We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Location with two nits” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Miami Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Loews Miami Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1601 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Eat, Drink. Our Treat!
Ranked #32 of 197 hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Incredible Location with two nits”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Wow, what a location. Right on the beach. Beautiful pool and facilities. Loved the movies at night in the pool. You can find a nicer hotel on the beach, but only for a lot more money. Love this hotel and I would stay here again.

Two nits. First, the service was incredibly slow, no doubt a reflection of the hotel being full during our stay. 60 minutes for our luggage to be delivered after we checked in, 90 minutes for a room service order to be delivered, another 60 minutes waiting for a porter when we checked out (we finally gave up waiting and just left, 3 trips up and down with luggage).

Second, I am a good tipper and always tip good service. But nearly everyone here was almost begging, explicitly, for tips. If you have to ask for a tip, you probably don't deserve one.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsMiamiBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear 218SR,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Loews Miami Beach Hotel. It is feedback like yours that provides us with the drive to continue to work on exceeding expectations. We have read your comments and apologize for the service you experienced during your stay.

The standards that our hotel has set in place to ensure the highest quality of service is provided to our guests include that of speedy, yet efficient delivery of luggage, food, among other things. While we may have failed to execute this during your recent stay with us, we assure you that this is not the norm.

We invite you to join us again soon and ask that you allow us to show you the true Loews hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,814 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,390
    868
    315
    122
    119
See reviews for
800
761
67
439
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We're repeat visitors at Loews. I know it's on the pricey side, but it is very family friendly, beautifully appointed, excellent location, good food, pricey but fabulous breakfast buffet.

We book the older St Moritz section and get a one bedroom for our family and it works very well for us. They are also dog friendly, and I like to see the various dogs sitting by their owners in the pool area. The pool is good but is definitely used, this is a busy, crowded, bustling, lively place. It also has very nice beach chairs/service.

Everything is top notch, but everything costs...

Room Tip: St Moritz section is older, but has larger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsMiamiBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Liat0001,

We are thrilled to hear that you are a repeat visitor, or should we say ‘member of the family’? Your dedication to Loews is what keeps us on our toes looking for ways to better serve and delight you each time you join us.

We are glad to hear that you have a preference for staying in our St. Moritz Tower. It is nice to know that such a tremendous piece of history is still very much alive in the heart of the Art Deco District.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to your home in Miami Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Once you step into the hotel, you immediately find yourself in a luxury resort, separated from the hectic pace of South Beach. What is noticeable is the high end furnishings of this hotel combined with a commitment to service. Everything from the lobby to the elevators to the hallways are beautiful and well-appointed. My family had one of the eight or so suites available. We were greeted with a view of the ocean as we entered our suite. The rooms were large and beautifully furnished. The bathroom had an in-mirror tv and a large shower.
The staff made a special effort to know who we were. Since our room was not ready upon check-in, we went to the pool. The hotel staff found us at the pool and let us know when the room was available.
The pool chairs were comfortable and lined with a cushion. The food at the pool was delicious.
The beach is just outside the gates and is wonderful, like all of South Beach.
The staff is quite friendly and respectful. They provide a strong layer of security.
My main criticism is the expense of the extras. The wireless internet and exercise room is free. But the food at the pool is very expensive. The hotel charges a fortune for every extra imaginable. You have to pay extra for a chair at the beach. Anything you would want at the pool is very expensive. On the other hand, the staff did leave complementary cookies, gifts for the kids, and water in our hotel room.
We truly enjoyed our stay but be prepared for an expensive vacation, especially around the holidays.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, General Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear memeye,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I'm pleased your experience was a good one, and that you enjoyed the new pool furniture and our furnishing around the hotel. We renovated recently, and it's great to hear the positive feedback. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Hotels good and we went back for second time. My only criticism is that they do rip you off with added expenses. My advice is don't eat in the hotel, breakfast and lunch are very expensive especially when you ave so many places just a stones throw away.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsMiamiBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Moshe613London,

Thank you for taking the time to inform us of your experience with the Loews Miami Beach Hotel. We value your feedback and would like to address your individual concerns.

Overall, with regards to our pricing, we are competitive to hotels of our caliber in both Miami and Miami Beach. We are constantly checking to make sure our competition is not outdoing us in both service and overall pricing.

You mentioned that dining within the hotel was expensive, especially when you have so many places nearby to choose from. While you are right that there are many options to choose from in Miami Beach, we here at Loews pride ourselves in providing a full-service atmosphere so that our guests do not have to leave the premises to enjoy a delicious meal, but instead can order from the comfort of their room or head down to one of our various Food and Beverage outlets throughout the hotel. We have a wide variety of menu items so that our guests don’t have to go out searching for the closest locally inspired Seafood restaurant, but can enjoy the exquisite taste of our Ceviche Sampler in our relaxing Hemisphere Lounge while listening to live nightly entertainment, or indulge themselves in Japanese decadence with a perfectly delivered Ocean Drive roll from our famous Sushi SOBE. Whatever your desire, Loews Miami Beach has it!

Again, we appreciate your feedback. It is your feedback that helps us to address the praises, the concerns, and the issues to better your individual needs. If we can be of assistance in the future, please don’t hesitate to reach out to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I needed a quick get away during the hectic holidays. Spoke with Magellan travel and told them I wanted to be right between Lincoln road and South beach and they put us in Loews. I never had to touch my car again. Perfect walking distance to everything. The hotel is spotless, high end and attentive service. The pool is spectacular and right on the beach. I even recommend the sushi in the lobby, high end and creative. For a down side they charge for everything. Almost forty dollars a night for parking (cheapest in the area is twenty) and cabanas by the pool. It is a little corporate and there were a lot of kids, but hey it was Christmas. Overall an amazing stay and Loews was the foundation of a perfect trip

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This is indeed a very beautiful hotel and has no faults what so ever. The staff are very helpful people. There is a downside to the hotel though, it is very good but very expensive and they charge you for everything , beach towels , gym, internet in rooms (in the loby was free) and so on. Dont get me wrong we payed for these as you only pay for the best at Lowes. Im just saying it is expensive.And also you have this lovely hotel here and around it does not look safe but this is not their fault. In conclusion we love Lowes!!!! And we will definitely come back!!!!!

Room Tip: Higher floors like 17 and 18 have AMAZING VIEWS
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Only thing I disliked was the price gouging. $250/night a month ago. $800/night now, over Christmas break. $36 for parking. $15/ Internet. But the Service is excellent. Waiters and waitstaff are all extremely well-trained and will do anything to accommodate. They wanted $800 for private Cababas by the pool. Was $200 30 days ago. Pool was crowded. Lots of kids. Wife mentioned that it'd be better if there were less kids. We need to come back in May or Oct. Not so crowded, better priced and warmer! But still the best place at SoBe. Rooms were very clean and roomy. Food by the pool was as good as anywhere I've been. Wife said they charged for beach chairs. $18/day

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Loews Miami Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Miami Beach Hotel

Also Known As:
Loews Miami Beach
Loews Miami
Loews Hotel Miami
Loews Hotel South Beach
Loews South Beach
Loews Hotel
Miami Beach Loews
Address: 1601 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#36 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Miami Beach Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The moment you arrive, you are inspired and delighted by everything you see ... From tranquil walls of water and ocean views around every corner to vibrant, modern and supremely comfortable accommodations. With the best location on the beach, the most attentive, genuine staff, and striking design inside and out, you'll truly appreciate every moment at Loews Miami Beach Hotel. Time and time again. Loews Miami Beach Hotel is the premier Miami Beach luxury hotel experience, located in the heart of South Beach, directly on the Atlantic Ocean. Our hotel showcases a palm tree-lined promenade, sparkling oceanfront pool flanked by our luxurious, St. Tropez-inspired cabana deck SOAK. The cabana deck is comprised of eight state-of-the-art poolside cabanas featuring private rooftop terraces and plush, luxury daybeds for day or weekly rentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Loews Miami Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Miami Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.