing me with insight into your experience at the hotel, again all departments have been notified and are making the appropriate adjustments. If you would like to discuss this further, please contact me directly and I will be happy to assist.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Loews does an excellent job hosting a business conference. The food and service are terrific. Room is quiet and comfortable. Location is convenient to walk to restaurants and shops. Wish I could have enjoyed the amenities more. Service was not as exceptional as in prior visits when it really shined.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, Hotel Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Buckybadgers,

Thank you for taking time out of your day to share your impression of our hotel with us during your recent stay. Your feedback is very important to us, as it helps us to grow and reach new levels of quality service, which is standard here at Loews. You mentioned that you joined us for a conference, but that you were not able to enjoy too many of the additional amenities our property offers. With our iconic pool, direct oceanfront location and newly debuted cabanas, we hope you will return again this time to work less and instead soak up the sun and relax in the flawless South Beach weather.

Thank you for your review, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Loews Miami Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Miami Beach Hotel

Address: 1601 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#19 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Miami Beach Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The moment you arrive, you are inspired and delighted by everything you see ... From tranquil walls of water and ocean views around every corner to vibrant, modern and supremely comfortable accommodations. With the best location on the beach, the most attentive, genuine staff, and striking design inside and out, you'll truly appreciate every moment at Loews Miami Beach Hotel. Time and time again. Loews Miami Beach Hotel is the premier Miami Beach luxury hotel experience, located in the heart of South Beach, directly on the Atlantic Ocean. Our hotel showcases a palm tree-lined promenade, sparkling oceanfront pool flanked by our luxurious, St. Tropez-inspired cabana deck SOAK. The cabana deck is comprised of eight state-of-the-art poolside cabanas featuring private rooftop terraces and plush, luxury daybeds for day or weekly rentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Loews Miami Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Hotel South Beach
Loews South Beach
Miami Beach Loews

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Miami Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.